We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold Food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Yancy's Restaurant

Yancy's Restaurant
9 Lowell St, Calais, ME 04619-1712
207-454-8200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 24 Restaurants in Calais
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bangor, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cold Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Wierd staff, everyone coughing, long wait to be served, long wait until meal arrived, cold food. Great sweet spicey chille wings! BUT get them to go!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Besides the place looking great on the inside, the food tasted great as well. Averagely priced.

The only thing that could have been better was that the appetizer came with the meal rather than before.

Food was very hot and came out very fast. This place was a pleasant find.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hometown Comfort Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Dined solo at Yancy's tonight after a yen for comfort food drove me out of the house and away from my bare cupboards. I hit a home run with Yancy's and their meatloaf. Carrots were a little overdone, but the rest was great - better than Mom's, but don't tell her. Service was attentive but not overbearing, and the atmosphere was easy and friendly. Good choice for a casual dinner out with no muss, no fuss.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover Foxcroft, Maine
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Reliable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Great boneless chicken w/sweet chili sauce and pizza always good. We were perplexed to find the new building so small, It has a crowded atmosphere. We have only ever had bad service one time in this new location.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Maine
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had a wonderful lunch at Yancy's. the food was delicious, the service was excellent. It is head and shoulders above all of the other sit-down restaurant in Calais.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yancy's Restaurant also viewed

Calais, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Calais, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Calais, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Calais, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Yancy's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yancy's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.