We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist Trap...Avoid!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Two Lights State Park

Two Lights State Park
7 Tower Drive, Cape Elizabeth, ME 04107
207-799-5871
Website
Improve this listing
Type: State Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Walking
Attraction details
orlando
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap...Avoid!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I want my $50.00 back. Ok, here's the deal. We ordered fried clams dinner and the lobster roll dinner- the dinners included coleslaw and fries. and a bowl of clam chowder. The clams were ok but quantity was sparse, with a tiny 1/4 cup of cole slaw and crinkle fries. The lobster roll was terrible- about 1/2 cup of meat on a tiny little bun with a huge dollop of mayo on top. Dry flavorless meat.Ugh! Next the clam chowder. It was a bowl of white water with pieces of potato and bits of clams with NO taste.

I have been in Maine for the month of July, up and down the coast- Southwest Harbor to Kennebunkport. Beals and Thurstons on Mount Desert Island were great. The Clam Shack in Kennebunkport lobster roll was plentiful and flavorful.

It's so sad to pay that amount of money and to leave hungry and sick at the same time.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    31
    6
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Very nice park, great views of the sea and the rocks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This park is misnamed - it should be called "No Lights State Park" because you cannot see any lighthouses from the park. However, it was a delightful park with trails along the cliffs by the ocean and excellent view of the rocks and pounding surf. There are MANY picnic tables scattered throughout the park, hidden in little alcoves for privacy, so it is a great place to take a picnic.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Rocky Coast of Maine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This park is situated near 2 lighthouses (1 is a private home now and the other is an automated active light), but you do not have a view of them from within the park itself. The park name is unfortunate since so many people expect to see the lights. Once that is understood, you can appreciate the beauty of this park. Admission is $4.50 per person, which I feel is reasonable for the maintenance involved and the extremely clean restrooms!

We visited on a hot July day, but the breeze off the ocean was pleasant. Breathtaking views along the trail of the rocks and ocean below. You can climb down onto the rocks but are cautioned about rogue waves and that the rocks become slippery when wet. Many benches along the cliff walk to sit and enjoy the beauty of the ocean. The picnic areas were beautiful too - almost like campsites. Bring bug spray if you plan to be there for any amount of time.

This was a pleasant peaceful place with amazing views. We visited on a Tuesday afternoon and had the place to ourselves. We were looking for a nice walk along the ocean (but not a beach) and Two Lights State Park was perfect!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My favorite place we visited in Maine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We found this park by accident while winding along the coast. While everyone else was headed to Crescent Beach we went into the park area. Admission was only $9 here as opposed to $13 at the beach. It was absolutely gorgeous! My only wish was that we had brought folding chairs to sit along the rocky coast. We sat down on the ground after a short hike and just took in the natural beauty. This it's so much better than the beach! A must see in my mind!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A must see - Absolutely beautiful!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

You must go there. This is the Maine rocky coast at its best. Quiet and scenic. Perfect for walking on a nice day. Note that the lighthouse is not inside the park but on a side street nearby.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Lights State Park also viewed

 

Been to Two Lights State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Two Lights State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.