We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Among the very best -- at any price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Timbercliffe Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Camden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Timbercliffe Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn
Save
You added Timbercliffe Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
7 Timbercliffe Drive, Camden, ME 04843   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 Camden B&B and Inns
Atlanta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Among the very best -- at any price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

My wife and I recently had the pleasure of staying at Timbercliffe. We arrived in Camden without reservations and were surprised to find that 4 of the top 5 TripAdvisor-reviewed B&Bs were available for the night (a slow Wednesday).

Immediately, we realized that Timbercliffe was far better than the other options. First, the inn is beautifully and tastefully decorated. Second, Karen and Dave are wonderful people who make you feel like you are the only guest. They are helpful and entertaining while also providing guests with personal space. Finally, the rooms themselves are fantastic -- from the water pressure in the showers to the linens on the beds.

I've stayed in countless 5-star resorts throughout the U.S., and I truly believe Timbercliffe compares well with any of those places.

I cannot wait to return.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Cannot think of anything
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
126
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

We just got back from 5 nights at the Timbercliffe... can I just say it was amazing from start to finish?

The FOOD was incredible - the Inn itself was gorgeous - Karen and Dave were the best hosts EVER.

They were knowledgeable about the area and told us the best places to see and eat - and they were right!

I was able to get Caffrey kisses every day, which meant SO much to me.

STAY here. Seriously - you can't get a better value anywhere in Camden.

  • Liked — Friendly and clean!
  • Disliked — Having to leave.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

My husband and I just spent 2 nights at the Timbercliffe Cottage, and had a wonderful experience. The B&B is beautiful and the location is great...about a 10 to 15-minute walk to downtown. The innkeepers, Dave & Karen, were extremely helpful and accommodating. In fact, when I had an issue with a bed due to a back condition, they went above and beyond in accommodating us and making sure I was comfortable. The food was delicious, and the innkeepers seemed truly interested in making sure that their guests had a positive experience and enjoyed their stay in Camden. I booked the Timbercliffe based on other people's positive reviews on TripAdvisor, and couldn't agree more with all the nice things others said about Timbercliffe Cottage.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, RI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2008

On our first visit to Camden, we hit a home run when we found the Timbercliffe. We've stayed in B&Bs in the past but this was the first one where we really did feel so welcome and at home that we were comfortable curling up on the couch with our books in the living room in front of the fire. We stayed in the 1620 Chamber with a massive king sized bed with high mattress and a lovely view of the woods behind the house. Karen and Dave Kallstrand are fantastic hosts, willing to share advice about where to go and what to do, and serving delicious breakfasts out on the giant wrap-around porch. Adding to the "make yourself at home" feel is the guest kitchen, which is regularly stocked with Karen's fresh cookies, coffee, tea, soda, and water. It doesn't hurt that the view from the porch is fantastic, looking down the hillside to the harbor below. Downtown Camden is an energetic walk or a quick drive and you've got easy access to any number of other activities. We've already booked our next 3-day visit for August 2008, this time in the Goodwyfe Mary Room with its view of the harbor. We can't wait!

  • Liked — Incredibly welcoming and comfortable place to stay with outstanding food, wonderful view, and comfortable room
  • Disliked — Bathroom was a bit small but otherwise fully functional and clean.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2008

The Timbercliffe was absolutely wonderful! The innkeepers are very hospitable and make every effort to make you feel welcome and comfortable. They have covered every detail from stationary to soaps with their logo printed on the packaging!
We stayed in the Widow Pendleton room. The bed was comfortable, but the room is pretty small and the shower is a little strange. I would definitely recommend staying at this b&b, but choose a different room.
Breakfast was absolutely delicious (fluffy pancakes, fruit salad, and yummy bacon), as we enjoyed a beautiful view of the Atlantic while we ate on the porch. The home is not exactly right on the ocean, but you can definitely see it from the porch at breakfast.
The home is set back a bit off of the main road, so you don't have to hear all of the roadway noise.
We definitely recommend this very special, cozy inn.

  • Liked — Innkeepers, adorable dog, breakfast, attention to detail
  • Disliked — size of room
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2008

Amazing attention to detail and immaculate home! Dave and Karen are very welcoming and interesting people. With hot baked cookies in hand we moved from the porch with great views of bay ( and not on busy road like most other b&b's) to the cozy reading room with fire going. The porch is wonderful to relax on and just zone out on view.
Breakfast was delicious and that morning consisted of fresh fruit-scones-egg souffle with gruyere and homemade bread/toast that was awesome. Looking at other options in area I would only stay here. Plus, Caffrey is the sweetest pup.
Eat at Francine's Bistro.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2008

We spent two days at the Timbercliffe Cottage Lodge, which is a beautiful old house with a great porch that has been lovingly and tastefully restored in a colonial ‘Williamsburg’ style with plenty of character – even the floors slope slightly in places! It has been decorated with great attention to detail; check out the staircase – there is a beautiful painting on the front of each stair!

We stayed in the Chancey Keep Room which was extremely spacious and had a wonderful view of Pennobscot Bay. The bed was amazingly comfortable with wonderful linens and there was a gas fireplace for the chilly evenings. There are two common rooms for guests to use and after we came back from an evening meal, a fire was roaring in the sitting room inviting you to sit and chat with other guests.

Breakfast was served in the formal dining room and was delicious and filling – Karen also makes the most wonderful afternoon treats and they also have a butler’s pantry with endless tea, coffee, sodas etc. which was very useful.

Dave and Karen are very friendly and gracious hosts that make you feel comfortable and immediately at home. By the way, Caffrey, the Golden Retriever is absolutely adorable and although he doesn't mingle with the guests, he loves to have a fuss made of him! We really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Timbercliffe Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timbercliffe Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 7 Timbercliffe Drive, Camden, ME 04843
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timbercliffe Cottage Bed and Breakfast is in a senic location on Timbercliffe Drive with romantic views of Penobscot Bay. This historic home is centrally located between downtown Camden, Maine and Camden Hills State Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Timbercliffe Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn Camden, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timbercliffe Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.