We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, but didn't like the dead animal heads as decor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cappy's Chowder House

Cappy's Chowder House
1 Main St, Camden, ME 04843-1703
207-236-2254
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 42 Restaurants in Camden
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Boston
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good food, but didn't like the dead animal heads as decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We had a late lunch at Cappy's on the afternoon we were going to be checking into a local Bed & Breakfast in Camden, Maine.

The food was pretty good. For appetizers we accidently ordered two fried items: the homemade chips and the onion rings. Onion rings were good. The homemade chips were not much different than regular chips, except warmer. We expected some potato on there, like they'd be part French Fries, like we've had before. They came with no sauce, as I've had in other restaurants.

My salad was sizeable, and pretty good, too.

Did not care for the large dead animals hanging on the walls. I know that's a part of Maine's culture, but if we hadn't been really hungry (and other places had been open), I would have walked out when I saw them.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    314
    163
    54
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great charity event!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We visited Cappys last week for a charity event. On this night they were making a donation of some of the proceeds to the Pope Memorial Humane of Knox County. It's a great cause and a great shelter. It was nice to see the event so well attended. The food was as good as always, and the atmosphere as light and jovial as always. The only shame was that they decided not to serve dessert to certain areas of the restaurant. No biggy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun local flavor!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The eclectic ambiance is local and inviting! My husband and I had a couple of beers at the bar and shared an appetizer- it was decent pub food- however, what I enjoyed most was the atmosphere and the view!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“LOBSTER NUGGETS!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We were at Cappy's last October and ordered a couple of pints with the deep fried lobster nuggets. Pure Heaven!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Poor food prep”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stopped in for lunch, yesterday. The chowder was good, and the cider was tasty. However, the steamed clams that I ordered were extremely gritty. They could not have been rinsed at all. When I started to chew the first one, my boyfriend heard my teeth crack. The waitress was very kind and apologetic, but this meal couldn't be saved. We were disappointed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cappy's Chowder House also viewed

Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Cappy's Chowder House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cappy's Chowder House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.