We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Canadian view...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Presidency

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Presidency to your Saves list
Hotel Presidency
Paramara Road, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682018, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE WIFI,DINNER &PICKUP
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Ernakulam
Toronto, Ontario
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“A Canadian view...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for two nights. I really enjoyed the pool, which has a fabulous open air rooftop location. Orchids are on the perimeter around the pool and at dusk, bats flew overhead, which I thought was neat (it also meant some mosquitoes). Pool closed at 7 pm though, not so good. Also the air was polluted which wasn't ideal for swimming laps, but that's city life in India I guess...
Hotel quite a distance from the Cochin attractions...but maybe only 400 rupees by tuk yuk. It was a nice modern hotel and good to come home to after a day of touring.
A/C worked but as usual in India we had to turn it off in the middle of night or it would have frozen us (couldn't seem to regulate the temp despite the existence of buttons suggesting we could do so).
When we went to bed on the first night we noticed that there were hairs in both of the beds; my companion pulled out her travel sheet and used that, while I groaned with exhaustion and slept in it until the next morning...we'd had a very long day travelling! This was the only downside but it was quite irritating. Otherwise, room seemed clean.
The breakfast was varied and good: I don't see why anyone would complain other than the staff kept interfering by trying to help (e.g., by making toast for me, and bringing the wrong type) and thus, slowed things down a bit! Free morning paper, which was always appreciated in India!
The Japanese restaurant upstairs was appreciated by our entire group: I actually ate sushi although it was a small percentage of the menu. The chef is Japanese and is connected to a fish exporting company based in Cochin so the fish was very fresh. Indian wine from Sula winery was available by the glass, and as usual, it was fantastic. Great service at this restaurant.
Staff at the front desk were nice and helpful.
The hotel is on a back street so there was no traffic noise (our room faced the back street; I don't know if the other side of the hotel would be noisy). A quiet room was a rarity in India...I usually had to wear earplugs due to traffic noise.
Irritating to have to pay for wifi; in Sri Lanka it was free. Indian hotels need to smarten up and provide free and ready access in the "tech age" (only a couple did on our three week tour).

Room Tip: our room was on the same side as the entrance to the hotel, facing a small quiet street. It was ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidency-Cochin, Front Office Manager at Hotel Presidency, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskaram from Hotel Presidency, Cochin.

We thank you very much for the beautiful review and for taking your valuable time to share your experience with Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us.

Your feedback gives us more clear view on the services and standards which we provide to our guest. Every points you have mentioned have been noted and distributed at all levels.

Once again we thank you for the review and looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Warm Regards,

Paulose P. J.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    60
    41
    12
    16
See reviews for
63
28
6
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We were a group of 12 that stayed for one night

The room and bathroom was clean and neat and rooms were quite spacious . We arrived very early and the Reception at 4 am was great ,they got us to our rooms very quickly as we were very tired . The breakfast was not bad .The pool on top of the hotel was quite refreshing .The hotel was well mantained . All of us enjoyed our stay here

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidency-Cochin, Front Office Manager at Hotel Presidency, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Good Morning.

Thank you for such a wonderful and detailed review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm Regards

Sincerely
Paulose P. J.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Best thing about this Hotel is its affordability. The tariff is about 40-50% lesser for a comparable place in Cochin. One get 120% value of what he pays. Place is good. Central and comfortable.
Don't think too much about the breakfast provided. Even if it is without breakfast , the tariff is a steal. Restaurant is not good and suggest not to depend too much on it. WiFi is only name sake.
Still at the price a room like it in Cochin is a good bargain. Rooms and toilets are clean and neat. Central Air conditioning is excellent

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidency-Cochin, Front Office Manager at Hotel Presidency, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Presidency, Cochin..!!

We thank you very much for taking your time to write a review. We are definitely looking into the quality and standard of service you experienced on your stay. I assure you that the lapses you felt are noted & are being actioned.

Once again thank you for such a valuable feedback and look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Warm Regards

Paulose P. J.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had a fabulous time while staying here. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The restaurant in the hotel was wonderful as it was very very hot in Kochi when we stayed. The room itself was very clean and equipped with everything you need .
We also used the laundry service which was very cheap and highly recommended.
We were woken early every morning by the local mosque calling for prayer .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidency-Cochin, Front Office Manager at Hotel Presidency, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Presidency, Cochin..!!

Thank you for such a wonderful review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are definitely looking into the quality and standard of service you experienced on your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Warm Regards

Paulose P. J.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Good old hotel very helpful staff excellent value for money.
But interiors needs some improvement. Breakfast needs to be better, they should offer more choice in juices and must serve them at the right temperature.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidency-Cochin, Front Office Manager at Hotel Presidency, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Presidency, Cochin..!!

We thank you very much for the review and for taking your valuable time to share your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are definitely looking into the quality and standard of service you experienced on your stay. I assure you that the lapses you felt are noted & are being actioned.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Warm Regards

Paulose P. J.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed here nearly 2 decades ago - well before TripAdvisor came along. As all the higher-rated were sold out by the time I made this recent trip, I elected to return to the Presidency and see how well it might have stood the test of time.

First the good news. It remains affordable, conveniently located near Ernakulam Town (North) railway station and is as clean and tidy as I remembered.

The not so good news. It hasn't changed much, but the world at large has progressed to better facilities and amenities. The breakfast buffet is basic - a touch of local flavor, but hardly impressive in terms of breadth of menu or variety from day to day as compared to many other local hotels that I have stayed in lately. The gym is open only from 7 am to 7 pm, not particularly useful for a business traveller. The staff, while courteous enough, are ill-equipped to even provide smaller change for large denomination (500-rupee) notes and the hotel does not accept Amex, Maestro, Diners - just Mastercard and Visa.

If you want just basic value for basic price, still not a bad deal. But my expectations have grown over the years.

Room Tip: Take a room on the lower floors - helpful since the two elevators are often full. Avoid the first f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidency-Cochin, Front Office Manager at Hotel Presidency, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Presidency, Cochin..!!

We thank you for writing the review about your recent stay with us. I apologize for the inconvenience happened to you during the stay. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests. We are definitely looking into the quality and standard of service you experienced on your stay. I assure you that the lapses you felt are noted & are being actioned.

Once again thank you for the feedback. I certainly hope that we are able to welcome you back again in the future.


Warm Regards

Paulose P. J.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Presidency a few months ago and was bitterly disappointed with my experience. For starters, none of the photos of the bedroom in their website is similar to the real deal. The hotel rates itself 4 stars but from personal experience, it barely looks even 3 stars. I stayed in 2 different rooms with my family. The first room did not have proper air conditioning hence the room was constantly warm. Air conditioner was also leaking into the wardrobe. The room was filled with mosquitoes. The next morning, breakfast was cold. We then got our room changed to a 'better' one. This time we faced the problem of no hot water services (we brought this up with the manager and was told this was due to the high occupancy rate of the hotel and nothing could be done about it!), the electrical plug points in the bathroom was not working and again breakfast the next day was cold and food was not sufficient to accommodate all hotel guests. The hotel rooms look nothing like the website photos- the photos portray new rooms, however on arrival- the rooms had a musky odor, furnitures were really old and their linen smelled. Never again will I set foot in this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
general manager... h, General Manager at Hotel Presidency, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear sir

we thank you for choosing Hotel Presidency for your stay. we have gone through the suggestions and comments you have made. we will try to meet the referred points very soon. At the same time we would like to bring few points to your notice that our hotel is 26 year old, our regular guest choose this property just because of our continued commitment in the hospitality for the last 26 years. it was our dedication and commitment that make us still exist our hotel even after 26 years. in between we have renovated the hotel many times and this is a four star classified hotel. we have got re-classification from 3rd December 2012, after the a very strong inspection from the ministry of tourism and concerned authorities.

we will definitely look into the matter which you pointed out about the cold breakfast, buffet and lack of cold water during a peak season some time we may not have met these things , but as soon as it is been noticed we have taken the corrective steps .

my sincere request is not generalize these mistakes and please do not make a such wrong impression about the property, as we are there in the industry meeting all the guest needs for such a long years.

we are always committed to offer our customers the maximum guest satisfation

regards

T J SINSON
GM-OPERATIONS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Presidency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Presidency

Address: Paramara Road, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682018, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Ernakulam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Ernakulam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidency Hotel ,Cochin is the closest Business class hotel to Ernakulam Railway station and International Airport with 114 Luxuriously appointed guest rooms and 9 conference halls The shopping Mecca of Ernakulam "M G Road" is within walking distance along with an array of dining options and boutique shops. Historic Fort Cochin, Jew Town, the picturesque canals of Alleppey, Kerala Spice Plantations, Munnar Tea Estates, Cherai and Marari Beaches and Kumarakom Bird Sanctuary are all within a short drive. Presidency Hotel 's flawless design is inherent in its 108 deluxe rooms, 5 tower suites and 1 presidential suite. Apart from 114 Rooms, all of the 9 meeting rooms are built to provide ultimate comfort . Superior technical infrastructure and sizes between 300 sq ft and 4000 sq ft, make our meeting rooms suitable for your business meetings, training seminars and conferences. 6 of our meeting rooms are designed to receive sunlight in order to ensure a relaxing work environment. Presidency Hotel 's restaurant Tokyo Bay is the first Japanese restaurant in Kerala by Japanese celebrity chef Nishioka San, Our city view lounge bar with American pool table is open for lunch and dinner and is surrounded by the unique view of the cochin harbour and cityscape.Our Lotus and Fish Market restaurants serve unique delicacies for all our guests. And with our Fitness Center, SPA and an outdoor swimming pool, you can relieve yourself from daily stresses. Presidency Hotel Ernakulam- Cochin's new face. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Presidency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Presidency, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.