We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   71 Gurnet Road, Route 24, Brunswick, ME 04011 (Formerly Parkwood Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ellicott City, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Almost great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our room at this Best Western was recently updated so it looked nice but the bathroom could have been cleaner. If it was completely clean, this would be a 5-star review. The room was comfortable, TV & internet worked fine, breakfast was great and the desk personnel were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc W, Asst. General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank You for your review Dianne. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We have retrained our housekeeping staff to pay more attention to the bathrooms and hopefully solved that issue for good. I do hope you give us a call next time you're in Brunswick Dianne.

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    74
    24
    11
    7
See reviews for
76
71
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed here before, didn't realize it until I checked in. Only negative comments were the toilet in one of our rooms, the underside of the toilet seat was dirty and there was hair in the hair dryer in my room. Internet not working well in either room one of the two nights. I do like the hotel though, convenient and comfortable. Staff did attend to our issues when we commented.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc W, Asst. General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank You for your review. I am sorry that there were issues with the bathroom and that it was not properly clean. I will look into the matter and talk to the housekeeper that cleaned your room. We are aware of the problems with the internet and are having everything looked at by our ISP.

Thank You again and I hope these minor issues don't sway you from giving us another chance!

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Decided to stay about half and hour from Airport to avoid higher prices. Easy to find location. Rooms were clean and comfy for our family of four. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was typical free fare but fresh and dining room was clean. Would stay here again if I came back this way.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc W, Asst. General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank You for your review! Although we are about a half hour away from the airport, the drive is still easy enough so you can enjoy coastal Maine and still make your flight.

Thank You again and next time you're in the area give us a call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

omg what dirty rooms , carpet was discusting , toilets were laced with hair ,sheets were stained with blood , had to ask for sheets, Jesus what an aweful stay. Noisy Noisy Noisy . I cant believe the cleaning staff , Best Western ! You should be ashamed ! Looks are so deceiving . Stay away and don't bring kids there . Renovated !? Gimme a break ! Please people ,my review is the actual real and unbiased truth , stayed 4 nights and never never never again.

Room Tip: choose another location !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc W, Asst. General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry your recent stay with us was not pleasant. We recognized that we had a issue with the way our rooms were being handled. We have gone through some major changes to our cleaning staff and have, I feel, fixed the problem. Again I am sorry your stay had to suffer as a result of our problems, and I hope you consider stopping in for a room tour next time you are in the Brunswick area.

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cctx
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed in this hotel fairly often under the previous ownership. Best Western has made some nice changes. It's modernized and meets the requirements for a good nights sleep. The rooms are large and well appointed. The breakfast options are many and the young lady was constantly making sure that everything was filled and clean. Front desk personnel were polite and helpful. We were able to secure a good rate through Priceline and I'm surprised that it's only rated a 2.5 star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc W, Asst. General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to review us! Having stayed with us before you can see first hand the difference our rennovations have made. I hope you enjoyed your time in Brunswick and hope you think of the BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath next time you're in the area.

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

If you value a peaceful night's rest then this is the PERFECT place: no freeway noises, no train whistles, just peace and quiet. You can actually sleep with the window wide open and not need any ear plugs!!

We had planned to spend just one night but wound up staying 3 nights. This was such a perfect base for us to explore Bath, Brunswick, Freeport (L.L. Bean) and even Portland, ME, which is just 30 minutes away.

This hotel is almost like a hidden gem and certainly deserves a higher star rating. We don't know how old the building is, but it has been nicely maintained and upgraded, and yet has a comfortable old-fashioned feel to it.

The rooms are very spacious with a good-sized bathroom. The beds are comfortable and the amenities include microwave, mini-fridge and a Keurig coffee maker - with Green Mountain coffee, of course. The air-conditioner in our room was whisper-quiet, but we prefer an open window.

The complimentary full breakfast was excellent and most satisfying. And those yummy cranberry scones..... they're to die for!

We also enjoyed their large indoor saltwater pool. We could actually swim laps after the kids were done playing in the pool.

But best of all was the staff's hospitality. Melissa and Payton at the front desk were genuinely happy to see us and made us feel right at home.

Kudos to the Best Western Plus in Brunswick Bath, Maine!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc W, Asst. General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank You for your wonderful review! Our location makes us PERFECT for a good nights sleep being away from the center of town, and also as a base camp for coastal activities. Our full hot breakfast every morning leaves you full and ready for the days activities. I am thoroughly glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you soon!

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Maine
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I am corresponding with you today in regards to our recent stay at your facility. I am specifically writing to express my appreciation for the quality of service and genuine hospitality offered to my wife and I while our home remains under repair. Our home was damaged due to water and we have had to conduct business from both afar and in person regarding this matter. This was the second time we were privileged to have accommodations with your hotel. Despite the many offers I researched online, I could not justify not staying at your location based on sheer logistics, immienities and the unbeatable deal offered to us.

We enjoyed the peace and quiet nightly after tending to our homes needs and working tirelessly with our contractor and buying supplies locally at the Brunswick Lowes home improvement store just down the street. The room was clean, spacious and before starting our days we thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast bar. There was a proper supply of large towels; pillows and bed were very comfortable.

My wife in her initial stay there had the pleasure of meeting two young ladies by the names of Melissa B. & Melissa M. During this visit, I was introduced to them and found them both to be consummate professionals as well as subject matter experts in the hotel industry. Knowing that two young women are this dedicated to a line of business definitely added to the excellent service of the staff.

I can't imagine giving anything less than a 5 to this hotel. I will definitely recommend your hotel to friends and family.

Thank you again.

Jeff & Carla H.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly to book your reservations. I say this due to the fact that this is a busy ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc W, Asst. General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank You Jeff and Carla for you wonderful review! The two Melissa's have been with our hotel for quite some time now and work very hard to please every guest that walks through our doors. I am very happy to hear they made your stay as seamless as possible while going though the house ordeal. Our location makes us, as you say, logistical choice for the people traveling along the coast, and especially if you're headig to/live in Harpswell. We await your return (hopefully not under the same circumstances) and give us a call if there is anything we can do for you!

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath

Address: 71 Gurnet Road, Route 24, Brunswick, ME 04011 (Formerly Parkwood Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Brunswick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Brunswick
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mid Coast Maine is the home of the newly remodeled Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath formerly, The Parkwood Inn. The hotel, known to locals and visitors as "The Crown Jewel of Brunswick, Maine" offers updated and cozy accommodations.Experiencing spring and summertime in mid- coast Maine is a pure delight. There are plenty of walking, hiking and biking opportunities in the Bath and Brunswick area including the Androscoggin Bike and Walk Path and the Androscoggin Riverwalk. The Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath is surrounded by the secluded ocean peninsulas of Bailey and Orr's Islands; the beautiful state parks at Popham Beach, Wolf's Neck and Reid, plus Hermit Island; and the rich shipbuilding history of Bath. We are minutes away from Brunswick Executive Landing and the prestigious Bowdoin College, and a just short drive to world-class shopping in Freeport including L.L. Bean.In the mood for some golf? Check out Mere Creek Golf Course, the Brunswick Golf Club, Highland Green Golf Club, Bath Country Club and more all located within a short drive of our hotel!Enjoy our free continental breakfast with gluten free options! Come and relax in our comfortable guest rooms that feature convenient refrigerators, microwaves and Keurig coffee makers! Featuring romantic getaway rooms, as well as family, business and executive accommodations, The Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath stands out as a quality place to stay in Maine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkwood Hotel Brunswick
BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.