We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious B &B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorn Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hawthorn Inn to your Saves list
Hawthorn Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   9 High Street, Camden, ME 04843   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 18 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Plymouth, Vermont
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Gracious B &B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

My husband and I have stayed with Maryanne and Bill on four occasions in the past 3 years. They consistently provide us with a relaxing unhurried lovely time as well as delightful three course breakfasts which are carefully prepared and always delicious. The beds in this inn are all equipped with mattress toppers, which turns them into featherbeds of incomparable comfort.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    10
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
111
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

After staying in major hotels for many years, this Inn (bed and breakfast) was a revelation!
Beautifully furnished rooms, great breakfasts, and excellent restaurants nearby. Innkeepers, Mary Ann and Bill, went out of their way to give each guest personal attention. Our three night stay was too short! Don't miss the lobster rolls in The Brass Compass Cafe, in nearby Rockland, and the lobsters and clams in Young's Lobster Pound, a bare bones picnic table restaurant with incredibily low prices, in nearby Belfast. .

Room Tip: Every room is individual, beautifully furnished, with large modern bathrooms with amenities..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, NJ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

We chose the Hawthorn Inn to host our wedding ceremony and reception, and could not have picked a better venue. Our closest family and friends all stayed at the inn with us for the weekend, and we were all welcomed and attended to with personal care throughout the weekend. The service was exceptional, and included a delicious homemade breakfast each morning. The rooms were charming and comfortable, and we loved being able to walk down to the harbor and into town each day.

The wedding ceremony and reception were perfect. Every detail was taken care of, and as the bride, I did not have to worry about one thing the entire weekend. Maryanne and staff took care of everything behind the scenes, making for the happiest and most relaxing wedding I could have hoped for. The venue itself was beautiful, the catering phenomenal and the wedding details - flowers, place settings, etc. - were attended to personally and with much care. The event was both intimate and elegant.

The Hawthorn Inn was a perfect choice for the small intimate wedding we wanted, and we could not have asked for a better experience. Many of our guests have already expressed a desire to return to the inn, and we are hoping to return on our anniversary.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

I actually stayed here a year ago but was too lazy to write a review. I've been feeling guilty since then because the inn is really a gem.

The owners are very caring and helpful. They'll make your stay everything you want it to be and also give you great recommendations for other things to see and do.

I can't remember the name of the room I stayed in, but it's right at the first landing. Still quiet though. Huge room and bathroom. Well-lit. Excellent water pressure. Wifi works fine. Lots of towels, pillows, blankets.

The breakfasts were superb. Multi-courses. Local ingredients. A real treat! And the afternoon tea was a lovely touch.

The location is great--if you want to go to dinner in Camden, no need to move the car. You can easily walk to any restaurant, and Camden's not that big but very picturesque.

I'm actually planning to return and deeply regret the horribly late review.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
münchen
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We called in advance to get a reservation - first thing the owner asked for was my credit card number to be sure to be able to get money from me (never happened when calling other B&B in advance). When we arrived we saw that the Inn is directly located at the through main road - with the consequence that the rooms viewing the street are very noisy. The bathrooms are tiny! The breakfast was a joke (kiwi + banana = fruit salad) and scrambled eggs - that's it! No bread and so on! NO VIEW to the sea (but stated differently in a advertisement brochure!). Bottom line: Do not go!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEIRTON
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

The Hawthorn Inn and the village of Camden were absolutely charming! The Inn was immaculately clean, the staff efficient and the location perfect. It was only a very short walk out the back lawn to the main part of town so we never had to use our car once we arrived! The breakfasts each morning were fabulous. The Innkeeper is an amazing cook and we enjoyed her fresh and delightful creations each day. The presentation was beautiful, delicious and filling! She also put out snacks each afternoon! If In Camden, this is the place to stay!

Room Tip: The rooms were all lovely and except for the Rose Room were spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Being a Maine "summer person" I am very familiar with Camden, but never actually spent time in a hotel there as we had our own cabin. For my honeymoon I couldn't think of anywhere I'd rather go, so my husband and I decided to go fancy and stay at a B & B or hotel. We arrived very late on a Sunday night and the owners were nice enough to make sure there was a key waiting for us to get in. The breakfasts were incredible and it was nice to sit around and talk to the other guests. We stayed in the Turret room, which was beautiful and looks just like the pictures on the website. The bed was comfortable and they had even ingeniously been able to fit a small bathroom in a former closet. Though the weather didn't always cooperate, we had a lovely stay and are planning on spending our anniversary there.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawthorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Inn

Address: 9 High Street, Camden, ME 04843
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorn Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant Victorian mansion with spacious, beautifully appointed rooms, just steps from the Harbor and a short walk to the picturesque sailing village of Camden, Maine. Warm, inviting, serene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Hawthorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Inn Hotel Camden
Hawthorn Inn Camden, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorn Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.