We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, great wine, lovely room, knowledgeable staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fromviandoux - CLOSED

Fromviandoux
20 Washington Street, Camden, ME 04843
207-230-7444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Dessert, French, Tapas, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Osprey Florida
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great wine, lovely room, knowledgeable staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was our fourth evening in Camden and we chose Fromviandoux based on other Tripadvisor suggestions. We were delighted we had. We had preordered the chef's menu. The waitress gave us our wine, asked us which items on the menu we'd like to avoid and which we definitely wanted to choose, and we were off! Each time they brought us a course, they gave my husband one food choice and me another, so we doubled our chances of trying innovative and exciting food.

Among the items we loved were the rabbit-apricot terrine, the sublime lobster soup with mushrooms and shallots and the fabulous honey-roasted duck breast with figs. My haystack(?) goat cheese was terrific with the accompanying cherry preserves.

Dinner ended with homemade ice cream (ever tried Maple thyme ice cream?) and the best chocolate chip cookie I've ever had.

When we told a Camden friend about our experience, he said, "this is my favorite restaurant in town. Let's just keep it our secret."

Best of all, this food extravaganza was extremely reasonable. Fromviandoux is our new favorite Camden restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    19
    9
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“omg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Fabulous restaurant with the sweetest staff, helpful and good to give advice. We went for tea and had light menu and it was so good. Dimmer next day, even better. Salads hige and womderful, big selections of cheeses and small plates as well as big dimmers. Everything was delicious .

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Superb High Tea!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Having had high tea at many wonderful places throughout the US, this was the absolute best experience. The petit fours were delectable. The scones were the best I've ever tasted and deliciously tender. Tea sandwiches included lobster roll, chicken salad, salmon, and grilled tomato cheese, which were fantastic. Wide selection of delicious teas. Service was perfectly attentive but not intrusive. Totally impressed. I understand they serve dinner selections as well. We will definitely be back. Highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Connecticut
2 reviews
“A Cheese Lover's Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

If you love cheese and desserts then this is the restaurant for you! We loved the wide variety of cheeses and condiments that were offered. The restaurant has a lovely ambience, spacious and comfortable and the food was terrific.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Top Notch & High quality the way Food should be served”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

So happy we found this restaurant of high quality. Wish it were close to home so we could visit often but will be sure to go again when next in Camden. Keep up the good work and thanks for taking the time and pride to serve such fresh and well prepared dishes!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fromviandoux also viewed

Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fromviandoux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.