We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cross between a b&b and a motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   199 Pleasant St., Brunswick, ME 04011   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hockessin, Delaware
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Nice cross between a b&b and a motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

This Comfort Inn is a bit different. It reminded me more of a bed & breakfast in its construction but it was a motel. We asked for a quiet room and we got one that was very quiet. The room furnishings were just a tad on the spartan side but overall, they were acceptable. It was obvious they try very hard to provide a "country inn" type of atmosphere and they didn't do a bad job at that. They also serve an adequate breakfast in a small but comfortable breakfast room. Their internet services left something to be desired. I had difficulty in connecting which took a bridge adaptor to cure-- never has happened to me in the many other hotels I've stayed in. It took me over 30 minutes to fix the problem but I finally did get connected. The hotel was located right off a highway and next to a car dealer (not very attractive in terms of the grounds surrounding the hotel). However, it was fairly close to restaurants and the downtown area of Brunswick. The price for a night's lodging was definitely a good value with an AAA discount. If I was visiting Brunswick for a day or two, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    74
    29
    4
    5
See reviews for
57
66
8
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

This was a good place to stay for one night on our way down the coast of Maine on our tour of New England. It was a good stay for the money. There are no restaurants except McDonalds close to the hotel so if you want a nice meal you have to travel anywhere from 10-20 miles.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

This is a nice hotel - we were quite happy with everything until the party started in the next room, and across the hall with doors banging, loud talking, and somebody with a very bad cough. We tried to sleep, but we could hear almost everything that was being said next door. After a phone call to the front desk, we were able to move to a quieter room upstairs.
No fault of the hotel staff - it was very unfortunate that we were placed in that particular room.
The breakfast area is very small, and the morning we were there was very crowded and hot.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

After a long day of driving from northern Maine, we decided to look for a hotel north of Portland. I went online and started looking for a hotel along the coast. Because of the time of year and the rates still so high, we started to read the reviews from TripAdvisor to find a room. When we found the Comfort Inn in Brunswick, we could not have been happier. We did not want to be on the water, but liked the idea that we were close enough to Freeport that we could go and eat at one of their wonderful restaurants and of course, go to LL Bean! The staff was so courteous when I called to reserve the room, and again as I had to call back to get the exit #. The rooms were large and clean and we were on the back side of the hotel, which was much more quiet being away from the main road. The breakfast was filling, although there is only 1 waffle maker and the line was very long. The coffee definitely was lacking taste! But, overall, this was a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

I had never read such great reviews for a value priced hotel, so we gave it a try. We loved it. I was so impressed by the service--they really went out of their way to help everyone who walked in the door, even after they booked up for the night. The hotel was full, but somehow stayed quiet and peaceful. The room was a bit small, but the bedding was very comfortable. The free continental breakfast was nice--waffles, bagels, pastries, yogurt, cereal, juices and coffee. You could even heat up sausage and egg in the microwave for a sandwich. The staff kept everything stocked, and the breakfast room was pleasant and comfotable. It was an unexpectedly nice stay at a good price.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

This is our second time to stay at this hotel. It is above average Comfort Inn with very nice grounds and a good location, the a few miles from L.L. Bean in Freeport. The staff was great. We got better treatment by the staff than we have received at many "top of the line" hotels. We stayed there on June 10. We flew into Portland and rented a car and drove to Brunswick with some friends. Our flight was a little late and we did not get to the hotel until almost 10:00p.m. On the flight we talked about getting a lobster roll once we got to Maine. But it was late and we probably were out of luck. I mentioned the lobster roll to the manager of the hotel, Rebecca. She said "Let me called around". No place was still serving that late, but Rebecca was persistent and wanted to make sure we had a lobster roll before the night was over. She talked one of the local resturants, Joshua's Tavern, that had a late night menu, but who did not have the lobster roll on the late night menu to make lobster rolls for us. She called to our room to let me know she had made the arrangements. So, at 11:00 p.m. that we are sitting in the restaurant eating lobster rolls. She did not have to go the extra mile, but she did and did it with a smile. You just can't beat service land attention ike that. That and the fact that the hotel is clean, neat and comfortable make it a great place to stay in my book.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

This is a very nice place to stay while in the Brunswick area. It's a typical well-run Comfort Inn hotel, but with more character. The building itself doesn't say generic hotel, but has an almost B&B look to it. We had a front corner room with a view of the road, but we did not hear any road noise. The morning buffet was well-stocked with food with a very attentive attendant making sure everything stocked and the tables cleaned. The hotel was full the night we stayed, but we did not hear any other guests.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 199 Pleasant St., Brunswick, ME 04011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Brunswick
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Comfort Inn, Brunswick we constantly strive to improve your "home-away-from-home" experience. In our opinion a hotel should be clean, it should be comfortable, and you should feel welcome. Your experience begins the moment you turn into our driveway and see a beautifully landscaped property. Walk into our newly renovated lobby and be greeted by a staff that prides itself on welcoming guests. When you are ready, make your way to your room where you will find a very cozy bed, and all of the amenities to make you feel at home. Trust that your room has not only been cleaned, but that it has passed our inspection process. Visit the front desk for recommendations not only for places to eat, but to visit as well. In the morning, after you have slept comfortably please enjoy our brand new hot breakfast. We are proud to serve you hot eggs and breakfast meats, make-your-own waffles, fresh fruit and other goodies! Remember, at the Comfort Inn, Brunswick comfort begins the moment you walk in our doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Brunswick
Comfort Inn Brunswick, Maine
Brunswick Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.