We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Long Grain

Long Grain
31 Elm St, Camden, ME 04843-1910
207-236-9001
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 46 restaurants in Camden
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
bow, nh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We so enjoyed our meal at Long Grain...THE best, the flavors were so fresh and bright, and it was a very fun evening. Definitely will go again when we return to Camden.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    117
    35
    17
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooksville, Maine
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Back again for more delicious Thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is at least our fourth visit to Long Grain. We recently had dinner at the bar and enjoyed the wonderful food and wine. Their wine list is very well chosen to go with the flavors and spices of the cuisine. I love the wide rice noodles with sauteed greens, mushrooms and tofu. It's just delectable! Reservations are a must. It's a small place and very popular.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bovina Center, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Lighten up girlie, you drove us away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

It's a real shame that you have to kowtow to the mannerisms of this young lady to eat the excellent food that is served here. What's up? Do you hate your job that much? If so, you should move on because you are doing a disservice to the owners & chef. (If you are an owner, shame on you.) We ate here a couple weeks ago and were delighted with the dishes we got, except the pho is $13.50... not that big... and even Masa Miyake in Portland (from Nobu in NYC among other places) is charging only $9.50 for his Pho. $14 for Pho at Ippudo is too much but at least you get a huge bowl of soup, not here. The flavours are delicate and delish but why should we be treated thusly? We went back for lunch a couple days ago and upon entering and discovering Her again, and this brusque manner, robotic & rude... it soured my stomach and we walked out the door. She had commanded us to sit at a table in the back when many tables up front were empty... she quickly ordered another couple to sit there as we left & they shuffled in like sheep. I simply could not go through being with her again, and this is something the owners should address. (who I think is the lovely Thai lady we talked to the other time?) We went around the corner and enjoyed pizza in a dump where the owner was pleasant and sweet and made us feel welcome. Look up the meaning of Hospitality......

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tellico Plains, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our lunch and dinner at Long Grain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Had a wonderful lunch and dinner here. It was outstanding and the atmosphere was amazing. A very eclectic crowd. A great location and a unique experience. Loved the mussels and pot stickers. And the crab fried rice was a real treat. Would go back.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice lunch, slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had heard great things about this restaurant and tried it for lunch. The menu was a bit limited, even for lunch. The food was good and attractively presented but nothing extraordinary. The service was rather slow. The wine and beer selection was good for a Thai restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Long Grain also viewed

Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Long Grain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Grain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.