We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Inn in a Wonderful Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inns at Blackberry Common

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Inns at Blackberry Common to your Saves list
Inns at Blackberry Common
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   82 Elm Street, Camden, ME 04843   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 Camden B&B and Inns
Cummaquid, MA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Inn in a Wonderful Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a wonderful inn to celebrate our first wedding anniversary and the Inns at Blackberry Common proved to be just it! Fabulous location - walking distance to the town center, great food and first-rate hospitality. Cindi gave us great recommendations for sightseeing and restaurants. We fell in love with Camden and when we return, we will be staying at the Inns at Blackberry Common.

DianeB

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    25
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
154
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Andover, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We were celebrating a birthday weekend on April 19-20, 2013. As it turned out, it was the weekend following the Boston Marathon bombing. There was a lot of anxiety and sadness during the week and in particular the capture occurred on the day we arrived at the Inn. We were SO warmly welcomed by Jim and Cyndi upon arrival that we immediately began to feel some peacefulness and distance from the stress in and around Boston. We found a lovely bottle of champagne and chocolates in our room and were made to feel right at home. The room was beautifully appointed and comfortable in every way. There was not a detail that was not thought of by Jim and Cyndi for maximum ease and comfort. The Inn is a short walk to town which was so nice and Jim and Cyndi recommended exceptional restaurants and provided us with information, maps, binoculars, and an itinerary for sightseeing. We especially loved the tour of the lighthouses which Jim had mapped out for us. We also learned much about the history of the Camden area. Jim and Cyndi made exceptional breakfasts and were so accommodating to provide us with wonderful choices. The food was delicious, healthy, and beautifully presented. We especially loved the natural, organic, and local Maine products they incorporated into their meals. Jim and Cyndi were wonderful hosts and we had extra special attention because some of the guests could not leave Boston as the city had been locked down. We really enjoyed learning more about the history of the Inn and all of the interesting stories in designing the rooms. Each room has a lovely theme. This Inn is loved and cared for by its owners, Jim and Cyndi, and it is evident in every way! We would highly recommend that you visit the Inn at Blackberry Commons and the beautiful Camden area. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband and I just returned from out first visit to Maine. We fell in love with Mid-coast and southern Maine - unfortunately, we didn't make it any further north than Acadia/Bar Harbor area.

Staying at Blackberry Inn proved to be an ideal location; walking distance to the shops, restaurants, harbor, etc...of beautiful downtown Camden. The Inn is very nice and clean. We thoroughly enjoyed Cyndi and Jim's hospitality. The food was fantastic and I was delighted that they were happy to accomodate my special dietary requests. I really appreciated this - some B&B's are either offended or not interested in making a special breakfast for one person. Jim and Cyndi were more than happy to oblige. While everything was great we thought the oatmeal was especially good!

I don't remember the name of the room we had - might be called Victoria - it had an incredibly comfy bed. It was hard to get up in the morning.

Jim and Cyndi were happy to share information or ideas for sightseeing. Our stay was too short to do everything we would have liked to do - another trip during the leave changing season is definately on our list of to-do's. Surprisingly, the weather was just beautiful while we were there - we rented a convertible mustang and actually we were able to drive with the top down several days.

We have nothing but good things to say about Blackberry Inn and Cyndi & Jim. If you are in the Camden area, we recommend this B&B. It's location is great to all that Camden has to offer, but it's also a good central location in mid-Coast Maine!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dedham, Maine, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Our favorite B&B... my wife and I have stayed at many over the years but keep coming back to The Inns at Blackberry Common -

As natives of Maine, we have experienced all types of B&Bs Maine has to offer, and you can't find one better than Jim and Cindi's in Camden. Beautiful location, great food, and a well maintained property make for a premiere getaway. The "X" factor being owners/hosts that genuinely love the business - that love translates to the facilities, the gormet breakfasts, and the overall experience.

Room Tip: They are all beautiful, but the garden view rooms in the back are spectacular - Cindi's garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millinocket, Maine
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I recently held a watercolor workshop at the Inns at Blackberry Common for 4 people and spouses and we had a wonderful time! Jim and Cyndi are such great hosts and so easy going, serving us incredible food of their making, even with an artistic theme on Saturday night as Jim made Toulouse Lautrec's favorite meal. They are there to answer your every need and the facility is flawless, comfortable and beautiful, being only a short walk from downtown shopping and the waterfront. I'd recommend this as a year round retreat and who could ask for a better location than Camden?

Room Tip: They offer different rooms based on your desire, some are just the basic suite while some have more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CyndiO, Owner at Inns at Blackberry Common, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
This was such a wonderful group to host at the Inns! Having artists stay with us and enjoy the inn for their workshop was truly such fun! Although we have had family and business groups here for reunions or meetings, this was the first artist weekend workshop! The wine and cheese reception was a great way for all to meet...and our French themed dinner continued the artistic influence! Thank you for bringing the group to us and we are already looking forward to the next workshop!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conway MA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I was so happy to find such a warm and welcoming B&B in the heart of Camden. I was especially delighted that they welcomed me when I wanted to bring my favorite Gt. Pyrenees companion, Annabella. The innkeepers were especially generous in introducing me to other artists who were attending a painting workshop at the inn the weekend that I was there.. The meals were superb - from the outstanding dinner to the superb breakfast in the morning.

The room where I stayed, the Birch Retreat, was exactly what I was hoping to find and would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kittery, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I recently stayed overnight at the Inns at Blackberry Common in Camden, Maine. Cyndi and Jim were warm and welcoming and provided wonderful hospitality. The inn was spotless and very inviting. After checking in, I was offered refreshment and a seat by a toasty wood stove in one of the common rooms to ward off the chill of the January day. The room I stayed in had plenty of space with a fireplace and two comfortable chairs and was beautifully decorated. After a great night's sleep, I sat down to a scrumptious breakfast to get my day started off right. Unfortunately, I was only able to stay one night, but I would love to come back and stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inns at Blackberry Common? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inns at Blackberry Common

Address: 82 Elm Street, Camden, ME 04843
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inns at Blackberry Common 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Camden's best bed and breakfast inns, member of Select Registry! Just 3 blocks to harbor, shops & restaurants. 18 Beautiful guest rooms many with fireplaces; all air conditioned. Private baths, many with soaking or whirlpool tubs. Choose a garden room with private entrance overlooking an acre of Maine perennial gardens with our own herbs and blackberry patch. Multi course gourmet breakfast daily. Special packages! Free wireless internet; free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inns at Blackberry Common reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inns At Blackberry Common Camden, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inns at Blackberry Common, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.