We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast in town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Harbor House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Harbor House to your Saves list
Blue Harbor House
67 Elm Street, Camden, ME 04843   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Direct and save!
Ranked #5 of 18 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

We have had a fantastic time at blue harbor inn. This is a small B&B with a fantastic service. The inn keepers are very lovely and friendly and the breakfast they serve is 2nd to None.

We will definitely come back next time we visit Maine.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    34
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
140
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rogers, Arkansas, United States
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Blue Harbor House in Camden, Maine. Terry and Annette were wonderful hosts!! The accommodations were great and breakfast was absolutely delicious! We stayed in 4 other bed and breakfasts during our visit to other towns and the breakfast at Blue Harbor House gets our vote as the BEST!! We can't wait to go back!
Sonya and Randy Hickman

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Just got back from a three night stay at Blue Harbor House. The house had a very welcoming atmosphere and the inn keepers were friendly. The room was quaint and comfortable. The inn was fairly quiet, so we never had any issues with noise. Our room had a separate A/C unit, so it was easy to adjust the room temperature to our preference. Breakfast was served in a separate dining room with individual tables for each couple/family. We really enjoyed having a separate table so we could enjoy our own conversation. The inn keepers served a two course breakfast each morning starting with something lite, such as yogurt and granola... followed by the main course. Everything was delicious and homemade, and presented beautifully. The downtown area is a short walk from the inn as well. Upon check inn, the inn keepers provided a map of the town and suggestions for dinner. We will definitely stay here again if we are ever back in Camden.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Imagine our delight to return to our room, The Captain's Quarters, to find the wine we'd brought in the claws of an adorably quirky lobster wine caddy! This is the sort of homey, imaginative detail you'll encounter at the Blue Harbor House. You'll might see Annette snipping fresh mint from her garden to steep mint tea for the next morning's breakfast or with her daughter, Jade, in the kitchen baking cookies.

The family resides in Camden year round so they know the ins and outs of town and the best places for day trips. Both Terry and Annette are happy to give advice. And they also have a huge stack of Down East magazine for browsing.

Now for the details:
Location - Unlike some other B&Bs in Camden, this one truly is within a few blocks walking distance from the center of town. There is ample parking so you can leave your car and explore. This is a "town" B&B so you will not have harbor views and the porches mostly look out on the parking lot or the backyard, but it's a very short walk to the water.

The Rooms: Our room was spacious with a kitchenette and a whirlpool tub. There was a comfortable love seat and a cozy chair for watching the large TV and a comfortable king bed. Our hosts are clearly eco-conscious and have opted for natural, high end toiletries in the bathroom. Everything was very clean, but the whirlpool tub is clearly quite old and the crumbling grout made it a little bit unappealing. There is air conditioning and the room was extremely quiet. Overall, it was excellent.

The Breakfast: I save the best for last in this review. Our hosts serve a two-course breakfast every day and they are delightful and creative. Our first morning was a poached pear with yogurt and the best blueberry pancakes ever. The next day was a tea-poached peach with eggs Florentine. I thought I didn't like poached eggs. Well, turns out I don't like poorly poached eggs. When they are poached properly, as Annette does at Blue Harbor House, they are absolutely delicious.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Just returned from 3 totally enjoyable days at this wonderful Inn that is charming, immaculate,
with wonderful breakfasts and 2 charming and gracious hosts. Our room was spacious, well equipped and comfortable. Convenient to town and all of Camden's attractions. We are looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This was the first time we have stayed in a B&B. I found the place very quaint and comfortable. The best part for me was the incredible breakfasts we had. Breakfast is a 2 course meal that will make your taste buds sing. Our room had the TV hidden away in a cabinet in the corner, so if you don't want to watch you can close the cabinet doors and forget about it. The room had a claw foot tub that was wonderful to just soak in. The people who run the place are wonderful and very knowledgeable about the area and where good places to eat are. The location is perfect for just walking to the center of town. At the end of our stay I didn't want to leave. I would recommend this place to my family and friends when they want to visit Camden, ME.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrentham, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We have stayed at the Blue Harbor House every Labor Day weekend. Annette and Terry have always treated us like family. We have watched their daughter, Jade, grow up. We always stay in the Compass Rose and as usual, it was super clean and comfortable. After a day spent touring, a long soak in the "soaking tub" was soooooooo relaxing. Annette continues to prepare wonderful breakfasts and the Poached Pears are a favorite of ours. We have and will continue to recommend The Blue Harbor House to all of our friends and family. See you all next year!
Sharon and Dick
rwb@ skbmorgans.com

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Harbor House

Address: 67 Elm Street, Camden, ME 04843
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Harbor House Inn is casually elegant, comfortable, welcoming and moderately priced. Built in 1810, it's historic charms blend perfectly with modern comforts. The Inn is ideally located a short stroll from Camden's famous picturesque harbor. Enjoy fine local restaurants and art galleries without having to drive! Complimentary full breakfast, with specialties such as Eggs Florentine, Blueberry pancakes, Fluffy omelettes, home made Irish soda bread. Vegan/raw vegan/Gluten free options readily available. Free WiFi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and T4B so you can book your Blue Harbor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Harbor House Hotel Camden
Blue Harbor House Camden, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Harbor House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.