We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 Night Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Presidency

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Presidency to your Saves list
Hotel Presidency
Paramara Road, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682018, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE WIFI,DINNER &PICKUP
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Ernakulam
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“1 Night Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed for a night, Room was really big, bathroom was decent and was with bath tub and nice amenities. Early morning they had a fault in hotel and there was no power while we were trying to get ready. The Breakfast place was very busy and less staff to manage the rush. All tables were dirty and food was very cold. Variety of the food was fine but service was very very slow. Reception mentioned that the room service is 24 hours, but when we tried to order food at 2330hrs they said that only a sandwich can be served and that too was with stale bread (very bad quality of club sandwich and very small portion for the price in the menu. Resident Manager Mr. Prince was good to talk with and he apologized for all the inconveniences.

Room Tip: Call manager straight away, if you face any problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochinhotel, General Manager at Hotel Presidency, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Sir
we thank for being with us as our valued guest, we really apologise for the inconvenience caused , Actually that one of the main fuse in the main panel board got burned and we were not in a position to provide either the electricity or the generator supply to the rooms for two hours, the problem was rectified and corrected only after the fuse was replaced, same like it was very busy in the restaurant , what actually happened was that all the guest came to the restaurant at a time for the breakfast due to the power problem by 9 AM ( some of them was little late due to there was no power) which make the things went out of our planning. We really apologise for all the troubles, but we would like to bring your notice that we are committed to offer you the best service in the industry and we had already taken the necessary steps to improve our service .
More than anything we value your opinions; we are working hard to offer you the best services in the next visit

With regards
T J SINSON
GM-OPERATIONS
gm@presidencyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    60
    41
    12
    16
See reviews for
63
28
6
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I went with family on a vacation and we stayed 1 day in this hotel in November 2012.

The hotel entrance was grand, Hotel staff were well mannered, hotel rooms and environment was hygiene, but the hotel rooms are very small and congested. They don't have the AC controls installed in rooms so you are left with only one choice switch between On/Off to control the room temperature, this was horrible. Hotel services like Restaurant, Laundry were very expensive. I don't suggest this hotel to anyone. You will get better services and rooms at the rates Presidency charges.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochinhotel, General Manager at Hotel Presidency, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Sir,

Greetings from hotel presidency Cochin...!!!

we thank you very much for being our valued guest, we have read and understood your suggestions, we will be doing all the necessary steps to offer you the best services in your next visit.
We will be at your service for your next visit with a different face to offer you one of the best services which hotel industry can offer

With regards

T J SINSON
GM-OPERATIONS
gm@presidencyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

very old property but clean rooms. double bed is very small and two people cant sleep on this bed. centralised AC which cannot be controlled from your room. You can either switch on or off the AC. Bathrrom is very small and furniture is very old. I booked this room for overnight stay at Rs 2800...later i realised you can get much better rooms at this price. I will not recommend this hotel to anyone even at rs 1000.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidency-Cochin, Front Office Manager at Hotel Presidency, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Presidency, Cochin..!!

We thank you for writing the review about your recent stay with us. We understand that we did not meet your expectation and fell below par. I assure you that the lapses you felt are noted & are being actioned.

Once again thank you for the feedback. I certainly hope that we are able to welcome you back again in the future.


Warm Regards

Paulose P. J.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We were total 10 in the group and booked 4 rooms on 9-Nov-12. Good rooms and overall nice hotel. Hotel staff was very co-operative and service oriented. Food quality was not excellent but reasonable. I suggest this hotel for staying in Kochi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidency-Cochin, Front Office Manager at Hotel Presidency, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Presidency, Cochin..!!

Thank you for the valuable review. I have shared your feedback to our Executive Chef & F&B Manager about the quality of food you experienced. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests.

Once again thank you for the feedback. I certainly hope that we are able to welcome you back again in the future.


Warm Regards

Paulose P. J.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Overall a slightly older property, but very well kept rooms and well groomed staff.
- Very clean and big size rooms
- Good views from higher floors
- Bathtub in room
- Pool is clean as well
- Excellent dining options, the bar overlooks the city skyline towards to coast - good place to unwind after a long day
- Good pit stop before moving onwards to back waters
- Walking distance from railway station

Even better if:
- Should have a better non-veg spread in breakfast buffet

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidency-Cochin, Front Office Manager at Hotel Presidency, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Presidency, Cochin..!!

Thank you very much for such a kind and detailed review. We are delighted to hear that you have had a wonderful stay with us. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence. We assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality, which we Presidency is committed to delivering to all our guests.

Once again thank you for the feedback. We look forward to serving you again.


Warm Regards

Paulose P. J.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel was recommended to me by Make My Trip. The hotel is near to both the Railway Stations and MG Road. Hence it is an ideal place for tourists who are spending the last day of the trip in Kerala.The Breakfast is very good with a good spread. The prices for Food and Beverages are quite reasonable. The hotel itself looks quite classy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidency-Cochin, Front Office Manager at Hotel Presidency, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Presidency, Cochin..!!

Thank you very much for such a kind and refreshing review. We are pleased to hear that we met your expectations. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence. We assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality, which we Presidency is committed to delivering to all our guests.

Once again thank you for the feedback. and we look forward to serving you again.


Warm Regards

Paulose P. J.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I had stayed at this hotel for couple of days on my official trip. The hotel is just 300 metres from Ernakulam North railway station. The check in went like a breeze. The rooms were good, at very affordable price. The Breakfast was very good with good spread. The rooms were very neat and well maintained. The service was spot on. The only disappointment was that this hotel does not offer free wifi and the charge for the same is exorbitant(Rs 200 for 1 hr). Overall good stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in 6th Floor are the best in this hotel. Also there is a restaurant just adjacent to the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidency-Cochin, Front Office Manager at Hotel Presidency, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Presidency, Cochin..!!

Thank you very much for such a wonderful review. We are pleased to hear that you have had a wonderful stay with us. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence. I assure you that the lapses you felt are noted & are being actioned.

We look forward to serving you again.


Warm Regards

Paulose P. J.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Presidency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Presidency

Address: Paramara Road, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682018, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Ernakulam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Ernakulam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidency Hotel ,Cochin is the closest Business class hotel to Ernakulam Railway station and International Airport with 114 Luxuriously appointed guest rooms and 9 conference halls The shopping Mecca of Ernakulam "M G Road" is within walking distance along with an array of dining options and boutique shops. Historic Fort Cochin, Jew Town, the picturesque canals of Alleppey, Kerala Spice Plantations, Munnar Tea Estates, Cherai and Marari Beaches and Kumarakom Bird Sanctuary are all within a short drive. Presidency Hotel 's flawless design is inherent in its 108 deluxe rooms, 5 tower suites and 1 presidential suite. Apart from 114 Rooms, all of the 9 meeting rooms are built to provide ultimate comfort . Superior technical infrastructure and sizes between 300 sq ft and 4000 sq ft, make our meeting rooms suitable for your business meetings, training seminars and conferences. 6 of our meeting rooms are designed to receive sunlight in order to ensure a relaxing work environment. Presidency Hotel 's restaurant Tokyo Bay is the first Japanese restaurant in Kerala by Japanese celebrity chef Nishioka San, Our city view lounge bar with American pool table is open for lunch and dinner and is surrounded by the unique view of the cochin harbour and cityscape.Our Lotus and Fish Market restaurants serve unique delicacies for all our guests. And with our Fitness Center, SPA and an outdoor swimming pool, you can relieve yourself from daily stresses. Presidency Hotel Ernakulam- Cochin's new face. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Presidency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Presidency, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.