We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the suite!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Swift Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Camden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Captain Swift Inn
Save
You added Captain Swift Inn to your Saves list
72 Elm Street, Camden, ME 04843   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved the suite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2007

My sister & I traveled to Camden in March for a friend's 50th birthday party. She's from St Pete, I'm from San Francisco, so we were dreading the cold (see photo). I chose this B&B online more or less at random, but it turned out to be an excellent choice. We stayed in the suite -- which was completely cozy and comfortable. The fireplace was perfect because it warmed us up and gave the room a warm glow. Same with the big tub. Very pleasant!

The breakfasts were also excellent, delicious food served with a bit of imagination. Fresh maple syrup, great pastries, tasty omelettes. The hosts are friendly and make this B&B a great place to stay at a very reasonable price.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    18
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
125
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bremen, Maine
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2007

We booked at Captain Swift mid-March primarily because of the great winter promotion they were running at the time. We needed to be in Camden for a few days, and why not save some money? Well, I'd stay there again even if they weren't running a special promotion.

We had originally booked a room with a fireplace in the old part of the house, but upon arrival were given the choice of our original room, or one of the new 2-level suites in the new part of the house.......at the same price. We jumped at the suite and was not disappointed. Huge bed, fireplace, whirl pool bath-tub, separate shower, in room heat control, and then there was the entire upstairs too with two sofas and another television. Simply, but very tastefully decorated. Coffee maker and microwave in room.

Breakfasts are HUGE. If you are a light eater, be sure to tell them ahead of time because the portions are gigantic. Tasty too.

The innkeepers, including their son and darling little dog Ajax, are all very friendly, and couldn't do enough for us. We didn't want to eat a big breakfast the morning we left, so Linda baked a special batch of muffins just for us to take away.

The only thing I would change is to add more mirrors in the suites. There is only one in the bathroom, and in a space that big, you could use more in the bedroom and upstairs. Otherwise, everything was great!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester,Me.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2007

My husband and I spent 2 nights at this lovely B&B this month and absolutely loved it! The hosts were friendly, welcoming and great cooks. The rooms are beautifully decorated and very clean. We look forward to our next visit at this charming Inn. Great place to stay as you enjoy the coast!

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallowell, ME
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2007

My husband and I attended a Murder Mystery party there this past weekend. Its location is great for a walk to downtown Camden and a short drive to Rockland to experience the many shops and eateries. The Inn is beautiful, the rooms well appointed and very comfortable, the breakfasts AMAZING, and the owners extremely pleasant and accomodating. We felt right at home and are looking forward to a return visit.

  • Liked — The bed (mattress) new and very comfortable.
  • Disliked — That we couldn't stay longer.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, PA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2006

My husband and I enjoyed our 2 nights at Capt. Swift's Inn. The Innkeepers made us feel very welcome and comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious and the beds cosy! The Camden waterfront and shoppes were just a short walk from the Inn. We will definately stay here again.

  • Liked — The innkeepers
  • Disliked — Size
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2006

Three of us stayed in the newly constructed Coastal Hideaway. It was spacious, and very comfortable. The upstairs loft gave my daughter some privacy and, with its couches and games, a comfortable place to hang out, after a day of sightseeing. The Innkeepers were gracious and did a lot to assure our comfort. The cooking was tasty. We recommend this highly for families traveling with children.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2006

We stayed here for one night only. The location was great, about a 3 minute walk from all the shops and restaurants. The inn-keepers, especially Linda, who we met most, was very freindly, helpful with suggestions and very welcoming. We stayed in the small room, Locke, which was enough for the two of us, and my husband is 6'5. If we would have stayed longer, we probably would have booked a larger room. The inn has a very authentic atmosphere, with nice furnishing. The breakfast was very delicious, and unique! We had the creme brulee french toast. I never had one before, and I really enjoyed it. If we come to Camden again, I will consider coming back to the Captain Swift Inn. Z from Reston, VA

  • Liked — hospitality, breakfast, location
  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Captain Swift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Swift Inn

Address: 72 Elm Street, Camden, ME 04843
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully restored 1810 Federal Period Inn a short walk to Camden's downtown. 6 rooms and 2 luxurious two level suites. Ideal for families and romantic getaways. Fireplaces and whirlpool tubs available. All rooms in room bath and include a full breakfast. Stay with us and explore the coast of Maine. Browse Camden's unique shops, antiques and area museums. Step back in time with a cruise on one of the windjammers. Gorgeous scenery abounds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Captain Swift Inn Camden, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Swift Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.