We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel for service, location and cleanliness.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   71 Gurnet Road, Route 24, Brunswick, ME 04011 (Formerly Parkwood Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Brunswick
A TripAdvisor Member
“Excellent Hotel for service, location and cleanliness.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I would stay here again and again. Reception and hotel stall were escellent and our room was clean and the cleanest brightest, roomiest bathroom of our whole weeks trip. Breakfast being included was such a plus and perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    66
    21
    9
    6
See reviews for
62
64
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Madison, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed one night enroute to Bar Harbor and one night coming down the coast. This is a refurbished property and they are slowly getting the kinks out. The hotel is set back off the road with ample parking. They do not have a restaurant but there are ample choices in Brunswick which is a few miles away. Found the front desk staff to be very friendly and helpful.

Thought the free breakfast was well layed out. They offered scrambled eggs and link sausage both mornings along with the normal complement of coffee, juice, yogurt, fruit, cereal, toast, muffins, etc. They also had a waffle maker which worked well.

They need to overhaul some of their room fans. The first room we booked into had a noisy room heater which promised to be a problem that night. The hotel switched us to another room without a murmer. On the return trip the fan in the bathroom went on when you turned on the light and was. again. overly noisy. We did not have any problems with cleanliness and the new shower worked well. If you book a room on the back of the hotel it is less susceptible to road noise which is moderate.

There was evidence of significant crew training underway. It's a good hotel trying hard to get better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Quiet and edge of town. Beds comfortable. More attention to clean tub and floors of hair that was not ours during the 3 day stay. Close to Applebee's and not far from strip shopping center with CVS and grocery. Nice to have a microwave in the room to make popcorn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We selected this hotel from a coupon book because it had a good price. It was one of the best hotels we stayed in during our stay in New England. The room was large with a spacious bathroom and both were really clean and comfortable. The hotel is in a very quiet area but within easy reach of shops, restaurants etc. The complementary breakfast was excellent with a good selection of both hot and cold food. This hotel was far superior to others where we paid over twice the price. We would definitely stay here again and recommend the hotel as top class.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is a great hotel. Clean, lots of extras, great pool, great golf nearby, lots of places to explore. This hotel has everything you need for a great overnight or two. It is easy to find, lots of parking and close to supermarkets and eateries. Also, very nice to have a frig and a microwave in the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KITTANNING
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I stayed here a few nights ago. It is remote with no restaurant or bar. Poor selection of tv channels and a salt water pool. Kind of spartan hotel and very pricey for what you get. The standard hotel breakfast, coffee machine coffee, waffle maker, and yogurt and some tired oranges.
Wifi was in and out.

Room Tip: It is quiet aand road noise is minimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I read that this used to be another hotel and it was recently renovated. It does look freshly painted outside but the interior needs more work. There are exposed outlets and the baseboards in the bathroom are messy and unfinished. Big, jacuzzi tub, not sure if it works but at least it was roomy. Medium sized frig was very convenient with a small microwave. Bed however, wasn't as comfy as Hampton Inn's but the room was much larger.

Breakfast was fine although it never varied during the 3 days we stayed there. Eggs and sausage, and on the last day, they ran out of sausages at 8:30 AM when breakfast doesn't end until 10 AM. At least their waffle was tasty as it should be.

I used their fitness room one night, it had a treadmill, elliptical machine, and stairmaster. Plus one of the variable resistance contraptions. Plenty of towels, water (no cups though) and 2 TVs. Freezing cold but once I was finished with my run, I was glad of the cool temp. Also used their salt-water pool. Way better than a regular chlorinated pool for my sinuses. Plenty of larger towels. The pool was what pushed my rating from average to very good.

Housekeeping wasn't very good. No new shampoos, etc. plus they never vacuumed. I could tell because there was a paper clip on the carpet that stayed there the whole 3 nights. I liked that the hotel wasn't off a busy street so it was pretty quiet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath

Address: 71 Gurnet Road, Route 24, Brunswick, ME 04011 (Formerly Parkwood Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Brunswick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mid Coast Maine is the home of the newly remodeled Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath formerly, The Parkwood Inn. The hotel, known to locals and visitors as "The Crown Jewel of Brunswick, Maine" offers updated and cozy accommodations.Experiencing spring and summertime in mid- coast Maine is a pure delight. There are plenty of walking, hiking and biking opportunities in the Bath and Brunswick area including the Androscoggin Bike and Walk Path and the Androscoggin Riverwalk. The Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath is surrounded by the secluded ocean peninsulas of Bailey and Orr's Islands; the beautiful state parks at Popham Beach, Wolf's Neck and Reid, plus Hermit Island; and the rich shipbuilding history of Bath. We are minutes away from Brunswick Executive Landing and the prestigious Bowdoin College, and a just short drive to world-class shopping in Freeport including L.L. Bean.In the mood for some golf? Check out Mere Creek Golf Course, the Brunswick Golf Club, Highland Green Golf Club, Bath Country Club and more all located within a short drive of our hotel!Enjoy our free continental breakfast with gluten free options! Come and relax in our comfortable guest rooms that feature convenient refrigerators, microwaves and Keurig coffee makers! Featuring romantic getaway rooms, as well as family, business and executive accommodations, The Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath stands out as a quality place to stay in Maine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkwood Hotel Brunswick
BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.