We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birchwood Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Camden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Birchwood Motel
Save Saved
You added Birchwood Motel to your Saves list
530 Belfast Road (Route 1), Camden, ME 04843   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Camden
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Birchwood Motel for two nights prior to picking our kids up from a nearby summer camp. We loved it! A very comfortable room with a firm mattress (and a firm pillow - such a rare thing in a hotel). The proprietress was friendly and very helpful. We took all of her restaurant suggestions (Francine's and a new one, Comida Latin Kitchen) and had amazing meals while we were there. Her homemade breakfast items and fruit salad were simple and delicious. The location was great. Everyone else has mentioned the cleanliness, but it's so true: the beautiful wooden floors sparkled. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    19
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
12
39
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yarmouth, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Located about 5 minutes north of Camden village, and one mile north of the entrance to Camden Hills Park, the location is quite convenient for vehicle travel in and around the Camden/Rockport area. The rooms were very clean, the beds were comfortable, and the wi-fi was solid (which was nice because cell phone service throughout this region is not that great). The breakfast, although not big, included fresh baked goods and fresh fruit, as well as some very good coffee. There'a a cozy indoor sitting area to enjoy your breakfast as well, as a porch with a few tables and benches. The proprietors, who live on the premises, and were very helpful and attentive. Take a stroll around the garden in the back. They are eco-friendly, but not at the expense of the guest. I'd definitely go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
335 reviews 335 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 144 cities Reviews in 144 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

When we saw this place on the internet and read the write-ups we had to give it a try. I'm glad we did. We stayed in many motels/hotels but, never one as clean as this one. The room was spotless with soft sheets and plenty of towels. The only thing lacking was a table in the room. They heat water with solar power and I wondered if we would have enough hot water for showers. It was not a problem. Since they are on the main Hwy 1 there is heavy traffic at times but, it did not seem to cause a problem sleeping. are chairs outside the door where you can sit and enjoy the ocean view. The breakfast was perfect for us. Fresh orange juice, strong hot coffee, fruit salad, homemade muffins and scones. If you have a few extra moments take a stroll out back to the garden. They grow their own fruits and vegetables and there is a small quiet pond.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This place has clean, well equipped rooms. It was comfortable and quiet. There was good coffee and fresh scones in the morning, and it is located about 5minutes drive north of the center of Camden. The proprietors were helpful. All of this at a reasonable rate. Who needs more?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orono, Maine
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The Birchwood Motel offers crisp white sheets, fluffy towels, and spotless accommodations. When not desiring a large multi course breakfast in a town with many such places.. head for the Birchwood. Breakfasts are fresh fruit and homemade muffins or scones. Coffee is strong and good. Decaf is unfortunately instant. Would recommend brewed decaf for those who must have it for a variety of health reasons and who love good coffee.
We stayed the night and very much enjoyed the company of guests chatting and sitting in the breakfast- lounge area as most were from out of state and being Mainers, we were able to give suggestions on best spots for views, easy hikes, and lobster rolls.
The Birchwood respects the environment and offers simple, comfortable rooms and breakfast. We felt welcome and recommend this charming old fashion and special spot.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed two nights here during our last trip to Camden. The owner was wonderful and actually upgraded us to the cottage for free since it wasn't booked and we were sleeping 3 people to 2 beds in our original booking. She also had a lot of good tips to give us on where to eat and as overall very friendly and welcoming. The rooms themselves were very cozy and comfortable, just like home, and we even had a fridge and small kitchen and a kitchen table to eat/work at. There was a breakfast in the morning of coffee, juice, fruit, and homemade muffins that we all really enjoyed. The wi-fi was nice and fast, unlike most other places I've stayed! The motel is about 2 miles outside of town, so it's only a 5-7 minute drive to get to the harbor. Overall, we had a great experience and will definitely return in the future!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have been to Camden many times. This past June, I spent a long weekend here and it was the best lodging I've had in Maine. Yes, the rooms are clean and comfortable but what made it special was the environmentally sensitive operations and the lovely simplicity of the space. The flowers were blooming outside and the area was quiet, but not too far from town. The lobby was lovely and the breakfast was outstanding. Great scones, fruit, coffee. I will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Birchwood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Motel

Address: 530 Belfast Road (Route 1), Camden, ME 04843
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cute, clean motel with lovely views of the bay from every room. Birchwood Motel is owned and operated by a local family, and is known as Camden's Best Value for our comfortable rooms at a terrific price. And yes, we are physically located on Rt. 1 in Camden! Just 2.5 miles north of the downtown harbor district. Offering a variety of lodging options: standard motel rooms, deluxe rooms, cottage and vacation rentals. Light continental breakfast offered each morning in our spacious reception. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Birchwood Hotel Camden
Birchwood Motel Camden, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birchwood Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.