We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Tide Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Camden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
High Tide Inn
Save
You added High Tide Inn to your Saves list
505 Belfast Road, Camden, ME 04843   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Nice Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We called many hotels when driving in to the Camden area, and got a room at the Inn. We were expecting a roadside motel. When we drove up, that's what we saw and the room we got. Very simple, but very clean rooms. Quiet and peaceful property. The surprise was seeing the property that opened up to a beautiful lawn overlooking the water. This motel is the closest thing to a B&B. We woke the next morning, although beds could be a bit more comfortable, to a fabulous home cooked, baked goods breakfast with coffee, juice, fruit, and jams. The warm popovers, coconut muffins, breads, etc were to die for. Jo was an incredible hostess and baker. She shared many ideas with us for outings in the area which proved to be spectacular. We enjoyed the motel and area (very close to Camden, Rockport, Lincoln, Rockland, and Mt Battie) so much that we booked a second night. A definite stop and a gem in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    48
    14
    6
    0
See reviews for
45
82
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Delaware, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We picked the High Tide Inn after reading good reviews and it lived up to all of them. Room was clean and comfortable. The freshly baked muffins were the best. The beach was gorgeous! The staff/owner were super nice. It has the social B&B feel with the privacy of a motel.

This is a must stop for us on our next trip to Acadia.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madri
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our ocean view room but the other room we rented for my best friend had issues with the maintenance guy hammering away and playing music at 8am in the morning on a Sunday. They could have chosen an appropriate time for this when you are paying 140 bucks for a room.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This was our 1st trip to the Maine coast and we found everything we were looking for at the High Tide Inn. The area is amazing. The facilities were perfect for the laid back environment we wanted. Jo and the staff were outstanding. This is a great place at a great value. Will com back again.

Room Tip: Fresh baked popovers every morning are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We rented cabin #2, a second floor kitchenette with small balcony and partial view of the water.
The cabin is set back 200 yards from the water so the view is a bit restricted. The furnishings are basic, a bit old, the stairs are narrow and steep, and the wifi doesn't work except in the main building. The staff were pleasant and helpful. It's located about 2 miles from Camden and the traffic going into Camden was always backed up a half-mile or more, so allow 15-20 minutes in the summer to get downtown. High Tide was very quiet. We would stay there again but not with enthusiasm.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, CT
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

If you’re looking for luxurious accommodations, keep looking. But if you want a clean, comfortable room with a friendly and accommodating staff, you’ve come to the right place. We recently stayed for four nights in one of the duplex units and were very happy. There are two of these and ours had the king bed as opposed to twin beds in the other. The grounds are well maintained and the view of the ocean from our unit was very fine. The shortcomings were minor: a too small bathroom sink, the same kind of muffins and popovers every morning, no internet access except in the main building and the need to drive into Camden (2.5 miles). There was no a/c, but luckily, we didn't need one as temperatures were cool. We would willingly stay there again.

Room Tip: Check the weather, there was no a/c and we had one of the better rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Only stayed on night but we loved it. We stayed in room #3 which is in a building with 3 rooms. Found it CLEAN, quiet & peaceful. Would like to have tried a cabin but booked too late. The service was exemplary. Both Michael who checked us in and owner Jo are super friendly. The baked goods Jo made in the morning were delicious as was the coffee! There is nothing in the description that isn't true. Some things may be dated, but they are clean and well kept. The glassed in porch provides a wonderful view and place to relax. It sits way back off the road so it's quiet no matter where you are. The 300 feet of beach is beautiful I will recommend the place and will likely go back myself.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to High Tide Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Tide Inn

Address: 505 Belfast Road, Camden, ME 04843
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Camden
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
High Tide Inn Camden, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Tide Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.