We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Onam Sadya” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Presidency

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Presidency to your Saves list
Hotel Presidency
Paramara Road, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682018, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE WIFI,DINNER &PICKUP
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Ernakulam
Kochi (Cochin), India
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Grand Onam Sadya”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Let me preface my review by stating that we went to this Hotel to have the "Sadya lunch" and not for stay. Onam is a big festival in Kerala and the Onam sadya is a gastronomic treat which is generally served during lunch during the Onam days. The sadya is generally served in a plantain leaf and the number of items served varies from 20 to around 45. It is a pure vegetarian delight and the way the items are presented in the leaf is an art.

The sadya we attended had 45 items which included three types of "Payasams"- paaladai, pazham(fruit) and paruppu(lentils). The pazhapaayasam was excellent whereas the other two were just moderate. The overall quality of the sadya was excellent and the service was very courteous. The boat race music was played in the background and created the mood of celebrations .

The whole sadya was set up in their conference hall and around 200 plantain leaves were laid to cater to the clients. It was a wonderful experience of a wonderful festival. The sadya costs Rs.410 per head inclusive of taxes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidency-Cochin, Front Office Manager at Hotel Presidency, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Sir,

Namaskaram from Hotel Presidency, Cochin...!!

We take this opportunity to express our sincere thanks for taking your precious time to share your feedback with Tripadvisor about the recent food fest ("Onasadhya") happened at hotel Presidency.

We are delighted to hear that the 'Onasadhya' was delicious & conspicuous and you enjoyed it.

It is hugely motivating to to me and my team when valuable customers like you takes time and acknowledges it.

We look forward to seeing you again at Presidency, and once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Regards,

Paulose P. J.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    60
    41
    12
    16
See reviews for
63
28
6
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We ( family of four) stayed here for 2 nights and had an amazing time. The hotel staff is amiable and helpful. The rooms are with good interiors and well maintained. The room service is good and prompt. The complimentary breakfast is something to savour.

A satisfied customer who had a well spent holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidency-Cochin, Front Office Manager at Hotel Presidency, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from hotel Presidency, Cochin...!!

Let me take this opportunity to express my sincere thanks for choosing hotel Presidency for your recent stay in Cochin and also for taking your time to share the experience with Tripadvisor about hotel Presidency.

We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was comfortable and unforgettable. I have shared your review to all our team members and look forward to welcoming you back to Presidency again.

Assuring you the best services at all times.

Regards

Paulose P. J.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi, Kerala, India
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
450 helpful votes 450 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed here with a friend while on a business trip to cochin.. The People at reception are really friendly and warm... The hotel is walkable distance from Ernakulam Town (North) railway station so a good option if you want to catch a early morning train like in my case. M G Road is also quite nearby. Breakfast is also OK... But Replenishment takes time... One problem we faced was transportation to and fro from the hotel due to the cochin metro construction as the auto rickshaws are quiet reluctant to come to this hotel due the traffic regulation. To Sum-up definitely a good option if you want a hotel close to railway station.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidency-Cochin, Front Office Manager at Hotel Presidency, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Sir,

Namaskaram from Hotel Presidency, Cochin..!!

I thank you very much for taking your precious time to share your experience with Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us.

It is hugely motivating to me and my team when valuable customers like you takes time and acknowledges it.

We look forward to welcoming you again to Presidency and once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Regards,

Paulose P. J.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota, Rajasthan, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The hotel rooms are not so spacious.
The interior is like of vintage hotels.
Swimming pool is in bad shape.
Okay for stay for one night.
Although the hotel has large ball rooms, party halls, etc.
It is meant mainly for official parties nd people who come kochi for official work.
The high pt is the food is good nd very economical.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidency-Cochin, Front Office Manager at Hotel Presidency, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Geuest,

Greetings from Hotel Presidency, Cochin..!!

We thank you for taking your valuable time to post a review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us in Cochin.

We apologize for the inconvenience caused. We learn that we did not meet your expectation and fell below par. I would like to inform you that we had superior rooms which are spacious & luxurious than the standard rooms. Also our swimming pool was under renovation on your visit. I have shared your feedback to our team and we look forward to welcoming you again to Presidency.

I assure you that your feedback have been communicated at all levels and definitely we will improve our standard & service.

Look forward to seeing you again.

Yours Sincerely,

Paulose P. J.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The doors do not get locked properly. The cleaning staff enters your room without asking. Food variety not available. Kerela Chicken Fry tastes exactly same as Mutton Pepper. The food prices are quite high compared to the quality of preparation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidency-Cochin, Front Office Manager at Hotel Presidency, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskaram from Hotel Presidency, Cochin...!!

We thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post a review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay in Presidency - Cochin.

We work had to ensure our facilities and services are superior and we strive to be the one of the best Hotel in the heart of the city, Kochi.

We understand, we did not meet your expectation and fell below par. I have shared your feedback to our team leaders and I assure you that the lapses you felt are noted & are being actioned..

Once again we thank you for your feedback and look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Regards,

Paulose P. J.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Lacks variety in food Lunch/Dinner. Mediocre breakfast.
Happened to stay for a week.
Food replenishment was not quick.
Close to the Railway station.
Can't access Gym during early morning/late night.
No Spa facilities.
Warm reception.
Provide Net facility at lounge but no complimentary wi-fi/net facility at rooms
Can ask for substantial discount from the card rate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
general manager... h, Front Office Manager at Hotel Presidency, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Presidency, Cochin..!!

We thank you very much for taking your time to write a review on Tripadvisor. Your comments in will certainly be communicated at all levels. We are definitely looking into the quality and standard of service you experienced on your stay. I assure you that the lapses you felt are noted & are being actioned.

Once again thank you for such a valuable feedback and look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Warm Regards

Paulose P. J.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Presidency cochin for Business purposes with my Friend. The Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of city and near to Airport. The staff was very welcoming and attentive to all request. Really thanks to front office Manager Mr Paul and Mr Hardeep Singh was at night shift. My Room have some Problem with AC at night, but we suddenly got a new choice of room with in few minute, this is a services how we had from Presidency, we surprised more than our expectation as well. I was impressed by the choice and quality of the Food. :) I would not Hesitate to recommend the hotel to my friends travelling on business or with their families.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
general manager... h, Front Office Manager at Hotel Presidency, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review and taking your precious time to share your experience with Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to know that you had a comfortable stay with us. Also I am very much delighted to read that you found our team very friendly and helpful and enjoyed your overall experience.

We love to see you again and help you to create some unforgettable memories.

Warm Regards,

Paulose P. J.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Presidency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Presidency

Address: Paramara Road, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682018, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Ernakulam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Ernakulam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidency Hotel ,Cochin is the closest Business class hotel to Ernakulam Railway station and International Airport with 114 Luxuriously appointed guest rooms and 9 conference halls The shopping Mecca of Ernakulam "M G Road" is within walking distance along with an array of dining options and boutique shops. Historic Fort Cochin, Jew Town, the picturesque canals of Alleppey, Kerala Spice Plantations, Munnar Tea Estates, Cherai and Marari Beaches and Kumarakom Bird Sanctuary are all within a short drive. Presidency Hotel 's flawless design is inherent in its 108 deluxe rooms, 5 tower suites and 1 presidential suite. Apart from 114 Rooms, all of the 9 meeting rooms are built to provide ultimate comfort . Superior technical infrastructure and sizes between 300 sq ft and 4000 sq ft, make our meeting rooms suitable for your business meetings, training seminars and conferences. 6 of our meeting rooms are designed to receive sunlight in order to ensure a relaxing work environment. Presidency Hotel 's restaurant Tokyo Bay is the first Japanese restaurant in Kerala by Japanese celebrity chef Nishioka San, Our city view lounge bar with American pool table is open for lunch and dinner and is surrounded by the unique view of the cochin harbour and cityscape.Our Lotus and Fish Market restaurants serve unique delicacies for all our guests. And with our Fitness Center, SPA and an outdoor swimming pool, you can relieve yourself from daily stresses. Presidency Hotel Ernakulam- Cochin's new face. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Presidency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Presidency, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.