We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Harbor House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Harbor House to your Saves list
Blue Harbor House
67 Elm Street, Camden, ME 04843   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Direct and save!
Ranked #5 of 18 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We'd been to Camden before and were looking forward to our return visit; the Blue Harbor House made it extra special. The inn itself is a short, easy walk to Camden's Main Street, and has all the charm you could want from a New England inn. Best of all, the hosts, who are Scottish, could not have been warmer, more welcome, or nicer; even their little dog (a rescue) was super friendly! I've been known to skip B&B breakfasts, but these are not to be missed: beautifully prepared, fresh and delicious. As an added bonus for us, the breakfast room, which is bright and sunny, features individual tables for each room, perfect for those who prefer not to have a conversation before breakfast. If you are there on a morning when Terry & Annette are serving poached pears, you should consider yourself lucky.

We had chosen a room with access from outside, rather than in the main house itself, and while small, it could not have been more charming, cleaner, or more relaxing. We enjoyed our stay, and will certainly make it part of our next trip to Camden.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    34
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
140
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Watkinsville, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

In addition to providing a wonderful place to stay that's close to the Camden town center, Annette and Terry of the Blue Harbor House served us delicious gluten-free breakfasts, from poached pears with a raspberry sauce to home-made granola to blueberry pancakes. Their hospitality was outstanding and the rooms clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secaucus, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I took my mother to Maine for her 50th Birthday, and we stayed at the Blue Harbor House. The owners of this inn are so kind and welcoming! They're also the best cooks/bakers ever and it was COMPLETELY worth getting up early to eat breakfast at the inn! Breakfast was from 8-9 in the dining room and they serve you the most amazing meals. They also catered to my egg allergy and asked me the night before what my favorite breakfast was, and Terry made me a fantastic home-made Belgian waffle since I couldn't have what was being served that morning! It was FANTASTIC. There is "tea time" in the afternoon where they put out all different kinds of tea, coffee, and even hot chocolate! They bake different cookies every day and leave them out from tea time until the evening so you can go in and take some whenever you're around! There are beautiful tea cups as well, and the aura of the place is so relaxing and beautiful. The cookies are amazing and I asked for the recipes so I can make them at home! The inn is in a perfect location to walk right into town where all the yummy restaurants are and it's right near the harbor, a bunch of really cool shops, and 2 thrift shops! It couldn't have been a better location. We had the beach rose room which was lovely, and the bed/pillows were so comfortable. They even have a small collection of books and dvd's next to a mini fridge filled with water in their amenities closet. It was perfect for when we wanted to stay in and relax! They also have lots of brochures and they know so much about the area and the best places to eat, and have fun! They suggested we go on the SURPRISE sailboat on a 2 hour cruise and it was fantastic. The owners of the boat were wonderful, and it was the perfect suggestion for my mother and I. I loved every minute of staying at the Blue Harbor House, and the hosts made it all the more special! We can't wait to go back! :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent a few days in June at the lovely Blue Harbor House. Terry and Annette were exceptional hosts. The breakfasts each morning were just wonderful and a great way to begin our days. The Inn is ideally located within a short walk to the center of town and the quaint harbor. Annette and Terry were helpful in recommending their favorite places to dine. A nice surprise was the availability of a mini fridge and cooktop in our room. We mostly dined out but used the fridge to store leftovers. We really enjoyed our stay and would visit again. Thank you Terry and Annette.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the Inn are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of spending two nights at the Blue Harbor House in beautiful Camden, Maine. What a lovely experience! I love this B&B. It is immaculately clean, very comfortable and conveniently located for walking all around Camden. Annette is a gourmet cook who graciously accommodated food allergies while providing fabulous (never had better) breakfasts. Terry suggested places to visit and things to see in the area and we followed his advice much to our delight. We had a fabulous time and I heartily recommend this gracious inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at the Blue Harbor House Inn in June. Even though it is slightly between peak seasons, the Inn was almost full. It is a quaint B&B located two blocks from the center of Camden, so you are away from the traffic, but close enought to walk to the beautiful and quaint town of Camden on the harbor, with its own falls. The location is also close to nearby Mount Battie, for great vistas, and Rockport for light houses and museums.

The rooms at the Inn are not huge, but they are standard for B&B's. You can expect clean, nicely furnished rooms with bright bathrooms. Annette and Terry were very friendly and hospitable hosts. You will think you are staying with friends. They offer very good recommendations for activities, sights and restaurants. Annette prepares excellent breakfasts, that border on being gourmet, e.g. poached pears in a berry and cream sauce. We definitely recommend the Blue Harbor House.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington, Connecticut, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We were in Camden to attend the wedding of friends and had researched the B&B/Inns in the area extensively. We could not be happier to have chosen the Blue Harbor House for our 2 night stay! Annette and Terry were gracious hosts from the minute we arrived. They surprised us by upgrading the room we had booked to a lovely suite, and were sure to recommend things to do in the area to keep us busy before the wedding. Our room (Sea Dream) was comfortable and welcoming with an attached bath, including a wonderful claw foot tub. The breakfast was delicious and indulgent, we would go back just for the blueberry pancakes or eggs florentine, what a treat! The house is a very short walk to the downtown area and harbor. We would love to stay at the Blue Harbor House again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Harbor House

Address: 67 Elm Street, Camden, ME 04843
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Harbor House Inn is casually elegant, comfortable, welcoming and moderately priced. Built in 1810, it's historic charms blend perfectly with modern comforts. The Inn is ideally located a short stroll from Camden's famous picturesque harbor. Enjoy fine local restaurants and art galleries without having to drive! Complimentary full breakfast, with specialties such as Eggs Florentine, Blueberry pancakes, Fluffy omelettes, home made Irish soda bread. Vegan/raw vegan/Gluten free options readily available. Free WiFi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and T4B so you can book your Blue Harbor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Harbor House Hotel Camden
Blue Harbor House Camden, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Harbor House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.