We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything a B&B should be....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Timbercliffe Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Camden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Timbercliffe Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn
Save
You added Timbercliffe Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
7 Timbercliffe Drive, Camden, ME 04843   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 18 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Everything a B&B should be....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2007

We have stayed with Karen and Dave twice...both times in the winter months as we were in Camden on business. They have renovated this lovely old place and it is so comfortable and relaxing. The rooms are warm and tastefully done, not overdone, and appointed with everything you could want. The beds are super comfortable and have high end linens that are so great to sleep on. The room we stayed in, Goodwyfe Mary, has a gas fireplace that is so realistic, you would think it was real and it was great to be able to regulate the temp of the room to what we wanted. It is a corner room with a really pretty view of the harbor...so nice to wake up to that view.

One really nice feature of this place is that all the rooms are on the second floor so you really have a feeling of privacy in your room. It is perfectly situated on a hill within a couple of blocks of town so there is no noise from the road or the town yet it is so easy to walk to town. I think it may be one of the only B&B's in Camden that has a view of the harbor.

Nice touches like a great little butlers pantry with a fridge for snacks, etc and they always have great homemade goodies to eat. A cool coffeemaker that makes a great cup of fresh coffee anytime. Plenty of Poland spring water and a fire in the wonderful fireplaces in the common rooms in the winter....so inviting to walk into from the outside on a colds winter day and a real fire smells so great.

Karen does a fabulous job with breakfast...we loved everything she made.

Karen and Dave are so personable and friendly and helpful yet they have the gift of knowing when to be there to lend a hand and when to step back and give you your space. Within hours of being there, we felt like we were visiting old friends. Such lovely people....we wish them great success in their lovely inn.

Donna and Buck
Trumbull, CT

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
127
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yarmouth, ME
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2007

I had the good fortune to stay at Timbercliffe Cottage while I was on business in Midcoast Maine recently. I loved it. As a single female traveler, it offered that wonderful sense of security. The innkeepers, Karen and Dave, are incredibly nice and accommodating. When I asked for a lowfat breakfast, I was served a fabulous omelette accompanied by homemade bread.
The decor is definitely "Williamsburg colonial" in keeping with the age of the home. However, they've carefully added many modern amenities, like free wi-fi (which I end up paying for in hotels), and hair dryers. I loved the view of Pennobscot Bay and the islands beyond from the porch, which is filled with wicker furniture.

I would highly recommend the Timbercliffe Cottage to anyone looking for a place to stay in Camden!

  • Liked — cleanliness, hospitality of innkeepers
  • Disliked — parking area was teired. At night I couldn't tell where the drop offs were.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2007

Our one night visit was very pleasant and breakfast the next morning was ample and delightful! We sat on the porch and had a beautiful view while enjoying Karen's cooking. Dave was also welcoming and provided many suggestions regarding dinner for our evening meal. The 1620 Chamber was well appointed and we enjoyed meeting the other guests. Will return!

  • Stayed September 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2007

Our two night stay just after Labor Day was simply too short - I wish we could have stayed with Karen and Dave at Timbercliffe Cottage longer. It was the best B&B of our 11 night vacation in Maine and Rhode Island. Dave and Karen are warm and helpful hosts, they feel like friends right away.

Our experience was fabulous. The rooms are very thoughtfully put together and give you a true early New England feel. Sitting out on the wrap-around porch one evening when the house was quiet, we were able to pretend the lovely view belonged to us alone - it was a sweet daydream!

I especially admired the pantry filled with treats for the guest, well, more specifically the uber fabulous expresso/coffee machine. I saw the same model at Williams Sonoma. Delish coffee to go with the fresh baked cookies, heaven!

We stayed in the 1620 Chamber and it was a very nice size room with a king bed and had a lot of nice little touches and decorations. Towels and bedding are high quality and super comfy. I will have to say that the bathroom for the 1620 Chamber is seriously tiny, but this is a seriously old home. It is not surprising that a bathroom could be small and it did not impact the enjoyment of our stay at all. If a big bathroom is important to you, however, you should absolutely still stay at Timbercliffe - just choose a different room.

Both mornings we were able to have our breakfast outside on the porch. The food was artfully presented and delicious. Karen works hard on the quality and variety of dishes and it shows. We never left hungry.

Timbercliffe Cottage is the perfect choice for the traveler to Camden who appreciates warm hospitality and lovely surroundings (and a cookie or two!).

  • Liked — Quality hosts and accommodation
  • Disliked — well, maybe the bathroom, but it was no big deal!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new england
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2007

We stayed at this B&B for three nights and wished it could have been longer. From the moment we booked our reservations- we knew the service was going to be great! Karen and Dave were very nice but not overbearing like some innkeepers we have met. They have outdone themselves when it comes to restoring the inn and they certainly put their heart into every decision. The decor was tasteful and the breakfast was very tasty! In regards to the previous comment about the portions being skimpy – I think everyone has opinions on what a serving size is however it was plenty for all of the guests that I dined with and Karen offered seconds every morning. We look forward to our next trip to Camden ( and to Timbercliffe)

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2007

The Timbercliffe Cottage is a lovely B&B in Camden, ME. In my opinion, it has the advantage over the other B&Bs because it is located up and off of the main thoroughfare, making it a quiet place to stay.

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Timberclifffe Cottage for 5 days in July and stayed in the Chaucey Keep Chamber, which is the Cadillac of rooms in the house. It did not disappoint. The room was meticulously adorned with simple but exquisite decorations/furniture. Though it was July, we used the fireplace almost every night we were there because the nights were quite cool. The bed was large and comfortable, and the linens were soft and extremely comfortable.

David and Karen, the inn keepers, were friendly and beyond helpful. Though they are fairly new to the area, they are two people whom are in-the-know and did not hesitate to offer bountiful advice. Though my girlfriend and I love to sleep in, we woke up EVERY morning to the wonderful smells of Karen's breakfast. We happily arose from our comfortable bed to a delicious breakfast, usually fresh local fruits with homemade whipping creme and a fresh-baked scone or poppy bread. That was followed by a hot entree: delicious french toast, gingerbread waffles (shaped like hearts, to boot), frittata, bacon....it was all spectacular. We ate breakfast every morning outside on the porch to the beautiful view of the Penobscot Bay.

Though there was so much to do in the surrounding areas, my girlfriend and I wished we would have spent more time in the Timbercliffe itself. The warm rooms were so inviting and beautifully decorated. We are planning to visit again soon, perhaps in the fall or winter, when the weather will encourage us to stay indoors.

Oh, and don't forget to take advantage of Karen's delightful baked goods in the afternoon/evening. I feel dumb admitting this, but, yes, it was us that ate the majority of your cookies. Yum!

Of course, say hello to Caffrey the friendliest golden retriever host on the East Coast.

Highly recommended!

  • Liked — The breakfasts!
  • Disliked — Short stay, wished I stayed longer
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2007

Our stay was ok, not great, and we felt there were better choices in the area.

Pluses were...beds were comfortable and the inn has been recently renovated with attention to detail and a cozy fireplace and welcoming porch, cookies served in the afternoon, and Dave the owner was very personable and willing to do whatever he could to make our stay enjoyable.

Breakfast consisted of a really nice fruit cup, a fairly tasteless scone and one serving of spinich quiche. Location to center is walkable but there are some b&b's closer to the activities.

Negatives were ... the breakfast set up on the porch. It consisted of a table for six and then off to the side, a couch with a small "coffee" table for two . The result of this set -up was that three couples (including us) enjoyed breakfast together while another couple was left to themselves, even though they would have liked to join us. It was awkward for all. Also, Karen one of the owners, was not welcoming, seemed aloof and was absent for much of our stay.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Timbercliffe Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timbercliffe Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 7 Timbercliffe Drive, Camden, ME 04843
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timbercliffe Cottage Bed and Breakfast is in a senic location on Timbercliffe Drive with romantic views of Penobscot Bay. This historic home is centrally located between downtown Camden, Maine and Camden Hills State Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Timbercliffe Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn Camden, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timbercliffe Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.