We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are excellent, just need to sort out the breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Harbor Inn to your Saves list
Grand Harbor Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Bay View Landing, Camden, ME 04843   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Camden
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Windsor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Rooms are excellent, just need to sort out the breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

What you are getting at this place is a lovely room - exactly and only that. We had a small balcony with a view of the car park area, but actually that is fine. The room had two halves, one of which had a gas fireplace, so when the weather was bad it was great to sit there and read. However, depending on your definition or expectation, it is not really an 'Inn.' There are no 'public' areas except the entrance where there was a computer and a helpful receptionist. There is no bar or restaurant or spa. The price of the rooms (unless you are out of season) is high, so you should expect a breakfast. But this is where it all falls down a bit. The breakfast is from the bakery across the road and is brought to your room on a tray at a morning hour that you request. I cannot understand why they do this. There is nothing on the tray that is freshly cooked or baked that morning, and since you have a fridge, microwave and coffee machine in the room, what is it they are bringing that they could not have brought to you the evening before when they turned the beds down? Breakfast had juice, muffin, thermos of coffee, quiche and a yoghurt with slices of apple. Sliced apples go brown quickly, so if you get breakfast early they are fresh, but by 8 they are browning, so they are better off no putting apple slices on. The bakery has excellent bread and olive oil, but they do not bake it in the morning (or at least not in time for breakfast) and it would have cost $5 to change the items on the breakfast (although what to I am not sure as they don't have croissant or bread at that time in the morning anyway). They need to really sort this out. If the bakery cannot produce fresh produce in the morning, then stick to providing select items the evening before (it would save some of the staff costs of running around in the morning!) They might even entice other shops or restaurants to provide small items as tasters every now and then to show what they are capable of (if we are staying here we must have some spare cash and certainly nowhere to eat, so we should be a great target!) Most of all it would be great to get the bakery to show the residents what great bread it can make! Oh, and the yoghurt. It was vanilla flavoured and I think it was someone's pride and joy. But yoghurts in NE all have that long life custard look and feel. I think they all put in corn starch. Don't do it - they have such fabulous ingredients there, please someone in NE make some great yoghurt - Grand Harbor please lead the way! Sorry I went on a bit just over the breakfast as the rooms and staff and location was great, but it is this type of attention to detail that they must get right.

Room Tip: I think you get what you pay for, so if you want a great view of the harbour it will cost, but our r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsManager, General Manager at Grand Harbor Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear WithScruples,

Thank you for taking your time to provide a review of our Inn, as we greatly value all forms of feedback so that we may grow in a positive direction.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our Inn and the helpful desk staff. I am sorry to learn of your dissatisfaction with our breakfast however. We continually improve breakfast and will certainly take your comments into consideration as we grow. Our current breakfast consisting of yogurt and homemade granola parfait, fresh baked sweet pastry items and a savory slice of quiche which is prepared daily each morning prior to service as well as a selection of juices, coffees and teas is served in-suite as we are an Inn with a Bed and Breakfast design offering an intimate setting for travelers seeking calm and comfort. Fresh Bakery has partnered with us this past June and has already become a great hit within the community since its opening in May. They offer many samples of their breads and treats daily to the public and continue to expand their operation to now include artesian pizzas. We also know that there are many restaurants in town and utilize Camden's assets whenever possible to provide a community strong growth, so the "Good Start" Breakfast we serve we feel is the right start to the morning for guests who want something light and homey, or there are multiple options to dine within footsteps of our Inn for those who seek the larger breakfast service and our Guest Representatives are here to assist in recommendations.

Thank you once again for your review and your recent stay with us. We value you as a guest and will take all of your comments into consideration as we grow. We look forward to your return stay with us during your next visit to Midcoast, Maine.

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    18
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
28
182
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We spent a week touring the Maine coast, and only stayed one night here at the Grand Harbor.....big mistake, should have been longer! This is the nicest, most relaxing, beautiful place! We are already planning our next trip! We stayed in #11 and it was perfect! Very friendly staff too! It was a little piece of heaven!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sacramento, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This place is AMAZING!!!! My wife and I were in Room 1, WOW!!!!!!!!!!!! GREATEST VIEW and the room is outstanding, from top to bottom!! bathroom is AMAZING, 2 tvs, leather chair and ottoman, fridge, microwave I could go on and on!!!!
The girls who work here are OUTSTANDING!!!! They are VERY FRIENDLY and helpful!! It's hard to find a hotel that has such GREAT FRIENDLY PEOPLE!!!!
We WILL BE BACK next year and we are coming here to celebrate our 10th wedding anniv.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

A great location with great harbor views. It's just what you'd think New England would look like. Service is fabulous and the rooms are the best ever. We stayed in #3 which overlooked the harbor. It had a sitting room and large bedroom and bath. The fireplace even goes through to both rooms and there are two closets too. Parking is fine and the quaint town of Camden is right outside your door. This one is not to be missed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

After perusing reviews of many different hotels in the Midcoast area, we decided upon the Grand Harbor Inn for our honeymoon. And it was definitely the right choice! We were in room #2, which overlooks the Camden Harbor. It was spacious, clean, luxurious. The view is stunning. This inn was perfect for our honeymoon because it combined the charm of a B&B with the luxury of a resort. Every morning we got to put on our robes and eat breakfast on our balcony overlooking the harbor. The bathroom is quite large and includes a wonderful shower and jet tub. Upon our arrival, the staff had left a bottle of champagne and two chocolates for us with a congratulatory note. Oh, and we loved the gas fireplace!

Our only complaint is that they didn't always remember to leave the breakfast order form on our door handle, so some nights we had to call down and request it. Also, the fridge was stocked with bottled water only on the first night. Would have been nice to have some bottled water for the duration of our stay. Obviously these are minor complaints... no place is perfect.

All in all, this was an excellent experience, and we can't wait to return someday!

p.s. There is a schooner (name: Appledore) that docks right outside the Grand Harbor and offers 2 hr sailing trips. We went on one of these sails and LOVED it. One of the highlights of our trip.

Room Tip: We loved room #2 - overlooks the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Being a new hotel, it has all the goodies: surround shower, Keurig coffee maker, microwave, more light switches than my house, 2 TVs, and solid doors. Most importantly, you can get rooms with a suite-like setup: separate area for the couch, coffee, desk, and one TV. Very clean, very friendly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The weather did not cooperate on our trip to Maine, but we really didn't care because the room at the Inn was sooooo comfortable. The leather seating in the sitting room was some of the best I've sat in on a holiday. The little balcony had a covered section that was also very comfortable (wish I had gotten one of the great harbor views - we could only see the harbor off to the left. Our room faced shops and parking mostly). The single brew coffee maker in the rooms also made for nice afternoon tea. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the location is within walking distance to all of this little harbor town. It is the most expensive place in town, but it is the newest and probably the nicest.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the harbor. Otherwise you will listen to car doors opening and closing till all t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Harbor Inn

Address: 14 Bay View Landing, Camden, ME 04843
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Harbor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the beauty of Camden Harbor from the luxurious comfort of your waterfront suite at the Grand Harbor Inn, Camden’s newest and only luxury, waterfront boutique Inn. Recently awarded the coveted and prestigious AAA Four Diamond Rating, the Grand Harbor Inn’s enviable waterfront location, overlooking the marina of yachts and local fishing boats, provides the perfect haven for that needed escape or romantic getaway. Located at Bay View Landing, the Grand Harbor Inn is surrounded by a vibrant mix of unique shops, fine dining, and exciting schooner and kayak tours.The Grand Harbor Inn features several waterfront rooms and suites, offering guests unparalleled views of Camden Harbor and the islands of Penobscot Bay. Each guest room and suite is exquisitely well appointed with private balconies, gas fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs and separate marble and glass enclosed rain showers, high definition 37” LCD TV’s, high speed wireless internet, luxurious bed and bath linens, and so much more!The interior style of the Grand Harbor Inn is inspired by Tuscan Villas, evoking a rustic, old-world, warm and elegant feel combined with all the contemporary comforts and amenities that today's guests expect. The exterior is Coastal Cottage, shingle-style architecture, blending perfectly with the historic waterfront buildings on Camden Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Harbor Hotel Camden
Grand Harbor Inn Camden, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Harbor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.