We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place to enjoy a well-prepared casual meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Francine Bistro

Francine Bistro
55 Chestnut St, Camden, ME 04843-2211
207-230-0083
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 46 restaurants in Camden
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
West Chester, PA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fun place to enjoy a well-prepared casual meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

THe food and service were very good overall. Lots of variety and ability to try new combinations of tastes. Would return again,

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    147
    52
    17
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Francine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Friendly staff - good service
Food was good but I expected given the reviews to be wowed and was not
Walking distance from our hotel

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland Heights, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Rescued by the food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is a small, noisy bistro that would be nothing special ... except for the food! The menu is creative and the food is excellent, from appetizer to dessert. The tables are so close together you cannot help getting to know your neighbors and seeing what they are eating. Our selections were outstanding and theirs looked and smelled just as good. Don't be put off by the size or noise level of the place ... it is rescued by the food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Ours was a bit of a spur of the moment visit - and I can see why Anne M might write that the service was a bit chaotic - but the food was excellent - really excellent - and imaginative. New England has such great ingredients but we were really challenged to find restaurants where they had made the most of them. Here they did. If you are in Camden and get a chance, then take one of your meals here. Yes, if they have an off day you may find that some things get mixed up in terms of table or service, but the staff are a really good bunch and this place still calls itself a bistro as opposed to 'fine dining' . Hence it does play its music loud towards the end of the evening and service may well temporarily go a bit pear shaped. But I would suggest you just run with it, enjoy the atmosphere and appreciate cracking food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Service was poor- what was the hype about this place??”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

this restaurant has incredibly good reviews - had researched this, and it was also recommended to us as one not to miss. We made a booking and were salivating at the thought of a wonderful meal out. Arrived on time - ignored - while waiting we could see that it was seriously overbooked, staff not communicating, our booking had been ticked off and someone else was sitting at our table.
waited 30 mins + , seated, and rushed through the drinks and menu - predinner drinks had only just arrived when the menus were whipped away. The meal then took 45 mins to arrive- starters-
and again the same for the mains. We therefore had plenty of time to see how the restaurant was run. Not a smoothly oiled operation at all. Meals forgotten on other tables, people waiting inordinate lengths of time for courses and for wines that had been matched.
We got the impression that it might have been very good at one point, but now they were sitting on their laurels, relying on their reputation from the past, and the standard has seriously slipped. We were fairly tired of waiting after the mains, for a menu or two for dessert, and asked for the bill/ cheque and left.
So- unimpressed in all respects. We had two fab meals in the town at a little Thai restaurant that put their service, quality, cost and experience to shame.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Francine Bistro also viewed

Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Francine Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francine Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.