We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront

Waterfront
Bay View Street, Camden, ME 04843
207 236 3747
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 41 Restaurants in Camden
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Loved this place. We visited at New Years and it was very cold out. This place was cozy with a fire burning,, busy but not to the point it was crowded. Great menus with lots of comfort food. Food and service were excellent. Our waitress was attentive but not pushy. We would definitely go back there for another visit, hopefully in Summer when we can try their outdoor deck..

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    182
    79
    37
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
373 reviews 373 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
“Lobster stew is amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

In June 2013 we stopped in for lunch and sat outside. It was lovely. I had the lobster stew which was delicious. It came with shrimp salad. The food and service was excellent. It's always nice to relax by the water!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Always great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The Waterfront restaurant in Camden has always been a great place to eat or gather with friends. The food quality is always excellent and a great variety is offered. The location on the harbor is the best in town, even in the winter. Also a good place to go and sit by the fireplace. Had lunch with a group of friends recently and everyone had a great meal. The luncheon special of a hot pastrami sandwich was piled high with pastrami and delicious. Favorite summer lunch is their chicken salad sandwich. Enjoy the view !

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bad Visit”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

My daughters and I went to the Waterfront on Dec. 23 for dinner. Hostess was rude and impersonal. She took us ...three of us... to a table for 2 in the bar area and dropped menus on the table... the menu was the bar menu... girls and I left for another restaurant, FRESH.... it was wonderful.... Waterfront must be resting on past reviews.... not a positive experience!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore Falls, Maine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Place For Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Having been here many times over the years, I recently took visiting relatives " from away " here for lunch so they could experience a Maine seaside restaurant in the winter time . Cozy table near the fireplace , great view of the harbor , good craft beer, and a professional attentive wait staff . I gave it a four star rating for ambiance and service . The food, though consistently good, lacks that Wow factor which would put this place over the top . I had lobster stew, good but I've had better. The others had sandwich and seafood lunch specials which were good but again , nothing extraordinary . Altogether a very pleasant place for lunch on a cold winter day in mid-coast Maine.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterfront also viewed

 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.