We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food with Bar Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joshua's Restaurant & Tavern

Joshua's Restaurant & Tavern
123 Maine St Ste A, Brunswick, ME 04011-2009
(207) 725-7981
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 98 restaurants in Brunswick
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Sandown, New Hampshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food with Bar Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We have taken my grandmother their for lunch. They are very accommodating with her wheelchair, but we have to go in through the backdoor which takes us first through the smoking area outside. The food has always been good and the service is very good. It is a very casual bar atmosphere. We have been there approximately six times and always the same good food and service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    26
    26
    16
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Awesome spot specially if traveling alone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

The food at Joshua's Tavern is excellent and the atmosphere is just as good. I had salad and a pizza. The pizza was among the best I have eaten. I splurged on dessert and that was great as well. The best was the bar company if traveling alone. The bar is filled with locals that represent what Maine is all about.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Lobster Stew is to the BEST!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I've tried a lot of Lobster stew/bisque up and down the east coast, but this stuff was excellent. I had big bowl and a few beers. Not sure of anything else on the menu but it's worth it just to go for the Lobster Stew!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Was written off but that has changed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My wife and I had been to Joshua's in the past and did not enjoy our last visit. However, last night onFriday we thought we might try it again since hearing there were some changes going in. I have to say that we were pleasantly surpried to say the least! We come in what seemed to be the hight of a dinner crowd and we were seated by a pleasant younge lady, named Davielle. While we saw that the whole was packed the serves, food and new look from what we were told was a breath of fresh air. I, myself had the haddock and clam special, which our waitress recommanded and my wife had a burger. We started with crab cakes, which were the best we have had in some time. (Another item Davielle recommanded). Our waitress went out of her way to make sure we were taken care of by bring us popcorm when our food was taking a little longer due to the place being very busy. After last nights waitress and our food, WE WILL be coming back and bring friends!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheri S, Owner at Joshua's Restaurant & Tavern, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you so much for the positive feedback. We have indeed been making efforts to improve not only our physical space, but also our food, server attentiveness, and overall consistency. Reviews like yours go a long way towards showing us that the efforts are paying off. I passed it along to Davielle ( she smiled & blushed ) and also to our kitchen manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

After getting off the train, checking into the Inn, and exploring a little we were hungry. The bugers at Joshua's were excellent.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joshua's Restaurant & Tavern also viewed

Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
 
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Joshua's Restaurant & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joshua's Restaurant & Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.