We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First-rate hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn By the Sea

Save Saved
You added Inn By the Sea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn By the Sea
40 Bowery Beach Road, Cape Elizabeth, ME 04107   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“First-rate hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Incredible setting overlooking low growth to beach and ocean, accessed by board walk. Rooms are plush and many are two-level, with giant windows overlooking the sea. Dogs allowed, with doggie menu and spa.

Restaurant chef is top-rated. If you eat here during the day, you can sit and watch the sea through giant windows. At night, you can't really see anything but the property decking.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear francisperkins,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your comments in regards to our location, luxurious accommodations and high quality Sea Glass restaurant. We are delighted to have had the opportunity to serve you and we are thrilled that we were able to provide an exceptional experience. Thank you again for taking the time to share. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn sometime in the near future. Wishing you a healthy and happy holiday season! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    403
    87
    33
    15
    6
See reviews for
122
301
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

I was extremely pleasantly surprised during my stay at the Inn. I had been invited to a business meeting at this facility. I knew little about the resort and had few expectation. I was immediately impressed with the physical plant and location with beautiful views of the ocean. My room was spacious and very well appointed with comfortable sitting area and great walkout porch to pool area and grounds. Furnishings kind of modern rustic New England plus flat screen tv. Bedroom was large. Bathroom large and modern. Workout facility was adequate with additional spa area. Would definitely consider return for pleasure trip.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Leo15,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your wonderful comments in regards to our spacious, well appointed accommodation, cardio room and eco-friendly Spa. We are so delighted to read that the Inn was able to exceed your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back for a personal trip in the future. Happy Holidays! Richard Carroll Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Enjoyed our stay at this inn resort. Liked the amenities they provided -- beach umbrellas and chairs they would walk down to the beach and set up for you. View is very pretty and they did a very nice job of preserving the surrounding habitat without destroying it by bringing in non-native potted plants etc. Overall a simple yet very elegant and relaxing place. Do expect mosquitoes in the summer evenings! I would sit inside rather than on the deck for dinner after dusk in the summer. They do provide insect repellant if you like, but would still opt for the inside table.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear ktmoxie,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your positive comments in regards to our location, pristine beach and wild life habitat. We appreciate you taking the time to share and look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn by the Sea in the future! Happy Holidays, Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a beautiful property looking out over woods and the ocean. The beach is reached by a boardwalk and it is a beautiful beach. Just right for a long walk. Our dogs chased each other and were completely worn out. In the morning we had our coffee and looked out at the sea while our dogs sat quietly at our side and staff and guests came over to pet them and say hello. Such a relaxing atmosphere and only 20 mins from downtown Portland.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main part of the inn in a dog friendly room with a loft bedroom and kitchenette. Ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear bcama,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your positive comments in regards to our location, grounds and beautiful seaside setting. We are so delighted to read that we were able to provide a relaxing retreat experience to you and your VIP’s (Very Important Pets) during your visit to the southern coast of Maine. Thank you for sharing and we look forward to welcoming you all back to the Inn by the Sea in the near future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secaucus, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We have been coming to the INN by the Sea for 26 years and each year we love it more ! We have traveled with 3 golden retrievers over that time frame and each dog was treated with love and respect as well. The INN is our home in Maine. We always choose this as our special treat and have celebrated our 3rd, 28th and 29th anniversaries with our INN family.
We want to especially commend Eva St. Pierre and Mark Kellerman for taking care of every little detail for us every time we visit. This past trip was especially unique as we had to leave early to go home to NJ to be in the FRankinstorm !

Room Tip: we loved room 112 for traveling with our dog..the garden suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear BonnieBerke,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you so much for your many years of loyalty. We are so delighted that we are your first choice when traveling to our wonderful destination and we feel honored to be your home away from home. We appreciate you mentioning our staff members by name and we’re excited to read that they continue to provide a positive travel experience consistently upon each visit. Thank you again for taking the time to share. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn for many more years to come. Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I had previously visited Portland - and stayed downtown. This time, I just wanted to relax - and I brought my mom, who was recovering from a medical ordeal. The Inn could not have been a better choice. We staying in the 2 BR, 2 BA beach suite - which was AMAZING. And, it was as if we had our own private beach. We had breakfast at the Inn every morning - and ate there for dinner one night; the restaurant was outstanding.
And, the entire staff was incredibly helpful and friendly.

The one thing we didn't like was the lack of soundproofing. However, we were informed this was going to be rectified during down season (the building in which we stayed had just re-opened in June.)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Sydney1030,

Thank you for your recent review of the Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your comments in regards to our new 2 Bedroom Beach Suites, quality Sea Glass Restaurant experience and most of all our friendly and helpful staff! We also appreciate your comments regarding the soundproofing in these units, please rest assured that this is being addressed in the very near future. Thank you again for taking the time to share. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn by the Sea in the future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I have visited Inn By the Sea twice now, both times with my brother. Each time I have been blown away by the friendliness and fun-loving-ness of the staff, the aesthetic perfection of the hotel's common areas and rooms, and the many seemingly small features that make any stay at the Inn luxurious, peaceful, and rejuvenating for the mind, body, and soul. I can think of no place I'd rather spend a relaxing weekend.

Room Tip: The new spa suites are really super-beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Leigh Ann W,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for choosing the Inn again for your second visit to the area. Our greatest compliment is to have the opportunity to welcome a guest back to the Inn by the Sea! We truly appreciate your comments in regards to our warm and friendly staff along with our attention to detail at the Inn. We look forward to welcoming you again for a third time and many more visits to come in the future. Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn By the Sea

Address: 40 Bowery Beach Road, Cape Elizabeth, ME 04107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Cape Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a multi million dollar renovation the eco luxury Inn by the Sea is Maine's premier beach destination. Located on a mile of unspoiled beach guests enjoy intimate dining in the ocean view Sea Glass celebrating Maine fare, relax in the spa or fireplace lounge. Spacious redesigned suites, rooms & cottages w oversized bathrooms, or full kitchens, or fireplaces. Child & Pet friendly! 5 acre indigenous garden,pool, bocce, fire pit, golf nearby. 10 mins to Portland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Jetsetter, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Inn By the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Sea Hotel Cape Elizabeth
Inn By The Sea Maine/Cape Elizabeth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn By the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.