We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be prepared for street noise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lord Camden Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lord Camden Inn to your Saves list
Lord Camden Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Main Street, Camden, ME 04843   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct, Save 10%
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Camden
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Be prepared for street noise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were glad to find that our Lord Camden Inn room had a partial harbor view, but felt a bit duped that the view was over the roof tops across the street as well as busy Highway 1 which runs through town. It is called Main Street there and filled day and night with loud trucks and other vehicles rumbling through town. The balcony for our room was charming and we enjoyed sitting on it with a glass of wine viewing the street action below including a man playing an accordion with a sweet dog. It would have been great except for the noise from the road. The room was fine and clean with comfortable beds and amenities such as good coffees and tea. Breakfast was reminiscent of a Hampton Inn type spread. We enjoyed Camden but checked out of the Camden Inn a night early and moved on to another Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsManager, General Manager at Lord Camden Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Linda S,

I would like to take the time to thank you for providing a review of our Inn. I am happy to learn of your enjoyment of our amenities such as our bedding and coffee selections. Lord Camden Inn is well known as Camden’s Premier Downtown Inn as we are centrally located on Main Street. Being in this location allows our guests the comfort of everything Camden has to offer within footsteps of our entrances. Our views are indeed over the town and face both Harbor settings as well as River and Residential settings. I am sorry you feel as though you were duped as we make every effort to fully describe our setting throughout online as well as verbally over the phone. Our online photographs fully depict our Inn’s setting and amenities without glamour as the pictures are taken in-house by two of our Staff members with photography degrees. We take pride in providing fresh and organic ingredients for breakfast at Lord Camden Inn; sources such as local egg farmers, homemade in-house granolas, our sister property Fresh Bakery, as well as in-state maple syrups and coffees. Our street level rooms do experience some town noises when on the balconies but we feel as this is part of our little downtown charm.

We’re sorry your stay wasn’t as long as you had originally intended and look forward to welcoming you during your return visit to Camden, Maine.

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    98
    29
    6
    0
See reviews for
71
179
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with our little dog. After a long drive from Canada through Vermont, The Lord Camden was a welcome respite. We had a lovely room on the front of the street. Although it was entirely unnecessary in July, the exposed brick and fireplace were a nice touch. We thought how lovely it would be to stay there in the fall. Sweet wicker chairs and a table were on the porch where we could enjoy a glass of wine and watch the world go by. At dusk the sweet town of Camden positively glowed. All the staff we encountered were very helpful. My only quibble was with the bathroom which was in dire need of re-grouting. The breakfast was a bounty of just about everything you'd want.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Overall, we had a great stay at Lord Camden Inn. We spent one night in a premiere fireplace suite and two nights in a full harbor view room. While it was nice to have a separate sitting area, I do not think the fireplace suite was at all worth the price. No view to speak of, and the most expensive room type. The full harbor view, on the other hand, was wonderful. Beautiful view, spacious (although dirty) balcony, and plenty of room to walk around the comfortable king sized bed.

Things I like about this hotel:
- Wonderful bed and linens
- Nice bathroom amenities
- Perfect location
- Manager Eric was great - professional and informative, as was another woman at the front desk (younger, short hair, unfortunately didn't catch her name...)
- Nice breakfast included in rate
- Keurig in room with yummy options like chai latte
- I should mention the location again

Things I did not care for:
- Several other people I encountered at the front desk were not very friendly or helpful
- I do think this hotel is overpriced for what you get; sure, people make the comparison that there are other MORE expensive hotels in the area, which is true, but that doesn't change my perception of the overall value of this hotel (3 nights cost us a little over $900 after tax)
- Balcony of the harbor view room was dirty

The pros outweighed the cons and I would stay here again, maybe during a less expensive season.

Room Tip: Full harbor view rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Connecticut
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a cute little hotel with a great location, but could use a good cleaning. We stayed on the third floor, as expected the room was small, didn't expect the bathroom to be so tiny. The place seems to have a problem with house cleaning. There was a months worth of dust on the mirrors in the hallways, and our bed headboard was so dusty I dusted myself before we turned in. The parking is a block away, which isn't a big deal, but you have to pick up the pass key at the front desk everytime you need to park.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Located right in the center on Camden, I strongly recommend a stay at this classic in. The rooms have crisp yellow paint and white beadboard warmed with an exposed brick accent wall. The beds are unbelievable, one if the most comfortable I have ever slept on. We had a gorgeous balcony overlooking the street but shaded from the sun. They have a private lot for parking and a delicious buffet breakfast with make your own waffles. They did need a little extra help in the buffet as the one woman seemed to be overwhelmed with keeping up with everything. Rooms are equipped with mini fridges, coffee makers and microwaves. I would definitely stay again, loved the overall feel of this inn!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Our antique car tour group stayed here for only one night, and I wish it could have been longer. It's a delightful hotel. Eric and staff were wonderful. The rooms and hotel are interesting with the brick walls and river/town/harbor views. Breakfast is very good. Having the little balcony is fun. It even has a fitness room, which you don't always get in a boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor, I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Right on the Main Street of Camden. Great location for going out to shop or take a walk down one of the lovely streets in Camden. Behind the hotel is a cute-as-can-be ice cream “truck” right on the river with a nice patio to enjoy the sweet treats and the surroundings. The rooms were very charming – brick walls, very nice furnishings. The beds and sheets were extremely comfortable. We loved the cookies, coffee, tea and water in the lobby. When we travel, we usually eat the hotel-provided breakfast one day and then head out for breakfast on other days, but we ate every breakfast there with the complimentary buffet breakfast. Great selection of bakery breads and treats, eggs, waffles, oatmeal, yogurt, cut-up fruit and granola. Would highly recommend!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lord Camden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Camden Inn

Address: 24 Main Street, Camden, ME 04843
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lord Camden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lord Camden Inn, Camden’s finest luxury, boutique hotel, boasting unsurpassed service, comfort and elegance, with a premier village location and magnificent views of Camden Harbor and the surrounding coastal mountains.From the moment you first arrive, you'll know that this is no ordinary Inn. The warm and inviting atmosphere, colorful walls decorated with paintings by local artists, and the restored antique furnishings will grab your attention and evoke a smile. Our arched doorways, finely crafted wainscoting, brick walls, fireplace, and the hot coffee and tray of freshly made cookies awaiting your arrival will say "come in and relax, you have arrived."The Lord Camden Inn boasts 36 guestrooms and suites spanning four floors. Each room is a stunning architectural arrangement of light and space, many of which incorporate old world brick walls with modern and stylish marble and granite surfaces, wainscoting, and crown molding. The ultimate application of comfort, style and elegance. Lord Camden Inn is a AAA 3-Diamond rated property, 100% non-smoking, and pet-friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lord Camden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Camden Hotel Camden
Lord Camden Inn Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lord Camden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.