We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ice Cream Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Battie Take Out

Mount Battie Take Out
247 Belfast Raod, Camden, ME 04849
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 42 Restaurants in Camden
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Ice Cream Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We were vacationing in Lincolnville for a week and we passed Mt. Battie Takeout and decided to try it. Best decision we ever made. The ice cream was amazing; amazing price and amazing tasting. Definitely a bang for your buck. The people were nice as well. They gave our dog ice cream, for free I might add and it was a large amount of ice cream. Overall, the people were friendly, the price was right and the ice cream was the best we ever had. Would definitely recommend!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    14
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
P
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“O.k., not great. Staff rather rude.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stopped and got some ice cream. The ice cream was good, but a bit pricey. They do give you a large portion, but sometimes when you order a small, you want a small. And they have a rehearsed reply to any mention of cost- "well, order it in town and see how much it costs". We did actually order ice cream (at the Camden Cone) and it was a little bit better and better priced. We were then told (after we gave them our money), "you don't have to take the ice cream if you don't like the price". At that point, had I not had my five-year-old with me, I would have taken my money back and left. Needless to say, we did not return to try the food, as we had originally planned. All-in-all what it has going for it is that it is outside of Camden between Camden and Lincolnville near many of the cabin/cottage rentals.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Excellent snack stand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Stopped for ice cream and came back latter for seafood. Loved the fresh fried claims and lobster roll. So glad we stopped. The ice cream was great also, no soft serve. This is a side of the road drive up with picnic tables and chairs. Friendly owners who wanted to make sure everything was good. They checked with us many times, told us the claims had just been dug. This is not your fancy place, however the food could be better then what is served in the full services places on the waterfront. We will be back to this place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cold ice cream hit the spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Spent the morning hiking up Mt Battie at Camden State Park and then across the road wandered down to the sea shore. We ate a picnic lunch earlier but made a split decision to pull in and grab an ice cream cone for everyone. 3 generous cones (one was a double) for 10 bucks. I remembered the owner when I had stopped on a trip two years ago. He served the ice cream up with a thank you for your business. We will go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great haddock dinners and fresh lobster rolls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

While staying at the Lodge of Camden Hills,I found this drive-in. A great father/son team greet you with smiling faces and serve great haddock dinners and fresh lobster rolls. If driving north of Camden,Maine, this drive-in is a must.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Battie Take Out also viewed

 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Mount Battie Take Out? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Battie Take Out, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.