We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camden Hills State Park

Camden Hills State Park
280 Belfast Road, Camden, ME 04843
207-236-3109
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 14 attractions in Camden
Type: State Parks
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Thirty miles of hiking trails keep the staunchest hiker trekking along.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Mt. Battie was a fabulous place to view the entire coastline. Could see Bar Harbor and many islands from there. The hiking was a little intense for one my age, but it was a great time of the year and the weather is warm. Be careful not to start on the hiking trails too late if you are there in autumn. It gets dark very quickly.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    51
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We drove to the top of Mt Battie and the views from here were spectacular. The park also offers numerous woodland trails. Our 2-year old loved collecting the acorns and fir cones on the ground as well as looking out for the many chipmunks.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I spent a good part of a day here in late September. I drove up Mt Battie and enjoyed the views from there, after which I hit the trails and ended up taking one of the more difficult ones up to Ocean View Lookout, which at 1300 ft is actually higher than Mt Battie. The trails are well-marked, with rocks having been placed along the way for footing(though on a wet or rainy day some of the rocks might get a bit slippery, I'd guess). There are trails for hikers of all abilities, from easy to quite challenging, and the views of Camden and the ocean beyond from many points in the park are outstanding. Another good thing about the park is that when you leave you can go just a couple of minutes down the road and be in downtown Camden, which is a great place for walking around, with plenty of restaurants, stores, etc for those looking for such things.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, NC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Don't miss This!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

During a recent visit to Camden, we had planned to take a Day Trip to Acadia National Park. Sadly, we realized the government shutdown would make that impossible. Our Innkeeper suggested we might enjoy Camden Hills State Park instead. What a treat and we didn't have to spend a long day driving. Just missed having Tea & Popovers at Jordan Pond! That is the only thing that could have made it more enjoyable. The view is spectacular from the top! Don't miss this, to enjoy the full beauty of the Camden area.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAMBERTVILLE
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful Campground”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were tent campers here, at the end of the 2013 season, but even then the campground was full.
Tent spaces without hook ups were very well space. There were water faucets located close to the sites.
Tent pads were a bit hard as they were packed pit gravel
Bath houses were spacious and very clean.
The park is divided into 2 sections by the road. The water front part does not have any actual ocean access, but many picnic tables along a trail that runs along the water.
Mt Battie and the campground are on the inland part of the park.
All very well maintained beautiful.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camden Hills State Park also viewed

 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Camden Hills State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camden Hills State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Camden Hills State Park to your Saves list