We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stone Mountain Arts Center, Brownfield, ME” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Mountain Arts Center

Stone Mountain Arts Center
695 Dug Way Road, Brownfield, ME 04010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 attractions in Brownfield
Type: Theaters, Performances
Attraction Details
Boston MA
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Stone Mountain Arts Center, Brownfield, ME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

A great venue for entertainment. A barn setting, country atmosphere which is a distance fro the main road. They offer a very varied selection of entertainers and publish their calendar frequently indicating new acts. There are some big names at times. What is particularly good though, are their meals. The menu is very, very limited and is published on their website. The servings are large - five of us split a salad for first course. The entrees could serve two. We split the salmon chowder and it was outstanding.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Concerts, good (though expensive) food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

At the Stone Mountain Arts Center they bring in big names and not so well-known but every concert we've seen there was worth the drive. The hall is a refurbished barn with tables down below and seats in the loft and sometimes they even have free concerts (usually the little-known artists). We went there and ate before the show: we both had soup and salad--excellent meal but $20@ and coffee was extra ($2.50 a cup) and dessert was extra ($10) so the meal cost over $60 so we decided we would probably eat elsewhere next time. There were CD's for sale in the lobby so you could take the artist "home" with you, if you enjoyed the show.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penobscot, Maine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Checked it off my Bucket List but now I Want To Go Again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've been trying to get to SMAC for awhile and finally suceeded this past weekend! It certainly lived up to my expectations. I can check it off of my Bucket List but now I want to go again. So much to do ~ so little time! There is not a bad seat in the house (although it may get a little warm in the balcony). The food is a little pricey but very good and the service is excellent. It is a special place and well worth the trip.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thanks Carol”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Worth the travel. My favorite venue. My second journey to SMAC and another one planned for the summer of 2013. Definitely one of the best venues to catch dinner and a show.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownfield, Maine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A jewell in the wilderness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

It is difficult at best to do an acurate critique of Stone Mt. The price may seem high until you go and see the small number of people and huge acts. Up close and personal it is an experience more than a show. The post and beam construction of the buildings, the show, the food and the people all add to the ambiance of Stone Mt. Arts, it is awesome.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone Mountain Arts Center also viewed

Been to Stone Mountain Arts Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Mountain Arts Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Stone Mountain Arts Center to your Saves list