We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Camden Hills

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Lodge at Camden Hills to your Saves list
The Lodge at Camden Hills
186 Belfast Rd, P.O. Box 794, Camden, ME 04843   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
GreenLeadersBronze level
Humboldt County, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

This was the highlight of our 1.5 week vacation! We stayed at 5 different places and this was by far the greatest experience. The grounds were beautiful, nestled amongst the trees. Our room was clean and spacious and it was great to have a fridge for those warm summer evening cocktails on the deck. We loved the fact that it was right outside of town.

By far the highlight was the innkeepers, Leif, Amber, and James. They were the most helpful and accommodating we have ever met. They gave us all the great tips of where to eat and the best ways to get there; where to pick up live lobster and the restaurant to take it and have it cooked for $1. And when it started raining they even lent us their umbrella!

We honestly were so sad to leave and are trying to figure out how and when we can go back asap!!

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    25
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
105
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, FL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

The Lodge at Camden Hills is a beautiful lodge just at the base of the entrance to a national park which include mnt. Battie which you can drive up to the top and check out the pristine panoramic views of camden and the surrounding areas. The Lodge is very well maintained and extremely clean (which is of at most importance). The staff was very helpful and accomadating to our request and needs. We we traveling with our 2 kids, 4 year old twins and they loved it and even cried when we went to leave. The rooms are elavated and you get a great view of the ocean from the deck and the forest behind us, it was like we were in our own little ski lodge/cabin. We stayed in one of the rooms with the jaquzi tubs and pull out sleeper couches for the kids. At night it got a little chilly so after a relaxing soak in the jaquizi we lit a fire in the fire place and the kids just seemed to melt away to sleep. After the kids went to bed my wife and I snuck out on the deck and had a drink while the sun was setting over the ocean, unbelievable and the kids were only 5 feet away, but it gave us the feeling of being back on our honymoon.
I have stayed in other places in Camden before closer to downtown, but never again (to much hustle and bustle ) just The lodge at Camden Hills for us. It is pristine, quiet and well maintained. We were only about a 10 -15 min walk from downtown to the shopping and thats with 2 kids in tow, Or a 2 minute drive.
This is how Maine is supposed be, i am a previous resident of downeast maine living in Pensacola, Fl. This place made me want to move back to Maine and the fun my whole family had was priceless. The kids had more enjoyment just hanging out at the lodge, rolling down the hills on the well kept lawn and going for little adventureous walks into the woods.
We would highly reccomend staying here and we would have it no other way from here on in. We will be returning next year and we will try to make it a yearly get away since it was quite afordable, and we would of paid double anywhere else to get this experience

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

We chose the lodge as a cheap lodging alternative to the pricy options in Camden proper. In terms of features, our cottage did indeed have a distant ocean view. The deck was a pleasant place to sip a drink and enjoy the view. To get an idea, the ocean is perhaps half a mile away, but the elevated position of the lodge makes for a nice sweeping overview interrupted by US-1 and a number of trees. But, it is largely as advertised.

The appearance of the rooms is almost exactly what we expected based on the photos on the lodge's web site. The room was generally clean in appearance. I say "appearance" with a reason... the room in which we stayed was extremely moldy and mildewy... allergy sufferers beware! The room also had a blight of insects, including some spiders and ants. I awoke from the first night with a massive bug bite on my foot that is currently the size of a dime. The general impression we have is that this was once a nice place that has been 'let go' for a number of years. There is moss growing on the exterior walls and roof, peeling paint on the exterior (though the interior paint was spotless), and some exterior wood on the deck that is extremely distressed. The grounds are decent, if a bit overgrown.

Overall, we paid about 1/3 of what most hotels in Camden cost. If you are traveling on a shoestring, this might be an acceptable lodging choice for you. Bear in mind that some of the other units may be nicer than ours (we stayed in Unit 11). But, you should know that this lodge is a good distance away from Camden proper. The main draw of Camden seems to be strolling and shopping in the business district, and it's probably a solid 30 minute walk from the lodge. If you don't mind roughing it, then this could be your solution. But, for anyone expecting a pristine romantic getaway... beware. The money you would spend in upgrading to a nicer inn (especially one closer to Camden's center) is likely money well spent.

Our experience with the staff was okay... a bit lackadaisical (including no confirmation number for our reservation... "you're in the book, so there's really no need"), but there were no major meltdowns.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

We will long remember our winter weekend getaway. We wanted a cozy nest with special appointments to just unplug and reconnect with one another. We found it in Camden at the Lodge at Camden Hills. Cottage 15 had the fireplace, jacuzzi, big comfortable bed, beautiful furnishings, kitchenette, cd player....the Burgess's think of everything. The place is immaculately clean. The scenery is stunning even in winter. We did a little window shopping and explored the area. We ate out twice but it was hard to tear ourselves away from the cottage. We noshed on cheese, olives and bread from the Market basket down the road.

Even though the cottage is a little bit more than we usually spend on motel stays ($195 per night) it is totally worth it . I hope we make this an annual winter experience.

P.S.
I work in the tourism industry. these folks KNOW guests services!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2008

We've stayed here a number of times over the past 4 years, most recently this past August. We originally selected this spot because of the pet friendly accommodations. However, we keep going back because the accommodations are great for both the dogs and the humans. This last trip we stayed in Cottage 20. The cottage is very spacious for two adults and two dogs. The room was very comfortable with a separate living and sleeping area. It also had a kitchen. We had a great view from our room and the porch and fireplace were both bonuses. The location just about a 1 mile from town is also perfect. The Lodge is well run and the owners are very friendly. We will definitely continue to return.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Mass
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2008

Camden, Maine The Lodge at Camden Hills
Date: June 24, 2008
Reviewer: A frequent traveler in New England
This is a well operated "Lodge," a mile north of downtown Camden on Route 1. It's close to town, yet located on a property with trees and grass and with views of the bay in the distance. The rooms are mostly in one building on a slight incline above the road, so there is no road noise and one can park behind each unit with level access into the rooms. . They are well furnished and well maintained, with cable TV, refrigerators, air conditioning, private phone and in-room coffee and tea. Some rooms have decks facing toward the bay. There are suites with a galley kitchens sitting area and fireplace. You are very close to Camden Hills State Park with lots of opportunites for walking. We've been to Camden many times and we have found the Lodge to be our aboslute favorite. For a room with a queen bed during the summer the cost is $150.

  • Liked — well kept, close to town yet in the trees, views of the water
  • Disliked — no high speed internet, but it's available handily in the town library
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bahhhson, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2008

We very much enjoyed our 3rd or 4th trip to the Lodge at Camden Hills. Typically, we have stayed during New Years for a relaxing start to the new year, but this time we went in February. We stayed in the Firepace and Jacuzzi cottage and what a retreat they are! Just sitting by the roaring wood burning fire was just what my wife and I wanted while the snow was coming down outside and the outdoor temps were frigid. The jacuzzi is great too. We like having the little fridge and kitchen area for snacking and keeping beverages cold. Our room was made up promptly each day and our fire was made up each day, requiring just a simple match to get it going. The rates were very reasonable too. It couldn't have been more perfect. We enjoyed the little town of Camden with all the little shops and restaurants as well. You won't be disappointed if you give this place a try for a relaxing Winter retreat away from the hustle and bustle and the daily grind of the city.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Camden Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Camden Hills

Address: 186 Belfast Rd, P.O. Box 794, Camden, ME 04843
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge is a locally-owned inn that has been run by the Burgess family for 30+ years. The Lodge is village-like in appearance, with fourteen units spread across 5 acres. We offer cottages, suites and guest rooms with amenities which include jacuzzis, fireplaces, kitchenettes and private decks with bay views. A perfect place for a romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Lodge at Camden Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Camden Hills Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Camden Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.