We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A highlight of our trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Natalie's Restaurant

Natalie's Restaurant
83 Bayview Street, Camden, ME 04843
+1 207-236-7008
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Natalie's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 42 Restaurants in Camden
Price range: $72 - $109
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Main Street
Description: Awarded Top 100 Restaurant In The USA, Natalie's offers a refined dining experience featuring Modern New England cuisine, influenced by international cuisines and inspired by the seasons. Executive Chefs Chris Long and Shelby Stevens create modern dishes with subtle and unexpected flavor combinations. Awarded best overall restaurant in New England, Natalie's uniquely blends a current sense of place and time with modern techniques and the bounty of Maine. The result is classic regional dishes reinterpreted and local sourced ingredients prepared with a worldly sophistication. Chris Long became 2013 Maine Lobster Chef Of The Year and Mixologist Seth Knowlton was awarded best bartender in Maine in 2013 by Eater. The restaurant received the AAA 4 Diamond Award in addition to a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence and was awarded best restaurant in New England by Diner's Choice in 2013. The restaurant offers outside dining in season, with breathtaking views over the harbor and hills. Natalie's is fully air conditioned and has a full bar and lounge for cocktails and lighter fare. Natalie's offers a 3-course Prix Fixe, a 7-course tasting and a 4-course Grand Cru Lobster Menu.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A highlight of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The quality of the food, creative recipes, presentation, warm attentive service, and delightful view (we sat on the veranda)of Camden Harbor are not to be missed! Thank-you for being one the best dining experiences in Camden. Oh and we so enjoyed the little gift box of locally made chocolates that came with our check.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    30
    18
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Gourmet Lobster Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

5+ restaurant. Loved gourmet lobster menu, eating on the porch, fine service. It's like a New York restaurant with the ambience of the Maine seacoast.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Maybe the Best in the World and I'm serious ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

DISCLAIMER: I have been to many a nice restaurant, even to many "Serious" restaurants. I neither smoke nor put ketchup on steak, so I am something of a foodie. Natalie's may well be the best restaurant in the WORLD. I despise pretentious, overdone, over-salted, over-hyped food. The ambience is interesting, but I'm all about the food. I had the five course tasting menu. We three ate for three hours, and I was not having wine, so none of the comments are made under the influence...

Everything was PERECT. Our amuse bouche was a tiny forkful of tomatoes Caprese. The appetizer was raw oysters with cucumber foam. The cold corn cream soup was divine and the consistency of heavy cream. The fish was monkfish cooked with vegetables and it was perfectly cooked. The meat course was a small filet, again expertly cooked and napped with just enough sauce. Our dessert was a mango souffle.

One friend had scallops that were magnificent, as well as a sushi-grade tuna that was delightful. She had a chocolate lava cake with a raspberry sorbet on the side (with chocolate underneath the sorbet.

At $100 per person before tip (One had the wine pairings), I can truthfully say it was moneoy well spent.

If you visit the Mid-Coast of Maine, go here. Go, as the French do, for the entire evening, not on your way to somewhere else. Screw your diet for once and give yourself over to the passion of the food served to you by solicitous staff.

You'll be a happier person for it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food, limited menu, insane wine markups”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Natalie's is definitely the best restaurant in Camdem. Everything was absolutely superb: the cocktails (the bartender won the Best Cocktail in Maine award in 2010), the food and the service (probably the best service I have ever had in the US). So, let me talk about the flaws: the kitchen is quite slow (which might or not might be a flaw), our party of 3 was the only table in the restaurant and our 3-course dinner lasted more than 2 hours. The menu is limited, 5 appetizers and 5 entrees, no specials. The wine markups are insane: we had a Duval-Leroy NV Brut which retails for around $30 and we paid $120 (yes, that's 4 times the retail price). So, if you don't mind paying (a lot!) for a great dining experience, Natalie's is for you!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Exquisite dinner and wine pairing - a must for foodies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Visited Natalie's in August 2012. The food and wine pairing did not disappoint. The food combinations were innovative and delectable. Yes the portions are smaller, but this restaurant is all about quality over quantity. The seared duck was tender and flavorful and the chocolate tart was the perfect dessert.

The only complaint is that the back part of the restaurant gets a bit crowded and you feel as though you are on top of other guests when seated. The waiters bump into the chairs when serving, but are still pleasant and attentive.

Still a wonderful date night location!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Natalie's Restaurant also viewed

 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Natalie's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Natalie's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.