We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous facility, unsurpassed hospitality, stunning surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn By the Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Inn By the Sea to your Saves list
Inn By the Sea
40 Bowery Beach Road, Cape Elizabeth, ME 04107   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersGold level
Vestal
1 review
“Gorgeous facility, unsurpassed hospitality, stunning surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I have visited Inn By the Sea twice now, both times with my brother. Each time I have been blown away by the friendliness and fun-loving-ness of the staff, the aesthetic perfection of the hotel's common areas and rooms, and the many seemingly small features that make any stay at the Inn luxurious, peaceful, and rejuvenating for the mind, body, and soul. I can think of no place I'd rather spend a relaxing weekend.

Room Tip: The new spa suites are really super-beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Leigh Ann W,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for choosing the Inn again for your second visit to the area. Our greatest compliment is to have the opportunity to welcome a guest back to the Inn by the Sea! We truly appreciate your comments in regards to our warm and friendly staff along with our attention to detail at the Inn. We look forward to welcoming you again for a third time and many more visits to come in the future. Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    104
    40
    16
    5
See reviews for
140
336
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The 'lobstah' do not disturb sign, the forever friendly faces at reception, the marshmallows on arrival, the cookies every night.
The rooms were lovely, our room overlooked the ocean which was great - 300 yards down to the sea via a boardwalk - amazing.
Had a great spa treatment - great experience.
Great food in the Seaglass restaurant - the nice touch was from the chef who walked around the resturant making sure everyone was enjoying their food.
A blueberry martini is a must in the lounge.

Room Tip: We chose a standard room and it was still great - i think a room with a balcony would be an added bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Donna J,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your wonderful comments in regards to our amenities, location, eco-friendly Spa and positive Sea Glass Dining experience. Most of all, I’m excited to read your feedback about the “forever friendly faces” at our front desk as our staff is truly committed to delivering an exceptional experience to each guest of the Inn. Again, thank you for taking the time to share and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn by the Sea in the future. Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My Wife and I have stayed here several times. You will not find a nicer more friendly and professional staff anywhere. From the lounge to the dining room to the spa The Inn By The Sea does everything to make your stay a pleasant and memorable one. The location is perfect and the rooms are elegant and exceptionally clean. Every detail of The Inn is designed for relaxation and comfort. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: The Spa suites are splendid but all rooms are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Neil111347,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your continued loyalty as we know you have many choices when traveling to the area. We truly appreciate your business and your feedback in regards to our friendly and professional staff! We are very lucky to have such a great group of individuals on our team at the Inn. Thank you again for taking the time to share, we too look forward to your next return to the southern coast of Maine and Inn by the Sea! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

From the moment we called letting the staff know of our extremely late check-in, we knew we had found perfection. We checked in after their restaurant closed but the staff took our order over the phone and had a freshly cooked, delicious dinner for us when we arrived. Everyone was extremely attentive and made our anniversary trip so special. Our beach suite was impeccable and tastefully decorated. The staff at the Sea Glass Restaurant went well out of their way to make sure we left satisfied. We would definitely come back and recommend this place to all of our family and friends! Thank you for such an unforgettable experience!

Room Tip: The beach suite is well worth the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Jflewell1,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor and Happy Anniversary! We are so delighted that you chose the Inn by the Sea for such a special occasion. We are so happy to read that we were able to take care of your needs upon your late arrival to the Inn and we're thrilled that you enjoyed our new Beach Suites. Most of all, we are glad to read that our warm and friendly staff was able to deliver such a positive travel experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to the coast of Maine in the near future. Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was our first visit to celebrate our 8th anniversary away from home and make it a 4 day get-a-way. We definitely chose the right place. From the moment we arrived we felt welcome and at rest. The location, view, wonderful staff and atmosphere is just perfect to relax and feel at ease. Portland is close enough and we made several day trips to the surrounding area and beautiful sights. We will definitely go back and don't forget to book an appointment at the Spa. I loved my treatment and again.....we can't say enough about the wonderful staff...an easy breezy place to get away from it all!

Room Tip: Center top floor with fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Barbara M,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and Happy Anniversary! I’m so delighted to read that you chose us for such a special occasion. We truly appreciate your positive comments regarding our location, eco-friendly Spa and most of all our staff at the Inn by the Sea. We consider ourselves very lucky to have such a great group of professionals on our team at the Inn. Again, thank you for taking the time to share and we’ll look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Vermont
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a dependably wonderful place to stay. Staff is very helpful and friendly. They do their best to ensure comfort. The beach is a great place to explore and the grounds are some of the best kept anywhere.

Room Tip: Have never stayed in a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear cearly,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your wonderful comments in regards to our grounds, service consistency and most of all our warm friendly staff. We appreciate you taking the time to share and look forward to welcoming you back to the southern coast of Maine in the future. Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Having found this place years ago through a quick internet search with key words of "resort" and "Portland, Maine" I uncovered this jewel. A quick nonstop flight from Atlanta took me to the Portland JetPort and adjacent rental car place just outside of baggage claim. A 15 minute drive took me straight to then Inn where I recall being greeted on a cool evening with a warm smile and showed to my room where I was greeted by fresh treats from the Inn's excellent restaurant. The rooms were extremely cozy with very large spa-like bathrooms with all the amenities you could want including wifi, two flat screen televisions, a balcony with chairs and L'Occitane bath products.

During my quick trip, I found myself not wanting to leave the Inn at all. It's breakfast/brunch menu and bar menu along with its delicious dinner offerings answered all of my needs and left me wanting to try the next item down on the list. And for that weekend, that was all I ate. Argentine Chef Mitchell Morgan Kaldrovich's Lobster Risotto is a force to be reckoned with...but then again all of his preparations are. On my most recent trip, I happened to be assisted by an exceedingly charming young woman named Amy Farrell for my breakfast and lunch and Anthony Pastore for dinner. Polite, pleasant, and attentive, they made sure that not only was I enjoying myself there at their restaurant, but also that my entire stay was going well.

I stayed in the new addition which opened in May of this year and it was perfectly delightful, offering excellent views of the ocean, and all of the comforts (and many more) of home. Very tastefully decorated and festooned with local artwork, you will not help but feel that you are well away from the grind of your daily life and ensconced in ann Inn, rich with history that is quintessentially coastal Maine.

Room Tip: The Spa suites are very nice as are the garden suites! You can't go wrong with either!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Front Office Manager at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear JToddWheeler,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor. We can’t tell you how it feels to the entire staff to know that you consider this your home away from home and for you to reminisce about your first trip to us. We all look forward to your visits and wish that they were more frequent! We are thrilled that both Amy and Anthony provided you with a positive dining experience and took it upon themselves to make sure that you not only enjoyed your dining experiences but your whole visit. We truly appreciate the time that you took from your busy life to share your experience and look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay.
Eva St. Pierre, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn By the Sea

Address: 40 Bowery Beach Road, Cape Elizabeth, ME 04107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Cape Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a multi million dollar renovation the eco luxury Inn by the Sea is Maine's premier beach destination. Located on a mile of unspoiled beach guests enjoy intimate dining in the ocean view Sea Glass celebrating Maine fare, relax in the spa or fireplace lounge. Spacious redesigned suites, rooms & cottages w oversized bathrooms, or full kitchens, or fireplaces. Child & Pet friendly! 5 acre indigenous garden,pool, bocce, fire pit, golf nearby. 10 mins to Portland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Inn By the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Sea Hotel Cape Elizabeth
Inn By The Sea Maine/Cape Elizabeth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn By the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.