We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront

Waterfront
Bay View Street, Camden, ME 04843
207 236 3747
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 42 Restaurants in Camden
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

This was a great place to have lunch after a morning sail. We were seated on the large deck overlooking Camden harbor and enjoyed the parade of boats in and out. Service was decent...typical for a seasonal place dependent on summer help. Food was attractive and tasty; portions generous. Would definitely return on another trip to Camden, especially in good weather if we could get a table on the deck!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    176
    77
    36
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, NH
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Lobster Roll#2”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Met friends for a nice lunch here. The Resturant is not A/C, and the day was unusually hot and humid, making it a bit uncomfortable even eating inside. Lobster roll, fries and slaw was very good, as were the other entrees served at our table. Service was very good, and pricing reasonable. Back eating area overlooks the Bay, and the town itself seems lovely.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The best deck view in Camden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

We have been going to the waterfront for over 30 years. The view from their deck is one of the best in Camden. Great opportunity to see the harbor activity. Over the years, we have enjoyed the clam chowder, mussels, the fried shrimp and calamari either as a meal or an appetizer, the steamed clams, the fried haddock sandwich, among others. Their food is very good and the ambience is outstanding.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde Park, New York
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The water was the best thing we had.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Okay for real. The food was gross and tasteless. I had high expectations for this cute restaurant on the harbor in Camden. When walking in we were immediately greeted by the three hostesses which made it seem like they had somewhat of good service. Didn't last long. Asking to be seated on the deck during busy hours isn't the best idea either. We were told that we could only get the "light menu" or wait 40 minutes for the full menu outside. In my eyes, why not seat a table that is willing to pay for a full menu before seating people willing to spent 10 bucks. Anyway, took the inside seat and waited about 5 minutes to be greeted at our table. Soon after our server finally came to the table and took our order. Shortly we noticed that our server was going around to all of her tables and reading them specials. She never offered them to us. We never even got her name! About 5 minutes later a new server approached us saying "Hey, did you guys seat yourselves….?" We told her that someone had already come to us and taken our order. She responded "OH! Must be the wrong table." My $22 grilled salmon had arrived and i was absolutely shocked by its presentation. See photo. The mashed was under seasoned, green beans were mushy, and the juices were all over the plate. My date for this evening ordered the crab cakes which were tasteless aside from the bitterness of the burnt tops. The coleslaw was actually decent and the order of fries that came with it seemed to only have about 10. Overall, the service was horrible. The unnamed waitress was nice, but seemed like a very weak server. The kitchen needs to take a little time out and clean up their plates. Another thing we noticed while observing was that the waitstaff looked very unprofessional and carried themselves as if they were at home. Some wore spaghetti straps, some flannels, some dresses and some tie dyed cut up t-shirt. There was no dress code and not even any type of unison between the staff. Last but not least as we were leaving there were three people as the host stand that failed to thank us or wish us a good night. They just continued to converse with each other and completely ignore us until we spoke up right as we stepped out of the door and said "Thank you, have a good night." They responded with the same.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch and great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014


This place is exactly what you expect it to be. Freshfood, fast service and with a great view over the harbor. Perhaps not a culinary adventure, but a great lobster roll and a local beer were all we needed.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterfront also viewed

 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.