We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Asian Cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Long Grain

Long Grain
31 Elm St, Camden, ME 04843-1910
207-236-9001
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 42 Restaurants in Camden
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Outstanding Asian Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

As vegetarians we are always looking for Asian restaurants with interesting menus. We found one! The food was unique and delicious. It’s also very popular so make a reservation early. We wandered in early to ask about later seatings and ended up with the last two available seats, at the bar. That turned out to be fun and our meal was amazing. Do note that the vegetarian offerings are somewhat limited.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    45
    17
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rockland, Maine
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Great food. Long Grain always has a Long wait for your food, serve so so, not sure why cause it's a small place. Pad Thia the BEST

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“wow- what a find!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Not recommended by anyone from the area or with our research before visiting Maine. We are from down under so have many thai, vietnamese etc restaurants to choose from that are excellent.
This was such a magic find! Small, intimate, but also casual - the food is exquisite; the waitress - only one!- busy but had an amazing memory, and the recommendations were just perfect.
The bonus is the food is inexpensive !
We returned for a second meal two nights later as we couldn't resist- waitress same and she remembered the food we had ordered plus the drinks as well. A true gem - we will return to this amazing little restaurant without a doubt and can unreservedly recommend it - that is if you love original thai food, in a relaxed cozy atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland, Maine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Food Great, [--] Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Had lunch at Long Grain today. Food was good, not as memorable as usual, but the service was lame. I'm a server and was sort of shocked at how the waitress interacted with our table. (Also, leggings aren't very professional, but that's just me...) Usually the food is amazing. Try the crab fried rice.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tall Timbers, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner, Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Very surprised to find the best Thai food that I've had in a long while, here in Maine. But that's what we found.

The service was equally excellent. For those who like beer or wine, the list is extensive. Especially, the beer list, which offered several local microbrews, along with the most comprehensive offering of asian brews that I have every seen.

The setting is very quaint, cozy, and intimate.

Highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Long Grain also viewed

Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Long Grain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Grain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.