We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Fine Dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hartstone Inn

Hartstone Inn
41 Elm Street, Camden, ME 04843
+1 207-236-4259
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hartstone Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 42 Restaurants in Camden
Price range: $9 - $48
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between Washington St. and Free St.
Description: Butter poached Maine lobster over angel hair, Pistachio Crusted Lamb chops, Seared Diver Scallops and Grilled Salmon Nicoise are just a sample of what diners might experience at the Hartstone Inn. Steps from Camden harbor, Fodor's considers the Hartstone Inn "An elegant and sophisticated retreat and culinary destination offering a unique experience in pampered luxury." Choose from our ala carte menu which rotates weekly or our 5-course tasting menu ($48.50). With advanced notice we are happy to accommodate allergies or dislikes and create a menu especially for you. Our cellar list offers a selection of 150 bottles, starting at $24, and lauded by Wine Specatator. Proud recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award and the American Culinary Federation Achievement of Excellence award.
Indialantic, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Affordable Fine Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We chose the two-course, 6 PM seating, for $24.50 each and had plenty to eat. The mushroom soup and crab-panini appetizer was excellent. We then selected the stuffed lobster dinner for an extra $5 each, well worth it. Even after adding $5 each for dessert, a rich chocolate ganache tart and the sorbet trio with fruit, the price was still quite reasonable. The bottom line was excellent food, competent, friendly service and the overall feeling of a fine dinner out.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    41
    17
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Hartstone Inn is a very beautiful B&B. The owners and staff were very accommodating, friendly and helpful. We decided in the afternoon to reserve for that evening's five course dinner. Thank goodness they still had room for us because we could not have been more pleased with our meal. It was a wonderful fine dining experience. The food was delicious. The service was excellent. Thank you! When we return to Camden, we will return to the Hartstone.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley on Thames
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“good but A bit pretentious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Gets good reviews and it is a very nice restaurant but not a lot of atmosphere and servers who give the impression that you should be very grateful to be there. You get a fixed meal which changes on each day of the week so book your night according to the meal you would most enjoy. 170 for two, five course meal, cocktail and wine including tip. very good food beautifully presented and we thought well priced but we wouldn't go back because it wasn't fun!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“This is for foodies!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We had a very nice five course, set menu dinner. Wine menu and service were equal to any 5 star restaurant. The wait staff was friendly, unobtrusive, and knowledgeable. Great for a special occasion. I like the fact that the chef publishes his menu online in advance, so you have the option to select either the Friday or Saturday night menu. He also has an early seating with fewer courses.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Try the early seating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Now offering an early seating for dinner at a reduced price and menu choice. We ate there two weeks ago and are going back again this week. Service is great and food is terrific. Eat a 6:00 pm and enjoy the rest of the evening. A new bar has been added with what ever you want. Tis is the best value in the area. Fine dining at a bargain price. You wont be disapointed

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hartstone Inn also viewed

 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Hartstone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hartstone Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.