We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   71 Gurnet Road, Route 24, Brunswick, ME 04011 (Formerly Parkwood Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in Brunswick
Pleasant Hill, California, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great family hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here twice in 2013. Nice hotel with the family. Very friendly staff, clean facilities and adequate breakfast. Near other eating establishments, a movie theatre and stores. Good value for price. Also has computer access, free we-fi, swimming and laundry.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc W, Asst. General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank You CWT05 for your review. You listed almost all the amenities that make us stand out from other area hotels, and I am glad you enjoyed them as the rest of our guests do. Stop in next time your in town and say hello!

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    52
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
50
45
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stopped here for one night on a road trip to Nova Scotia. It was very pleasantly situated in a wooded area, but very convenient to the highway. There is an indoor pool and a guest laundry. The lobby is especially nice. There is a restaurant attached, but unfortunately it was closed on a Monday night. Only complaint was that the bath had a single sink with no place to put toiletries. But, there was a bathroom heater (likely a much needed item most of the year!). We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: The restaurant is closed Mondays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc W, Asst. General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you artgallerygal for your recent review. Our location is the perfect balance between being away from the center of town, and yet being close to all the area activities, and the highway. We offer all the guest amenities for a long trip up the East coast to Nova Scotia. Thank You for your review!

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Easy highway access. Good location for attractions in this part of Maine (beaches, boats, shopping, outdoors). Excellent facilities such as salt water pool, beautifully furnished, clean rooms. Looks just like the website pictures. Super breakfast with real eggs. I stayed 4 nights in comfy King bed. Front desk attitude is usually friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc W, Asst. General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank You Linda E for you review! The indoor heated pool got upgraded to salt water this past Spring, and our guests have nothing but great things to say about it. Enjoy the rest of your summer and next time you are in Brunswick stop in!

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stay here with our dog several times a year. The rooms are very comfortable and great for bringing your dog as you can get a room with your own exit to the back yard. Breakfasts are always great although it seems like a lot of work for the one person looking after it and the front desk. Staff are always friendly and never complain. We found a coupon for this hotel and we are very happy we did - this has become one of our regular spots. It is very close to lots of places to visit and enjoy. I would most definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with an exit on the back yard and small deck if you bring your dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc W, Asst. General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank You Liz F for your recent review and sharing those wonderful words about the BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath and its staff. our designated pet friendly rooms are quite popular even to the non pet travelers who enjoy having that back deck. I am very happy to hear this has become one of your regular spots when traveling down through Brunswick and if ever there is anything we can do for you give us a call!

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee WI
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Spent 3 nights here in July 2013. The hotel changed to a Best Western less than a year ago and while it looks like they're trying to upgrade things, it's not quite there yet. The rooms are large, beds comfortable but the wi-fi was like pulling teeth - and I was in a room close to the lobby and on the first floor!!

Didn't use the pool - it was kinda dark in the pool area so it wasn't very inviting. And the fitness room wasn't air conditioned and the equipment looked like it had seen better days.

Breakfast was good and the bar/restaurant area was open only 2 of the 3 nights I was there. But it was busy on the nights it WAS open... I ordered nachos and they were surprisingly good - real cheese not that fake orange stuff! (I'm picky - I'm from Wisconsin, the Dairy State!)

One plus was that the hotel was quiet - minimal traffic outside at night and the hotel halls were quiet also.

Also, the computers in the lobby could really use a virus sweep and a cleaning of all sorts of spam. It was impossible to do any kind of search on them because of all of the pop-ups...Arrgh!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc W, Asst. General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank You for your recent review tvgal2000. Our larger than standard rooms do make our guests stay that much more comfortable; just a few extra feet makes all the difference in terms of room. We are aware of the issue with the internet and have found what we believe to be the problem, and are working to fix it ASAP. Our location does make us a nice choice for those travelers looking to stay away from the center of the town, but still close to all the area activities and restaurants. The computers in the lobby were taken to a local computer tech company to be debugged and new antivirus put on, so that guests can't download things and bog the computer down. Thank You again for your review!

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We found this hidden gem in a coupon book and were so very happy with the entire hotel. The room for our copping price was so much more than we expected.
The staff were amazingly friendly and accommodating. I spent maybe 10 seconds in the lift with a maintenance guy and it was a friendly conversation. More than I expected.
I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc W, Asst. General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank You Tbling for your review. Our staff here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath love to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay. I will be sure to show Bob our maintenance man this review so that he knows how much his customer service meant to your stay. Give us a call next time you travel through Brunswick or stop right in!

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherburne, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

great service staff went out over their way to help with anything they could even called restaurant for us to check on menu for grilled lobster, even tho they had a restaurant in the hotel, advised us of a great place to visit at the end of the road where you cross to islands by bridge, it was beautiful. great service a quality in a hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc W, Asst. General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank You Michael H for your recent review of the BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath. I can't say it enough, that our staff here thoroughly enjoy providing the best customer service to our guests and try to take every measure to ensure your stay is comfortable and relaxing. They love coming on to TripAdvisor and reading nice reviews about them, so thank you.

Thank You again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath

Address: 71 Gurnet Road, Route 24, Brunswick, ME 04011 (Formerly Parkwood Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Brunswick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Brunswick
#3 Business Hotel in Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mid Coast Maine is the home of the newly remodeled Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath formerly, The Parkwood Inn. The hotel, known to locals and visitors as "The Crown Jewel of Brunswick, Maine" offers updated and cozy accommodations.Experiencing spring and summertime in mid- coast Maine is a pure delight. There are plenty of walking, hiking and biking opportunities in the Bath and Brunswick area including the Androscoggin Bike and Walk Path and the Androscoggin Riverwalk. The Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath is surrounded by the secluded ocean peninsulas of Bailey and Orr's Islands; the beautiful state parks at Popham Beach, Wolf's Neck and Reid, plus Hermit Island; and the rich shipbuilding history of Bath. We are minutes away from Brunswick Executive Landing and the prestigious Bowdoin College, and a just short drive to world-class shopping in Freeport including L.L. Bean.In the mood for some golf? Check out Mere Creek Golf Course, the Brunswick Golf Club, Highland Green Golf Club, Bath Country Club and more all located within a short drive of our hotel!Enjoy our free continental breakfast with gluten free options! Come and relax in our comfortable guest rooms that feature convenient refrigerators, microwaves and Keurig coffee makers! Featuring romantic getaway rooms, as well as family, business and executive accommodations, The Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath stands out as a quality place to stay in Maine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkwood Hotel Brunswick
BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.