We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very busy with locals” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront

Waterfront
Bay View Street, Camden, ME 04843
207 236 3747
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 46 restaurants in Camden
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
CHESHIRE
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“very busy with locals”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We dined here one evening and this restaurant was really busy. I had a very nice meal with a well cooked steak but my wife was "overfaced" with a huge plate of butternut squash ravioli which she found a bit off putting.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    134
    135
    64
    32
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jonesborough, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Food OK, but lukewarm. Service slow and inattentive. Restaurant did not have enough staff for the number of people eating. Not worth a repeat visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Go for the mussels!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The mussel appetizer was more than enough for two of us. In fact, I could have made a meal of it with the two slices of bread served on top. The lobster linguini was superb and the scallop special over butternut squash was very good. The service was fast and very pleasant, which I had been concerned about due to some other postings. The only thing to improve upon was that our water glasses weren't refilled. We'll go back again, either on this visit or another.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“good dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The Waterfront was recommended by our B & B innkeeper, and the food and service were both very good. I had the lazy lobster, and my husband had a steak.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great place on the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The clerk behind the front desk of our hotel recommended the Waterfront restaurant and we were very pleased. The location right on the harbor was very nice. The waitress was very attentive without being imposing. The menu selections were nicely varied with a number of specials. I had the scallops and my wife had the fried clams. Both were appropriately sized and delicious. The restaurant was full (no reservations for parties less than 6) but we did not feel rushed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterfront also viewed

Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.