We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best beaches in Maine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crescent Beach State Park

Crescent Beach State Park
66 Two Lights Road, Cape Elizabeth, ME 04107
Improve this listing
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bathe in the surf of one of Maine’s finest beaches.
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of the best beaches in Maine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful beach area. The admission to get in for our party of three was what we would pay to park at a much more popular beach like Old Orchard. We arrived before noon and were able to park right near the bathhouse. The bathhouses were average. The changing area is uncovered so be wary of gusts of wind that could blow your curtain open. They could benefit from adding hooks to keep the curtains closed or maybe weights on the bottom to make them a little heavier. The bathroom was clean when we arrived but not so much by the end of the day. It wasn't unusable but stalls were starting to run out of toilet paper and the floor had litter on it. They could benefit from having staffs checking the bathroom more regularly. But I realize it's a state park and not a country club. The concession stand sold your basic candy, ice cream, drinks and water toys. Very standard and also reasonably priced. The beach itself never felt crowded. We had a great spot near the water. Earlier in the day there was a lot more seaweed washing ashore, by 2:00 it was gone. The beach has a very "local" feel to it, which I love. Not a fan of boardwalks and such. The water was cold but where isn't it in Maine?

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    20
    11
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“A great beach for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Rarely crowded even in mid-summer. If you are looking for a beach that is less crowded and less commercial than Old Orchard or Hampton Beach, you will love this mile-long crescent of soft sand. Waves are small and it's the perfect place for little ones to dig in the sand. Also a great place to fly kites. Snack bar and changing rooms are the only amenities. Has lifeguards in summer but the water is cold.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Prices went too high!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This was my husband's and I 4th visit here and our 1st time bringing our kids. We were unpleasantly surprised by how much the fees increased. It used to only be $7 per car and now it is $6.50 per adult! Total cost for us $15 because $1 per kid. That is over double! We like the beach but probably will not return due to the cost.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Portland, Maine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Forgot how nice it was to chill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great refresher for a hot day. Abuts Kettle Cove State Park for a wonderful beach walk. Perfect for solo time, family time, and/or friend time Bring sunblock/cover up. Nap time is tempting.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Maine
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Well Maintained, with A Good Snack Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We walked the beach several times, because we were staying at the Inn by the Sea nearby. The park is kept in good shape, and we observed teams of workers clearing debris from the sand so the beach is very nice. A mixture of wild and clean.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crescent Beach State Park also viewed

 
Cape Elizabeth, ME
 

Been to Crescent Beach State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crescent Beach State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.