We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ultimate lunch stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carrier's Mainely Lobster

Carrier's Mainely Lobster
10 State Rte 46, Bucksport, ME 04416
+1 207-469-1011
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Bucksport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Hamburgers, Ice Cream
Description: Carriers Mainely Lobster is a a family owned business specializing in seafood, burgers, sandwiches, fresh fish, and ice cream (hard serve and soft serve). We are a casual take-out or eat-in restaurant, renowned for Fresh seafood and excellent service! After 16 years in the fishing industry, BJ Carrier decided to start his own restaurant with his wife, Tory. Renowned for Fresh seafood and excellent service! Carrier's Mainely Restaurant was rewarded with the Bucksport Chamber of Commerce's "New Business of the Year!" We must be doing something right!
Restaurant details
Description: Carriers Mainely Lobster is a a family owned business specializing in seafood, burgers, sandwiches, fresh fish, and ice cream (hard serve and soft serve). We are a casual take-out or eat-in restaurant, renowned for Fresh seafood and excellent service! After 16 years in the fishing industry, BJ Carrier decided to start his own restaurant with his wife, Tory. Renowned for Fresh seafood and excellent service! Carrier's Mainely Restaurant was rewarded with the Bucksport Chamber of Commerce's "New Business of the Year!" We must be doing something right!
Bucksport, Maine
1 review
“The ultimate lunch stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Me and my husband live in Bucksport and love Carrier's for a few reasons, first of all they hire and support local highschool students, and teach them the value of working and having a good experience doing so. Second the food is fresh, you are not getting fish that comes on a sysco truck from who knows ware, and the prices are great for fresh fish and seafood. Thirdly, they know who you are once you go there a few times, they are always polite and courteous, will even bring your to go order to your car if they are not to busy. The other reason we love this place is the lunch specials, you can not get a better lunch within 20 miles, always hot cooked well and super cheap prices. D.J. and his crew deserve a round of applause and to be recognized by more than just the town, I have lived all over the eastern and mid-Atlantic states, and I have never had such a wonderful experience as I have here. So way to go Carrier's!!! :D

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bj C, Owner at Carrier's Mainely Lobster, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thanks so much love to hear we are making you happy in every way. I love what I do teaching our youth work ethics and respect, it is the high light of my job. Also fresh is all I can do because I want it right every time. Thanks so much can't wait to see you in the spring, and love seeing everyone everyday . I miss it already. Thank you so much from the bottom of my heart for your support and lovely words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    12
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Verona Island, Maine
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Bucksport's Most Popular Take Out or Eat In”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

They always have competitive prices on lobster and will cook your entire order for very small fee. They also pack them in containers that will keep them hot to take on a picnic or to the lake camp. They also have an eat in area that's always very clean and neat. It's a very popular place for the high school kids as well as their parents and grandparents.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bj C, Owner at Carrier's Mainely Lobster, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thanks so much great to hear from you , see you in the spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucksport, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quality has gone downhill since they opened.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I'm a local Bucksport resident and try to support my local businesses. I've been to Carrier's before. We have a friend from overseas staying with us for three months. He loves fish and chip. I told him that we have the world's best fish and chips right here in Bucksport. When they first opened you got a whopper of a piece of haddock and hand cut fries that looked hand cut with no uniformity in size. All was well cooked and nothing was dripping of grease like some establishments offer. Once a week they even offer "all you can eat fish and chips!"
I don't know if they have changed owners or what has happened. I ordered two orders of fish and chips with tap water. When the food was brought to the table, I said to the girl, "I ordered the fish and chips." She said, "This is the fish and chips." There was a bed of uniformly cut french fries and on the fries were some little round "balls" of fish. Before the woman left our table I asked what the $1.50 charge on my bill was for. I asked "Is it tax?" She said, "No that is for your waters." I said, "You charge for tap water?" She said, "Yes."
The food was lack luster in quality from what it had been and charging for tap water adds insult to injury. I'm sorry to have to submit such a disappointing review but, I have no intention of returning to Carriers.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bj C, Owner at Carrier's Mainely Lobster, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
I am very sorry for your recent stop at carriers. We do still have all you can eat haddock every Friday night, and it is a big piece of fresh haddock. We also have not started charging for water, unless it is bottled. I am very upset that you experience was less then expected. My name is bj the owner and if you have any thing like this happen again i would like you to ask for me so i can fix any problems. Also concerned about the water, if you contact me i can get you a full refund. Should not have happened and for that i am sorry, hopefully we will get another chance to make you happy, by seeing you next summer.Thousands of people visit us from all over the world and local alike and leave smiling and very happy.I want that for every person that enters my place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Terrific lobster - perfectly cooked and served outside on the picnic tables. Enjoyed the coleslaw too - not too much mayo on it. The staff were helpful and so kind. Yummy ice cream too!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bj C, Owner at Carrier's Mainely Lobster, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Love hearing good word thanks so much, your business is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Texoma
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great lobsters cheap beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Were tired of coleslaw and fries and so just ordered lobstah - 2 one-and-a-half pounders for $19. Such a good price, we both ate two. Very good. Beer was 4 for $11 - can't beat that around here.
Owner gave us a short tour of the lobster tanks and provided some lessons in lobstering which was great for us Texans.
Loved the photo art work in the restaurant by lobster fisherman Julie Eaton outa Stonington.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bj C, Owner at Carrier's Mainely Lobster, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Were else can you have cheap ~good~ lobsta and good beer. Thanks for the good words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carrier's Mainely Lobster also viewed

Bucksport, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bucksport, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bucksport, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Carrier's Mainely Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carrier's Mainely Lobster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.