We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy rooms with fireplace and view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Harbor Inn

Save Saved
You added Grand Harbor Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Harbor Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Bay View Landing, Camden, ME 04843   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Best Rate Guarantee!
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Camden
Beverly Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Cozy rooms with fireplace and view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011 via mobile

Can't say enough about the comfort and tasteful rooms in this new waterfront hotel in Camden. Fireplace was cozy even in August. Great location - walking distance to city dock and downtown restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    18
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
22
142
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I have stayed at many of the local upscale hotels in the Camden area and decided to try out the relatively new Grand Harbor Inn. For location it cannot be beat, with beautiful views of the harbor and centrally located to all shopping and restaurants in the area. The room was very tastefully furnished and the bed very comfortable. It is a small venue (only about 6 or so rooms I beleive), so that makes it also very private. The people working there are very nice and extremely attentive to your needs, questions, etc.

The Grand Harbor Inn is on the very upper price tier for hotel rooms, thus there comes an expectation level and comparison with similarily priced hotels/inns. A couple of quirks or tweeks needed, again given the price level. First I arrived and no where to park even though it says reserved parking for guest. I had to park elsewhere and then move my car later when shoppers/restaurant patrons finally left. Second, I could hear through the room walls the conversations of the people in the adjacent rooms - as in could hear the whole conversation. For this level of hotel there should be more sound proofiing in the walls. Third, the HVAC unit is one that kicks on and off to maintain the temperature, versus always running. For me, this type of system wakes me up a lot as it kicks on then goes quiet. Finally, there is an incredible shower system in the bathroom but he wate is set to not exceed 100 degrees. So you have warm showers that are about 10-15 degrees too cool. Upon mentioning this at check out, they said there is an safety override button somewhere on the system that allows hotter showers. I suggested that they print this in the bathrooms as I looked for such a override but could not find it.

Overall, great location, well-appointed rooms, unmatched harbor views, and they try very hard to address your needs. But is very expensive so they need to address these little issues that their competitors don't have.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, MI
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights during the Windjammer Festival and we were not the least bit disappointed. This place is extremely pricey but even trying to surprise my husband and work with the staff it was flawless and everyone I've dealt with has been fantastic. I didn't find it the least bit noisy except with the balcony doors open...which is to be expected. The rooms are sinfully lavish and comfortable and the amenities can't be beat. Our complaints are so minimal they're even kind of ridiculous. The beds are very comfortable and the bedding is very luxurious.

The first is you have all this coffee and tea at your fingertips but no stir sticks in the rooms. Second is the hot water. I'm assuming they're trying to save a bit of money or save someone from getting burned but they have it locked at 100 degrees..not even close to warm for me. I told you the complaints were borderline ridiculous.

We stayed in Room #2 and I honestly don't think there's a better room. If you're splurging to stay here, get a waterfront room, it's most definitely worth it. The breakfast was more than enough to fill us up and we even had enough left over to skip eating out for lunch one day.

I recommend Paolina's Way for fantastic pizza and tiramisu..but avoid the champagne cocktail. The best blueberry pie was found in the back cooler at French & Brawn (french market) but when it's gone, it's gone. We never made it to Bayview but the place was constantly packed so we can only assume it's good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsManager, General Manager at Grand Harbor Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind words and great review of our Inn! We always love hearing and learning about our guest experience during their stay with us.

I am happy to hear that we were able to assist in a flawless surprise to your husband and your enjoyment of our comfortable amenities and bedding.

Thank you for your recommendation of stir sticks to be placed in our guest rooms. We try to eliminate as much in-room waste whenever we can as part of a green initiative therefore we supply our amenity closets with silverware that we replenish daily or whenever requested but will kindly review this suggestion as we are forever reviewing and improving our guest experience. I’m sorry to learn of your water temperature experience as indeed our water temperature is set at 100 degrees per our safety standard, however, this is adjustable for each guest to set from there by pressing the lock/safety button and decreasing the water temperature as low as 86 degrees or increasing in upwards of 122 degrees.
I am glad to hear you enjoyed a few of many dining options within footsteps of our Inn during your stay with us as we take great pride in our location that we are able to offer our guests.

Thank you once again for your review our Inn. We look forward to welcoming you back to Grand Harbor Inn during your next adventure to Midcoast, Maine!

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We had an excellent stay at the Grand Harbor Inn. Our room was perfect, overlooking the harbor. Nothing can beat the continental breakfast on that beautiful deck. We could have easily parked our car and not moved it for the four days we were there. The location is convenient to the shopping area and plenty of excellent dining spots. Schooner rides and kayaking right outside our door. Did I mention our deck? So nice to sit and watch the osprey flying overhead or watching the boats coming in and out of the harbor. The staff was so accommodating and efficient.. Very helping with suggestions as to where to eat or sight see. The room was very clean and comfortable. The bed and pillows were very very comfortable. Plenty of plush towels. My husband and I look forward to returning to the Grand Harbor.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Grand Waterfront Suite. A spacious corner room with excellent view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Lovely hotel with a wonderful staff. Everyone was so accommodating. Had a waterfront grand suite which was beautiful, comfortable, with a fabulous view. It was high season so rates are high but we thoroughly enjoyed it. Would love to go back!

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 5 are grand suites and worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

The Grand Harbor Inn isn't cheap, but it is an extremely lovely inn in an idyllic setting. It's worth the splurge. Service upon check-in was warm, friendly, speedy -- and included Prosecco! The room (a small suite) was very well appointed. Our room had a small deck that provided an unrivaled view of the harbor. Aside from 2 or 3 others rooms in the same inn, I can't imagine there is a better view from a hotel room in Camden. Breakfast delivered en suite, and enjoyed on the deck, was the crowning touch. You can certainly pay less for a room in Camden, but if you want a special experience, The Grand Harbor Inn is worth the extra few hundred dollars.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsManager, General Manager at Grand Harbor Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
I would like to take the time to personally thank you for writing a review of our Inn. I am happy to learn of your recent stay with us and more so of some of the service elements you enjoyed. We have made many improvements to our guest experience for our 2011 year; our check-in experience and in suite breakfast were two of the top items we fine tuned adding a Prosecco welcome amenity and creating a well balanced “Good Start” breakfast with options. We feel extremely lucky to be able to share with our guests the “on harbor” views of Camden, Maine from our picturesque guest room balconies. In the end we hope to capture and share with our guests the beauty of Camden in its finest.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Grand Harbor Inn during your next Midcoast, Maine adventure!

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We spent three days in July at the Grand Harbor Inn in Camden. The hotel is on the harbor, and we were able to watch boats from our bed or from our balcony right above the dock. We walked to nearby restaurants and went out on a two-hour tour on the Schooner Olad. We spent most of our time in our room, though, enjoying the view and the many amenities. We appreciated the delicious in-room breakfast, the comfortable bed and the convenient refrigerator and microwave. This was our second trip to Camden; last Thanksgiving we stayed at Grand Harbor Inn’s sister hotel, the Lord Camden Inn. The service is excellent at both hotels. At check-in and during our stay this time Briana and Nicole were so helpful. We hope to return at Thanksgiving, not just because of the location and the beautiful room, but because of the outstanding staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Harbor Inn

Address: 14 Bay View Landing, Camden, ME 04843
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Harbor Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the beauty of Camden Harbor from the luxurious comfort of your waterfront suite at the Grand Harbor Inn, Camden’s newest and only luxury, waterfront boutique Inn. Recently awarded the coveted and prestigious AAA Four Diamond Rating, the Grand Harbor Inn’s enviable waterfront location, overlooking the marina of yachts and local fishing boats, provides the perfect haven for that needed escape or romantic getaway. Located at Bay View Landing, the Grand Harbor Inn is surrounded by a vibrant mix of unique shops, fine dining, and exciting schooner and kayak tours.The Grand Harbor Inn features several waterfront rooms and suites, offering guests unparalleled views of Camden Harbor and the islands of Penobscot Bay. Each guest room and suite is exquisitely well appointed with private balconies, gas fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs and separate marble and glass enclosed rain showers, high definition 37” LCD TV’s, high speed wireless internet, luxurious bed and bath linens, and so much more!The interior style of the Grand Harbor Inn is inspired by Tuscan Villas, evoking a rustic, old-world, warm and elegant feel combined with all the contemporary comforts and amenities that today's guests expect. The exterior is Coastal Cottage, shingle-style architecture, blending perfectly with the historic waterfront buildings on Camden Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Grand Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Harbor Hotel Camden
Grand Harbor Inn Camden, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Harbor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.