We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place for all ages!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Petty Harbour Mini Aquarium

Petty Harbour Mini Aquarium
35 South Side Road | Petty Harbour, Petty Harbour, Newfoundland and Labrador A0A3H0, Canada
709 330 3474
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Petty Harbour Mini Aquarium, 15 minutes south of St. John's is a non-profit, hands-on, catch and release, seasonal marine education organization. We are opening seasonally, June 15- October 19, everyday, 10am-6pm.
St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
1 review
“Amazing place for all ages!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Absolutely LOVED this place. I brought my 4 year old here, and he had a blast. The staff there were awesome and very knowledgeable. Such a cute little spot to bring the young ones. We will definetly be going again!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
1 review
“Excellent experience, and the staff were FANTASTIC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My two sons and I came to visit the aquarium on Friday! It happened to be a beautiful day so even the walk from the parking lot to the aquarium was lovely! The staff were SO patient as my four year old, and six year old asked them TONS of questions. They took time with them at each station (we were lucky that it wasnt too crowded!), answered lots of questions, and told them all about all the sea creatures in the tanks. The tanks themselves were clear and clean, and it was easy to see everything inside. This was an excellent daytrip for us, and I expect we will come again before summer is finished! Thanks!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conception Bay South, Newfoundland, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Such a lovely Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is a lovely little Aquarium, wonderful for any age, fun and educational. Makes for a great trip to Petty Harbour. Really enjoyed talking with the staff - they were super knowledgeable. A great addtion to a great town!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
“A great place to visit in a pretty little town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have been to Newfoundland many times... Petty Harbour is a beautiful little town, and I was eager to visit the new mini aquarium this summer...
My husband, 12 year old daughter and I visited recently and we're all so glad we did! It was a very cool place to visit, with hands-on learning opportunities. The staff are very pleasant, and knowledgeable! We were able to hold crabs, watch and learn how star fish eat (which was more interesting than you may think!) and touch sea anemone! The rare blue lobster and albino snow crab are very neat to see, too : )
The price of admission is reasonable, and although the facility is pretty small, it holds a lot of very amazing marine life. I would highly recommend making this a stop along your way (and be sure to take in the beautiful views in Petty Harbour & Maddox Cove, too!!!)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PettyHrbMiniAquarium, Owner at Petty Harbour Mini Aquarium, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you Paula D for your review! We are so glad you had a good time with your family. We agree, seastars eating habits are quite interesting. :) We hope you will visit us again next time you return to Newfoundland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burin, Newfoundland, Canada
1 review
“Great Place, Great Staff, Great Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Had such a great time at the mini Aquarium. The staff were very knowledgable and helpful. The displays are excellent and are a great representation of the sea life of Newfoundland and Labrador. The exhibits are well taken care of, the specimens have adaquate room for movement and are well cared for. Melanie and Ruby were such a great help, the other staff seemed nice as well, though I didn't have alot of dealings with them. My wife and son were given a personal tour by Melanie and my son was allowed to experience the touch tank to the fullest. Overall a great place to visit and a great place to learn what inhabits the coastal areas of this fine province. Thanks for the experience and I will highly reccomend the mini aquarium to everyone.

Todd, Amanda and Charlie Hollett

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petty Harbour Mini Aquarium also viewed

St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to Petty Harbour Mini Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petty Harbour Mini Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Petty Harbour Mini Aquarium to your Saves list