We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fromviandoux - CLOSED

Fromviandoux
20 Washington Street, Camden, ME 04843
207-230-7444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: French, Dessert, Tapas, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dorset, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great New Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

A delightful upscale restaurant with wonderful food and a delightful young couple as chef and hostess/waitress. Our dinners(4) could not have been better, definitely on the gourmet side. The wines were excellent and probably fairly priced but we think too expensive, if fact, a turnoff. Most people do not want to pay $16 for a glass of cab. If they were to include some lower priced recognizable wines by the glass, we would increase our overall rating to 5 -- an easy adjustment to make. Word to the wise?
George and Linda Long
Dorset, VT

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    19
    9
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bath, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We hit Camden the night before the "Camden International Film Festival" on our way beck to Maine from PEI and were thwarted in our attempts to get a table at our tried and true faves when we happened upon this treasure. Sitting at the bar, we we superbly taken care of by the bartender who happily shared his wealth of knowledge about this gem of a restaurant and the local scene in general.
We started with the cheese platter (hard to choose among the variety they have culled from around the U.S. and were thrilled with the whole presentation which included house made onion jam and seasoned almonds that were delish. Our entrées were every bit as fabulous. We are thrilled with this relatively new addition to the midcoast Maine dining scene.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Superb brunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Exceptional brunch with charming and knowledgeable server. The food was sublime. The lobster Benedict was wonderful,fritatta was excellent, and duck hash was a perfect plate. The complimentary tiny pear puff pastries and wonderful muffins and breads were a treat. Excellent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really really good and spot on”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Alyson was pleasant and knowledgeable. The food was succulent and interesting. Wines good combo with the food. Well stocked bar. Great place to finish up another fabulous Autumn day in Maine

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great little venue!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

wonderful wine and cheese list. Just came in for cocktails but was intrigued by the menu choices. Will definitely return!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fromviandoux also viewed

 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fromviandoux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.