We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn to your Saves list
Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   83 Bayview Street, Camden, ME 04843   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay for $179
Ranked #14 of 20 Camden B&B and Inns
UK
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

We stayed three nights at this wonderful Inn with our sons. Although it took us a long time to drive up from Boston we felt very special from the moment we arrived, we were met in the car park and our bags taken to our rooms.

The Inn is on the edge of town within 10 minutes walk and up a quiet street opposite the Yacht Club so we had beautiful views all around. The rooms were just as they are on the website and there was nothing we could have asked for, from the glass of prosecco on arrival, the beds like sleeping on a cloud, the spotless cleaning to the wonderful breakfasts (eggs benedict with lobster!!). They even did our washing free of charge!

There is a laptop with free internet connection for your use and a huge library of DVD's which you can borrow. Each room has a flat screen TV and CD player.

Make sure you eat at their restaurant Natalie's, and don't be put off by the rather loud red colour, a little on the pricy side for a small town but the food was superb.

We have stayed in some of the best hotels in the world and we could not fault the service, cleanliness and charm of The Camden Harbour Inn.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    23
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
24
150
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ogunquit
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

We haven't even checked out yet, and I couldn't wait to hop online and write about the Camden Harbour Inn.

The attention to detail is unparalleled, and the comfort of the rooms and the quality of the service is impeccable. From the European style feather beds and comforters to the chocolates left for us at our "turn down service," our stay here was pure perfection.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

I just returned from the Camden Harbour Inn, ME as this B&B came highly recommended. At 400 + dollars per night my expectations were high. Upon my 5:30pm arrival the gentleman at the front desk gave off a less than welcome vibe, but it was soon made up by an eager, friendly and young bellman. I stress young as this B&B has approximately 12 outside steps to the check in desk and 27, I counted them, very small steps, (I wear a size 6 womens shoe and the steps were smaller than my foot, so caution is highly recommended at all times) up to my 3rd floor room. Thank heavens I didn't have to carry my luggage after a long flight. The room was well appointed for the most part. Bed was comfortable but I found black hairs in it and also in my tub, not good as I don't have black hair? The air conditioner which was necessary for the humidity during my stay was a floor unit on wheels with a large visible vent out the window, not a good look in my opinion. The bathroom had nice towels,robes and an assortment of shampoo, conditoner, bath gel, lotion and vanity kit, which were not replenished like most upscale properties at this price. The bathroom rug was not backed in rubber and I almost fell when I stepped on it as the floor was a slippery tile. There was a shower curtain with the curved bar which is helpful if glass doors are not available and like most B&B's the bathroom had the old sink which looks quaint but of course no counter space, so I had to rearrange all of my toiletries on the 2 shelves over the toilet, another inconvenience. Getting ready to go out for the evening was a true balancing act, with my hair dryer & curlinng iron balanced on the tub rim and trying to apply makeup with my products spread out on top of the closed toilet lid. There was no room service but the complimentary breakfast btwn the hours of 7:30 am - 9:am was very tasty. Their was a 2 cup coffe maker in the room and turn down service. The atmosphere was very sedate, snooty and inconvenient considering all the undersized stairs, with no elevator. This is certainly not a place for people who have a personality, people with disabilities or children. The man at the desk remained grumpy during my 2.5 day stay and when I asked for water in my room after descending my 27 stairs, he replied it was in the basement, to which I replied I will wait for it. For the high price of this B&B I was very disappointed. When I checked out, there was no thank you for your business or even a goodbye from Mr, Grumpy. For the exuberant price and stifling atmosphere I wouldn't recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIcamden, Owner at Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2010
We are truly sorry to hear that your experience was not exceeding your expectations. We always strive to provide the best guest services and a memorable stay.

We are happy you enjoyed our welcome service, including a meet and great at the car and the luggage being brought to your room. We are the only property in Camden providing this service, as we find it important that our guests have nothing to worry about when they arrive.

All our guests are sincerely welcomed and escorted to their rooms where they get an explanation of all the amenities and services we provide. All rooms are fully air-conditioned controlled. As we were experiencing one of the warmest and humid summers in the history, we thought, as a service to our guests, it would be nice to provide additional appliances to make sure the rooms remained dehumidified,cool and comfortable. We are sorry to hear that you did not appreciate the aesthetics.

Regarding the stairs, as you might have noticed Camden Harbour Inn is ADA accessible, has handicapped parking spaces and first floor ADA accessible guest-room. The inn was built in 1874 and we have tried to remain the characteristic elements including the gorgeous old staircase. However we do provide accommodation that does not require using stairs at all. We invite you to inform us about your needs next time when you stay with us

Your comment regarding our services makes us believe that you might have overlooked a couple of things

All rooms are fitted with a flat screen HDTV, DVD-player, CD player and Ipod/MP3 outlet, complimentary wireless internet, a selection of the latest magazines, fresh flowers, bathrobes, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, lavender pillow to enhance sleeping, clock radio with relaxation sounds to enhance sleeping, separately climate controlled bathrooms with illuminated make up mirror, hair dryer, oversized fluffy towels and Molton Brown toiletries (including the lushes Xiao Joa Healthy Hair Wash, the Indian Cress Instant Conditioner, the Invigorating Suma & Ginseng bath gel, a relaxing Yuan Zhi Body Cream, milk and oatmeal soap and the sea-moss stress relieving hydro soak. Other amenities offered in the guest bathroom are ultra pure milk soap, a Fresh Mint Mouthwash, a shower cap and a luxurious travel accessories kit) and are replenished twice a day if needed. Camden Harbour Inn is also the only property in Maine providing her guests with a fully stocked mini-bar including soft drinks, wines, beers, water and a selection of snacks.

All guests enjoy a glass of welcome Champagne, a welcome gift in the room, Champagne breakfast including a small buffet, 10 a la carte choices and Champagne or Mimosa’s every morning between 7.30am and 9.30am. Other services we provide includes room service (menu’s are in the room) complimentary snacks, pastries, coffee and teas during the day, newspaper in your room every morning, turndown service in the evening with premium handmade Belgium Chocolates, bath slippers, chambermaid service and complimentary bottled water on the night stand and laundry service (not complimentary). We also have a large library with the latest movies for our guests to enjoy and complimentary valet service.

We always do our utmost to provide our guests with a friendly and professional service. Being awarded among the 50 best experiences in the world we work very hard to exceed the expectations. We are glad you enjoyed the overall experience, apologize for the inconvenience and will make sure to address the suggestions you made.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again

Raymond Brunyanszki
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

Having organised a three week road trip around New Hampshire and Canada I was most looking forward to staying at the Camden Harbour Inn. I have to say that this lovely place didn't disappoint. My only regret was that I couldn't have stayed longer. The amount of detail they have put into everything is exceptional from the beautiful room to the personalised note and chocolate you receive at turndown. The location was stunning from the habour foreshore to the gorgoeus surounding old houses. Highly recommend this hotel & town to visit on a trip to Maine! Can't wait to return and stay a lot longer.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

My husband and I had only one night to stay in Camden, and decided to stay at the Camden Harbour Inn. From the moment we pulled into the parking lot, it was a great experience. They have thought of all the little details, from having our luggage taken to our room while we were checking in, to having bottled water waiting for each of us on our nightstands at bedtime.The bed was SOOO comfortable. Loved the location, a short walk downtown. Beautiful views of the harbor from our room. The made to order included breakfast was delicious. Highly recommend this hotel ! Would stay again.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook, Maine
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

I recently booked a weekend getaway with the Camden Harbour Inn. Unfortunately, I had a death in my immediate family. I am appalled at the lack of compassion the Camden Harbour Inn staff displayed. We recieved no return of full or partial payment. They were unwilling to allow us a credit or reschedule of the weekend. I spoke only with the Inn's manager but also recieved no response when I sent an e-mail to the owners. Thank God the credit card company was able to work with me for compensation otherwise I would have been out $788.19

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIcamden, Owner at Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2010
As expressed in many phone conversations with you, we are truly sorry about the loss of your family member. As we explained in our conversations this reservation was not made directly at Camden Harbour Inn, but through an online travel agent.

We have spoken with the travel agent and they explained us that when you made the reservation, you were asked if you would like to add travel protection. For a small fee you were able to protect yourself for unforeseen circumstances including the tragic loss of a beloved one. Since the reservation was not made directly with us and you canceled hours before arrival there is little we can do.

I am glad that hear your credit card company reimbursed you. As I suggested in my email there is a possibility that your credit card account includes some kind of insurance protecting you against unforeseen circumstances.

As mentioned in our cancellation policies, when a last minute cancellation occurs we always try to resell the room. However guests remain responsible for the room if we are unable to sell and the deposit will be charged. When making a reservation through a travel agent different policies may apply.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

Camden Harbour Inn understands what luxury is all about. Greeted at the car by a friendly young man, luggage carried up to the room and a warm and efficient welcome by the innkeepers. Immediately you feel special and that feeling never leaves you. At Camden Harbour Inn they thought of everything. The rooms are out of a magazine with all the amenities you can imagine. The views are the best in Camden, overlooking the bay, harbor and mountains. So no wonder we ended up talking to some local people on the porch. They told us they came especially to the inn's restaurant to admire the sunset. Best beds, best breakfast, best personalized service, best everything ever. It was like a wonderful dream and like most wonderful dreams, you can't really explain it. You should stay at the inn to understand. We LOVED it, thank you Camden Harbour Inn.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn

Address: 83 Bayview Street, Camden, ME 04843
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais and Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn is a AAA Four Diamond property, resting on the picturesque coast of Maine. The hotel features panoramic views of the mountains and harbor, creating the perfect setting for your next New England getaway. The recently remodeled boutique hotel features luxurious guest rooms and suites, stunning views, and a restaurant awarded top 100 in America preparing amazing dishes, you'll never want to leave! Just minutes from the harbor landing in the center of town, the Inn is Camden's most luxurious boutique lodging location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden Harbour Hotel Camden
Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.