We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Spot for Our Wedding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whitehall Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Whitehall Inn to your Saves list
Whitehall Inn
52 High Street, Camden, ME 04843   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 20 Camden B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Perfect Spot for Our Wedding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

When we got engaged we knew the Whitehall would be the perfect place to have our wedding. We envisioned all of our friends and family sitting on the porch sipping cocktails, walking into Camden center to shop and dine, hiking Mount Battie and possibly sailing on a schooner. We felt confident that the reception would go off without a hitch and the food would be good.
Well....our wedding weekend turned out to be better than we could ever have imagined. Rebecca and Russ treated our guests to a wonderful experience. The inn is lovely. The beds are SO comfortable. The breakfast was outstanding. The dinner at our reception was amazing, many guests said it was the best filet they had ever had! We loved walking downstairs and seeing everyone hanging out in the lobby, or chatting on the porches. Everyone who works at the inn was so helpful and friendly with our rowdy crowd! Zeus, the inn's mascot, was so patient with all the kids petting him and walking over him!
The best part about the wedding was that when we first visited the Whitehall and spoke to Rebecca, she told us not to worry about anything, they would take care of it all...she was right. We didn't have to worry at all. We will be visiting the inn very soon!!! Thanks Rebecca, Russ and EVERYONE who works at The Whitehall.
Sarah & Mike

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    58
    15
    8
    6
See reviews for
66
159
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gladwyne, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We returned to the Whitehall Inn again this year as the first part of our vacation to the coast of Maine. The inn is traditional and charming, with a large front porch and an entire first floor of common areas. Breakfast was included in our rate. It was a weekend, and we able to either choose from the menu or the buffet. The inn is walking distance to the center of Camden, which is probably the most charming village on the coast of Maine. The rooms at the Whitehall Inn vary greatly but you can see the room, bathroom, and rate on the website and choose accordingly. If you can stay midweek the rates will be lower. Both this year and last year there were weddings at the Inn during our stay but there was absolutely no problem with noise. In fact, the music had to stop very early in the evening, around 9 PM.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watseka, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We spent a wonderful 4 nights at this charming inn just outside of downtown Camden. My first Inn experience and cannot say enough about the Innkeepers and staff that made our stay such a great experience. Rebecca and Russ were always there to share stories about this 100 year old gem, offer suggestions for sightseeing,hiking and more.
Our room was on the second of 3 floors and had a clawfoot tub with shower and while fine for us there are rooms with walkin showers if you prefer. Hairdryers are in the room and wifi is good and free. A small flatscreen tv is wall mounted and there is a ceiling fan over the bed. With 40 rooms of various shapes and sizes there is something for everyone.
What really makes this inn shine however is the superb staff-always a smile, hard working and caring about their guests.
Breakfast is included and you not only have a daily buffet to choose from, but you can order off the menu too. Blueberry pancakes, granola,eggs benedict were all excellent. And certainly don't pass up the chance to eat dinner here. They have a great creative chef and a variety of local foods on the menu. Delicious!
Take time to relax in a comfortable rocker on their expansive front porch or read a book inside on a couch surrounded by interesting memorabilia.
Stay here if you get the chance, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, NH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Our daughter was married last week and we held her reception at the Whitehall. From the beginning, Rebecca and the staff at the Inn were a joy to work with! Right from the first email contact, I was made to feel comfortable and confident. Their communications were prompt, detailed and informative. This place is professional, yet personal, warm and caring. Our whole family spent a night there and had the amazing, inclusive breakfast in the morning. The food, in general was very good. Rooms were nicely appointed, clean and comfortable. It is an older building, but has much charm and a relaxing feel. Though there are claw foot tubs in many rooms with a curtain shower hung around, the shower heads are powerful- awesome shower! Any requests we had were met immediately with a friendly spirit. I highly recommend them for any function or event! Thank you to the staff at the Whitehall- working together, you truly made our daughters day a special and memorable one!
~Steve & Debra Holmes
Alton, NH

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Whitehall Inn. The room was perfect and very nice. The location is a short walk from the center of Camden where we went for dinner. Be sure to have time to sit on the porch and enjoy a beverage.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Whitehall Inn. The location is a quick walk from the center of Camden and the inn itself is simply lovely. Breakfast was delicious. We stayed on the second floor, which was quieter than the first floor. (Beware: there's not a lot of insulation in the walls between rooms.) The bathroom had a standalone tub and faucets with separate hot and cold taps. The staff was very friendly and made us feel welcome. Overall, a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the ground floor rooms near the staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

This is the very Inn where Edna St. Vincent Millay entered the limelight. This place has a lot of character. The staff was very accommodating and made us welcome. The rooms were very charming, however charm has its price; separate cold and warm faucets, old windows, noisy A/C, etc. The beds were very clean and comfortable. We had a light Dinner at the Restaurant, it was delicious and again the service was very good. Our breakfast was excellent, all freshly cooked and served in proper dishes. We met about four different staff members, they were all a dream for any Innkeeper. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whitehall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitehall Inn

Address: 52 High Street, Camden, ME 04843
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic and historic inn since 1901. The perfect blending of today's modern amenities with the charm and grace of a by-gone era. The inn has been featured in two movies and is where Edna St. Vincent Millay, on of America's most beloved poets, was discovered in 1912. Our spacious lobby and porches provide for pure relaxation. World class dinning in our restaurant and bar. Walk to Maine's most beautiful harbor and shopping. Comfy beds, flat screen TV's, guest computers. Our full menu breakfast, WIFI and parking included with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Whitehall Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitehall Hotel Camden
Whitehall Inn Camden, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitehall Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.