We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite spot for breakfast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brunswick Diner

Brunswick Diner
101 Pleasant St, Brunswick, ME 04011-2206
207-721-1134
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 98 Restaurants in Brunswick
Cuisines: American, Diner
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Brunswick, Maine
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Our favorite spot for breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The wait staff is efficient and friendly, regulars have their own coffee mugs (which generally arrive - filled with your personal preference of coffee - at your table within moments of your arrival, even when they're busy), the omelets are huge, the poached eggs on corned beef hash are as good as I remember eating as a kid, and their claim of "the best lobster roll in Maine" is spot on.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    31
    20
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What maple syrup?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The menu says they use real maple syrup. My granddaughter ordered French toast with maple syrup. She poured the syrup that came with the toast and tasted it. Yucky! She had them make some more French toast and give her the genuine stuff. Can't fool a kid. Good food, but let's keep it honest!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hyde Park, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great little place that's worth stopping for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I wasn't gonna stop as this Diner is right at a point where the road clogs up and Rte 1 makes a turn, so I just wanted to be out of this area. But the Mrs loved the funky look and the "Best Lobster Roll in Maine" sign so I turned around. Glad I did. We haven't had too many Lobster Rolls on this trip (just plain old Lobsters), but we both had Lobster Rolls here and they were great. Not all gooped up. Nice big chunks of Lobster. Good toasted bun. We were both very pleased. Even had a Mimosa to split between us to celebrate the occaision and that was good!! Another reviewer raved about the Cole Slaw but I didn't think that was anything special. The service was great and they were ready to make whatever we wanted, the menu was just a starting point!! But we both decided we wanted Lobster Rolls and we think we made the right choice. Don't let the traffic dissuade you as it almost did me.

Cash only, so I had to make sure I had actual money in my wallet and not just cards. We played a Credence song on the Jukebox.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belchertown, MA
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Stopped for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We have driven by for many years. Finally stopped for breakfast and were glad we did. Western omelet with homefries and toast, and loaded omelet with homefries and english muffins. The food was delicious. Omelets were full of ingredients and fluffy. Will eat here again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nostalgic for the '50's? This is for you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

This is the real deal. A one row diner with a wise-cracking waitress and the best breakfast you've ever tasted.

Breakfast is served all day, and I couldn't imagine ordering anything else, but according to the menu and clever signs scribbled on whiteboards this place is full service.

It's simple stuff. I had a "Beach Boys,"a egg and bacon sandwich served on bagel, English muffin, rye, whole wheat,,, you get the idea. The home fries were PERFECT. The other things are "Little Richard, Chubby Checker, and on and on. There's no place to cut a rug, but you might want to.

When we walked in, a regular said, "this is the best diner in town," at that point the waitress whacked him over the head with a menu, so it may be the only one. Whatever, I wish The Brunswick could be in MY town.

No credit cards, but they have an ATM. If you're passing through Brunswick, Maine, don't miss it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brunswick Diner also viewed

Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
 
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Brunswick Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brunswick Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.