We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to sleep” 3 of 5 stars
Review of International Motel

International Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Calais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
International Motel
Save
You added International Motel to your Saves list
276 Main St., Calais, ME   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calais
Summerside
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A place to sleep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here on October 4th as we were tired and desperate for a place to sleep. Well the guy at the desk charged us way more than what we paid in Bangor saying that it's high season. We get to our room with all the walls done in dark brown panneling. Place needs a major facelift. The bathroom has a stand up shower in lime green and black. The sink and toilet are done in peach. Don't put any pressure on the sink as it moves away from the wall. I will say the beds were very comfortable. I guess I would have to say that if we had a choice, we would not return but if we were desperate again, we would consider it, only because of the bed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    22
    22
    8
    11
See reviews for
12
30
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had a large ,nicely clean furnished room with a lovely view.. There is a walking path along the river right in front of the property. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The adjacent restaurant had great food at very affordable prices.

Room Tip: Be sure to have river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, ME
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is a clean, quiet, basic motel only a short drive to the border. Restaurants are a few minutes away. Walking distance to the bridge into St. Stephen. Nothing fancy but quite adequate as a stopover on the way from Bangor to Saint John.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, MA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

My husband and I spent the night here while we were on our way to Canada. The room was clean. The only bad things I have to say is there were 2 full size beds in the room, which meant that we did not sleep in the same bed. And the towels were NOT soft!!
We only slept there, but we would go back there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here as a stop over on our way to PEI. The hotel is a little dated but so what. Our room was a king room in the River view section. It was spacious for us two. Everything was quiet, clean, and comfortable. There was a coffee pot and microwave in our room. The bed was comfortable. The heat is a baseboard heat so it takes a little bit of time to warm up the room. The water takes a few minutes to get hot but when it does it's HOT! Our room had a desk and a Samsung flat screen TV. There is a flight of stairs to get down to the king rooms in the River view section. We didn't have a problem with the price because most hotels we've ever stayed at have been $100+. Also it's locally owned and that helps this cute little town survive. The man at front desk was helpful. He gave us recommendations on eating and also allowed us to see the room before we paid. We enjoyed our stay and would stay again! As for the area it is small and cute. There is a very nice visitors center down the street with a very pleasant staff. It can also be reached by taking the convenient walking path in front of the hotel beside the river. Also we went to Yancey's restaurant and we recommend the pizza or Stromboli.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Not really high class, but a good spot to stop for the night. Nice, clean, bright, very reasonable price

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Everything you want from a motel - fairly cheap, clean, comfy beds, TV and coffee maker, friendly and helpful front desk staff.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to International Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Motel

Address: 276 Main St., Calais, ME
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Calais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calais
Number of rooms: 61
Also Known As:
International Motel Calais, Maine
International Hotel Calais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage International Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.