We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hole in the Wall = Hidden Treasure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriner's Restaurant

Marriner's Restaurant
35 Main St, Camden, ME 04843-1703
207-236-4949
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 42 Restaurants in Camden
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Davenport, Iowa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Hole in the Wall = Hidden Treasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This restaurant doesn't have national attention or even hours past 2 p.m. but I will promise you it is worth the trip. The lobster roll and blueberry pie are the best I've ever had and I'm a native of Maine. I make the trip to Camden just to go here! And you can get a cold can of Moxie with your meal, too!

There is a little outdoor seating area overlooking the harbor, which is really nice. It's no-frills on decor but they make up for it with the lobster!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    80
    13
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Marriner's is located in the middle of Camden. The atmosphere, decorating, and ambiance is in serious need of help! But the quality and quantity of the food is great!

So it comes down to what is most important to you....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Phenomenal Lobster Roll”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The food at Marriner's is fresh and delicious. Their lobster roll (made with tender, sweet claw meat) was my favorite in Maine. Everything else on the menu looked delicious too!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best blueberry pancakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Chock full of berries, yum. The clam chowder is also good. No nonsense luncheonette, "no quiche, no ferns."

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormond beach
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“clam chowder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Best clam chowder I had in Maine! Full of clams, not too thick, buttery and a bowl was huge!! Staff was great. Lobster roll looked huge. Curious about grapenut pudding.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marriner's Restaurant also viewed

Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Marriner's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriner's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.