We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lord Camden Inn

Save Saved
You added Lord Camden Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lord Camden Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Main Street, Camden, ME 04843   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Best Rate Guarantee!
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Camden
Mexico, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We love this hotel. This was our second stay at the Lord Camdenn Inn. Checked in 9/2/13 and checked out 9/4/13. We stayed in rooms 408 and 409. 408 had the full harbor view which is beautiful. 409 has a village view (could see mostly the roof of the hotel), not so spectacular. Both rooms were very clean and quite comfortable. Both also had patios where you could sit outside.

The staff was very helpful. All of our questions were answered. And they gave us several great suggestions for things to do in Camden. We booked the Schooner Daysail Package. It was very foggy and we weren't sure the schooner was even going to go out for the sunset cruise. The staff made reservations for us and told us that they would let us know if the cruise was cancelled, so we would be free to go shopping, etc. for the day. The cruise wasn't cancelled, it was a great time.

Breakfast is unbelievable! Belgian waffles, bagels, English muffins, scrambled eggs, western omelet, yogurt, granola, fruit, oatmeal, etc. Fresh (a nearby bakery/restaurant) provides baked goods, such as scones and muffins, daily.

The LCI is centrally located. You can park your car (parking is free in a lot a couple blocks away) and walk almost everywhere in town. Within walking distance there is shopping, the harbor, restaurants, and a beautiful park across the road.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsManager, General Manager at Lord Camden Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear OccasionalTraveler87,

Thank you SO MUCH for you review of our Inn! It was such a pleasure to read and learn of your positive stay with us! Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff breakfast and location. We strive to provide legendary customer service and I’m happy to hear we met the mark in providing this along with recommendations during your stay! I’m happy to learn of your enjoyment with our breakfast as we are pleased to present fresh and local offerings to our guests.

Thank you for your recommendation, we look forward to welcoming you back to LCI!

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    201
    89
    26
    6
    0
See reviews for
63
157
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We liked the central location of the inn, perfectly in the middle of Main Street, and from the top floor (room 408) we had great views of the harbor and looking down onto the street.

The inn has beautiful brick detail, I don't know what they converted it from input whatever it was they kept original details intact. Our room had a cool brick wall and was definitely cozy. The bathroom was just ok and had a couple of issues: very tight shower, and lots of mildew in the shower. The room also is limited on outlets. The bed is really comfy and the room gets great light in the morning.

Fitness room was good, again very small but good cardio equipment. Breakfast was nice, all the basics you could want. Service was very friendly, and I liked the cookie jar in the lobby (perfect after dinner snack).

Room Tip: Room 408 is on the top floor, has nice views of the harbor and Main Street. Also a small but nice t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsManager, General Manager at Lord Camden Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear chris72206,

I would like to take the time to thank you for your TripAdvisor contribution! Lord Camden Inn was converted from a Masonic Temple built in 1893 in the year of 1982; opening with 24 rooms on May of 1984. The owners worked hard to restore and keep the historic presence throughout the Inn and it’s guestrooms. I’m pleased to read of your enjoyment of our historic brick walls throughout the Inn as well as your room and view! We are pleased to offer many views for our guests including the Full Harbor View you enjoyed. Over the past few years we have been upgrading and renovating the Inn to include carpeting, bedding, paint, and full room renovations. We have certainly reviewed the room you stayed in and are working towards new options in bath and bedroom. Our fitness room which offers LifeFitness equipment is a great room for cardio and weight training and although small in size we are glad you were able to experience this amenity.

Thank you for your kind words towards our staff and cookie jar! Both of which are a great highlight to many of our guest stays!

We look forward to your return to Midcoast, Maine!

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Upon arrival we were less than impressed by the service. It was difficult to find the two parking spots to drop off our luggage even though we have GPS. After a phone call we were there, by the ice cream stand, and went in to check in. We asked for help with our luggage and the receptionist said (dismissively) that she was the only one there. My sister and I (who are both senior-citizens) lugged our suitcases up seven granite-faced stairs that are not wheel-friendly and on to the elevator up our room. Our room was quite nice, but there was no one there to tell us about breakfast, the ice machine, etc. We finally found the ice machine and the breakfast room. All three mornings there was only ONE person in the busy breakfast-room keeping everything supplied and cooking the scrambled eggs and clearing the tables. She was excellent in her job, but clearly needed some help. She was very appreciative when we knew where to take our dirty dishes. Why can't an up-scale hotel hire a few students to handle the luggage and breakfast chores? We referred to the receptionist as "Miss Hospitality."

Room Tip: It is fun to have a room with a balcony facing the street to do some people-watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsManager, General Manager at Lord Camden Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Spanielmama,

I would like to thank you for providing a review of Lord Camden Inn. I am disappointed to learn of your service experience during your stay with us however. Lord Camden Inn has become known for legendary service and we take pride in striving to provide above and beyond services. Although we do not have a luggage attendant as this has become a less requested service with today’s travelers, we do always offer luggage service by our Front Desk Associates. Rest assured I am looking into why this service was not offered and further more passed off upon your inquiry. Amenities of our Inn such as breakfast, ice, fitness center, parking and wifi are points of mention at time of arrival as well as located on the room number card as we highlight each of these areas during receiving your room keys. Thank you for your compliments towards our breakfast as well as our Kitchen Associate. This is indeed a one person operation which can get busy at times as the hours are open for guests to come and go as they please from 7am to 9:30am. Being a family room atmosphere, our guests are able to clear tables themselves or our Associate does this as well; we thank you for your assistance with your table.

Thank you again for your stay with us at Lord Camden Inn. Your review and feedback is greatly appreciated and helps us to continue forward and positive growth.

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingswood, NJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Overall the Lord Camden Inn was a great spot to stay in Maine. The location has been described by others so there is no need to reiterate what they have said about its proximity to dining and shopping. Camden tends to get busy at times during the day and driving in and out of town can be a little challenging during those times. Overall, the Lord Camden Inn was above average for everything except parking and breakfast. In spite of what some others think, the parking system is tedious at best. The location of the parking lot is about two blocks from the hotel, not necessarily problematic, however to enter the lot you need to stop at the front desk to get a swipe pass, then drive to the lot, and return the pass upon entering the hotel. This arrangement is somewhat inconvenient. Breakfast at the Lord Camden is unremarkable, however it gets the job done.

Room Tip: I think the electrical wires that feed the hotel were directly above our balcony and interfered with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My husband and I spent a few evenings at the Lord Camden Inn. While the rooms were nice and clean, the decorations are a little stuffy. Our room was spacious with a bed and a couch, plus a nice balcony. The location is great - in the middle of downtown Camden with restaurants, shops, dand park all within walking distance. The breakfast was decent, on par with most hotel breakfast buffets. Parking was a problem though. If you plan on walking most of the time, then it wouldn't be a problem. Unfortunately, we had to drive outside Camden a bit for business events. You need to go inside to the lobby to grab the parking lot pass every time you want to park your car, which was inconvenient. The beds were great!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with three children and three adults for three nights. The hotel is in a perfect location in the middle of Camden Centre. The parking system works very well and is not far from the hotel. Nice generous sized rooms, very clean. The toilets in both rooms got cloaked on three occasions, but issue was resolved quickly by staff. The hotel is not very child friendly, there is no pool or common area where they can hang out for a while. When we were waiting in the lobby for a few minutes, the kids were sitting down and played a game, which got a little loud (and really a little bit). The kids immediately got reprimanded by the staff, even before we as parents could warn them. So perfect for couples looking for a quiet place to stay, a little less if you have young ones.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsManager, General Manager at Lord Camden Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear BostonNL1975,

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience with travelers! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at our Inn and found our premier downtown location, parking, cleanliness, and attentive staff to be a highlight of your stay. I’m sorry to learn of your toilet challenges but am glad to hear we were quick to respond and resolve. Our boutique Inn does indeed accommodate families for stays however you are correct that we do not have the amenities a child would favor being that we are built mostly of guest rooms. Lord Camden Inn central locations is built utilizing Camden’s surroundings for child exploration including fresh and salt water swimming, hiking, parks and recreations such as sailing, kayaking, and museums. I apologize for your experience with staff within the lobby towards the loud gaming on our lobby computer. It is never standard practice to reprimand anyone as this is a word not built within our vocabulary as we strive for world class customer service. Rest assured I will indeed be investigating this further. Thank you again for your kind words towards our establishment and sharing them here on TripAdvisor.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Lord Camden Inn for any future stays with us and am always available to assist you in finding child friendly activities to keep the little ones happy as well.

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We enjoyed our stay this past month there.We always get the rooms on the top floor overlooking the harbor. The views are outstanding and it is nice to have a drink on the balcony but you get a wiff from the smokers from time to time. We have only gone to the breakfast buffet a few times and we find it average at best. We go across the street to the Mariner instead for breakfast. This is always are home base in Camden and look forward to going back this fall.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsManager, General Manager at Lord Camden Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear DukeDetroit_Michigan,

Thank you so much for writing a review of Lord Camden Inn! Thank you for your compliments towards our views! I’m sorry to learn of smoke scents on your balcony and do indeed hope you are not experiencing this from other balconies as we are a 100% non-smoking property and do enforce this policy to the fullest extent including thorough balcony inspections. We love being centrally located and are glad you are able to enjoy more breakfast options, although I am sad to hear your comments regarding breakfast is average at best as we work hard to bring fresh local offerings to our buffet including baked items from our sister property Fresh Bakery, locally and organic sourced farm eggs from Bowden’s Egg farm, freshly made bagels from the Camden Bagel Café, gourmet coffees from Carrabasset Coffee, homemade granola made in-house by our breakfast team, as well as fresh fruits, Belgian waffles, bacon, sausage, cereals and juices. We know there are greater breakfast options to experience for those seeking omelets, pancakes etc; however we do believe our complimentary buffet is far above average.

We greatly value your patronage to our Inn and look forward to your return stay with us! From all of us here at Lord Camden Inn we thank you once again for contributing to our TripAdvisor page!

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lord Camden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Camden Inn

Address: 24 Main Street, Camden, ME 04843
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lord Camden Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lord Camden Inn, Camden’s finest luxury, boutique hotel, boasting unsurpassed service, comfort and elegance, with a premier village location and magnificent views of Camden Harbor and the surrounding coastal mountains.From the moment you first arrive, you'll know that this is no ordinary Inn. The warm and inviting atmosphere, colorful walls decorated with paintings by local artists, and the restored antique furnishings will grab your attention and evoke a smile. Our arched doorways, finely crafted wainscoting, brick walls, fireplace, and the hot coffee and tray of freshly made cookies awaiting your arrival will say "come in and relax, you have arrived."The Lord Camden Inn boasts 36 guestrooms and suites spanning four floors. Each room is a stunning architectural arrangement of light and space, many of which incorporate old world brick walls with modern and stylish marble and granite surfaces, wainscoting, and crown molding. The ultimate application of comfort, style and elegance. Lord Camden Inn is a AAA 3-Diamond rated property, 100% non-smoking, and pet-friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Lord Camden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Camden Hotel Camden
Lord Camden Inn Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lord Camden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.