We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   71 Gurnet Road, Route 24, Brunswick, ME 04011 (Formerly Parkwood Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in Brunswick
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

The room was sparce but comfortable and CLEEN the staff was very friendly and helpful. The pool is tiny and during our stay was over run with screaming children not being monitored by their parents, and the laundry center was extremely outdated took over an hour to dry two small loads of laundry. The hot breakfast was exactly what I expected a steam tray of eggs and sausage with not one but two waffle makers and the usually continental breakfast, the dining are was kept neat and stocked (except they ran out of bagels) they also allow you to choose what you would like room service to do in your room daily, we just asked that they refresh towels, take the trash and make the bed (they even picked up the items I had dropped in the floor leaving for our apt in a hurry!) The location was ok it is about 20 min from Freeport 10 min from boidin college and 30 min from Boothbay harbor. If we ever need to be in that area again we would stay again. Even with the faults it was a nice place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc W, Asst. General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank You Mrsevilbeetles for you review of your recent stay with us! I am glad your stay was enjoyable and that our housekeeping and front desk staff were able to make your time in Brunswick relaxing. Something new we have started doing is letting our guests choose exactly what they want done to their room, this way you get the service you need and housekeeping is better able to accommodate our guests.

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    52
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
50
45
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My wife and I along with our 10 month old twin girls spent three nights at this Best Western Plus as a base for exploring coastal Maine and Portland. After all was said and done, we left with an excellent experience to report scoring top marks across the board for us. Located just a 30 minutes drive east of Portland, we found this hotel the perfect fit for us on so many levels. That said, here's the takeaway from our experience:

First impression/Arrival - Located in the quiet town of Brunswick, the hotel is set in a beautiful wooded area, but also close enough to the town centre for convenience. We arrived in the early evening on our first night, but had no troubles checking in, and were happy to see luggage carts available for the mountain of items we had in tow. Very spacious lobby with a large breakfast area located directed in front of you towards the back of the hotel. Very nice initial impression.


Front desk staff - The woman who greeted us at the desk was both incredibly friendly, courteous and accommodating. In fact, as soon as she saw us pushing our double stroller in, she immediately upgraded our room to a King, so to give us more space and privacy at the end of the hall of the first floor. This was such a huge bonus for us that helped us out so much that we couldn't have thanked her more. Check-in in general was a breeze, and were settled in our room within minutes after arriving. Very positive experience, no issues here at all.

Location - Ideal for us and the purpose of our trip: Sightseeing coastal Maine. Being situated within a 30 minute drive from Portland, the hotel's location definitely worked. Its close proximity to both shops and restaurants as well made it very convenient while staying in Brunswick. In addition, you can be on the 295 in less than 10 minutes for those heading to Portland or Augusta. Excellent location for us.

Rooms - The King room we were upgraded to was massive, and more than enough space to accommodate us and our two girls. Our room came equipped with everything we needed. Room features included a pullout sofa, separate bathroom with shower, microwave, coffee maker, and every necessary convenience that never left us needing something more. Fantastic room with the added bonus of being located on the main floor making in/out access super easy (especially when travelling with twin baby girls!). Very impressed, fantastic room.

Value - We booked this hotel online and obtained what we thought was an excellent rate given the value we got back in return. The value also went up exponentially when we were additionally upgraded without even asking for it. Again, we have the amazing staff to thank for this. On the whole, we found the Best Western Plus to have a fantastic ratio of price to quality.

Breakfast - Had a great selection of items to choose from that included a waffle maker. The breakfast area itself was very spacious with comfortable chairs to relax in while taking in breakfast. Most definitely one of the better "free breakfasts" we've had in recent times that is a more and more popular offering with hotels these days. Great morning meal, left full and set for the day!

The Bottom Line - A truly pleasurable three-nights stay that both met and exceeded our needs and expectations. Top marks go toward value and the staff, in addition the to the comfortable room and great breakfast. Four well deserved stars across the board and would recommend without question.

Room Tip: Main floor rooms provide easy in/out access for guests, with exits located at the end of the halls a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc W, Asst. General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank You globalwanderer2 for your detailed review! You hit the nail on the head in almost every category. Our location makes us the perfect choice for exploring all of coastal Maine. I am glad we could make your family trip to Maine a relaxing one, and I will pass along your regards to our staff who you said went above and beyond in accommodating you and your family!

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We found this hotel to be clean, and a generally nice place to stay. We arrived late, and even though we got the very last room, the front desk manager did not try and gouge us for extra bucks the way some smaller properties will do. In fact, he was very helpful with local dinner recommendations and directions. The TV's come with Showtime, a little, but welcome bonus. The room was generous in size, and with plenty of towels, and larger soaps, etc. The free breakfast is always a nice and economical feature. Waffles, eggs, sausages, cereals, juices etc. Keep in mind that part of the free deal means generally low quality ingredients, but in this case I believe the eggs were real, not powered as is so often the case. A word of warning though about the free meals. Children aside, I'm not sure many of the participants were under 250lbs and one could easily loose a finger if you get caught in between a free waffle and feeding tuna.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc W, Asst. General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank You Chris T for your review! I am glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us and would hope next time your in the area you stop in! We understand traveling is stressful and try to make the process as easy as we can. Our hot breakfast as I am sure you saw serves real sausage, and you got it right, REAL eggs. We understand breakfast is the most important meal of the day and buy the best products for our guests. Thank You again for your review and give us a call next time you need lodging in the Brunswick area.

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed there for one night. The check in was very easy and quick. The staff was very friendly. They recommended a seafood restaurant that was down the road. It had the best clam chowder. The hotel is clean and comfortable. The breakfast was the usual hotel breakfast. We had a coupon from Hotels.com that they accepted.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc W, Asst. General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank You IrvW for your recent review. Our front desk staff are area experts and love to recommend their latest find. They know all the good eateries in town and are always looking for a chance to pass them along to our guests. Next time your in town and we can suggest another great place to grab a bite!

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

we got tired of the overdecorated B&Bs... yet wanted some comfort. This hotel offer both a very convenient location: basically 25 min from best lobster in Maine, beaches or shopping AND a clean confrtable stay. Room are large and fairly well appointed. are ais very quiet at night: we slpet with windows open.
corridors could use a little vaccuming and breakfast are is not the greatest but given the price there is not much to complain.
we will definitively come back!
... best lobster is Cook's at Baileys Island by the way ;)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc W, Asst. General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank You Rutrah for your review of your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath! As you mentioned our location makes us an awesome choice for getting all that Maine experience if all you have are a few days to spend in lovely coastal Maine.

Thank You for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

They really need to watch when checking a room, on more than one occasion they never checked the toilet paper roll which was empty and we had to go to the front desk ourselves. Other items they didn't check either that we had to go get but I would think TP would be a priority!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc W, Asst. General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank You for your review Barbara W. Our staff strive for 100% in guest satisfaction. I am sorry they missed the toilet paper and you had to come to the front desk to ask for some. I will make sure our housekeepers pay closer attention so this doesn't happen again in the future. Thank You again for your review.

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here twice in 2013. Nice hotel with the family. Very friendly staff, clean facilities and adequate breakfast. Near other eating establishments, a movie theatre and stores. Good value for price. Also has computer access, free we-fi, swimming and laundry.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc W, Asst. General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank You CWT05 for your review. You listed almost all the amenities that make us stand out from other area hotels, and I am glad you enjoyed them as the rest of our guests do. Stop in next time your in town and say hello!

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath

Address: 71 Gurnet Road, Route 24, Brunswick, ME 04011 (Formerly Parkwood Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Brunswick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Brunswick
#3 Business Hotel in Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mid Coast Maine is the home of the newly remodeled Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath formerly, The Parkwood Inn. The hotel, known to locals and visitors as "The Crown Jewel of Brunswick, Maine" offers updated and cozy accommodations.Experiencing spring and summertime in mid- coast Maine is a pure delight. There are plenty of walking, hiking and biking opportunities in the Bath and Brunswick area including the Androscoggin Bike and Walk Path and the Androscoggin Riverwalk. The Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath is surrounded by the secluded ocean peninsulas of Bailey and Orr's Islands; the beautiful state parks at Popham Beach, Wolf's Neck and Reid, plus Hermit Island; and the rich shipbuilding history of Bath. We are minutes away from Brunswick Executive Landing and the prestigious Bowdoin College, and a just short drive to world-class shopping in Freeport including L.L. Bean.In the mood for some golf? Check out Mere Creek Golf Course, the Brunswick Golf Club, Highland Green Golf Club, Bath Country Club and more all located within a short drive of our hotel!Enjoy our free continental breakfast with gluten free options! Come and relax in our comfortable guest rooms that feature convenient refrigerators, microwaves and Keurig coffee makers! Featuring romantic getaway rooms, as well as family, business and executive accommodations, The Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath stands out as a quality place to stay in Maine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkwood Hotel Brunswick
BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.