We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Business Hotel !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam to your Saves list
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Marine Drive, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682 011, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Ernakulam
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Nice Business Hotel !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed for a night recently and found the place very nice.. perfect Business hotel.. lovely view overlooking the harbour.. As usual great Taj food, though the place looks pretty old..the taj experience gives it a edge.. lovely place overall !

Room Tip: Look out for the sea view room.. awesome views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gateway e, Front Office Manager at The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to read your comments about the Gateway Hotel Marine Drive. I totally agree of our property requiring little makeover, and we have indeed started the same .The Bubble Coffee shop was renovated last year & we have the all new "SIAN" our Pan Asian Restaurant & "SWIRL" our Bar being also renovated .We are in a process of phase wise refurbishment .Most of our rooms overlook the sea & have an amazing view .Thank you once again for your honest and overall wonderful review.

Me & my team look forward to welcome you to the hotel very soon.

Warm Regards
Sumit Nayar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    174
    43
    16
    3
See reviews for
110
81
36
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I visited Cochin for a 5day business trip in Jaunary and had a pleasant and relaxing stay. The room was comfortable and spacious enough and the restaurant had a good variety of international dishes to ensure you are not left eating either just curry or the one non-curry option all week.

You should be aware that power cuts in the hotel happen regularly in the evenings generally only lasting for 5-10 seconds but enough to distract you if you are trying to relax and watch tv in your room. Furthermore I was unlucky enough to experience a powercut whilst running on the treadmill in the gym, thankfully the machine had a backup power supply so It didnt suddenly stop but the lights didn't which could have been dangerous if I hadn't have been as confident a runner.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gateway e, Front Office Manager at The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to read your review, your comments in full will certainly be distributed at all levels .We are definitely looking into the power issue & will take further care that the same is corrected, I assure you that the lapses which were felt by you are noted & actioned .Overall thank you for leaving such positive comments regarding the service and accommodations.

Me & my team wish to welcome you back at the Gateway Ernakulam.

Regards

Sumit Nayar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The location is just amazing! The view...awesome! The sunset boat cruise is an added bonus. The rooms are always clean and tidy. Very well maintained, comfortable room and bed. Bathroom clean and neat. Hotel staff here are the best in town. Very courteous and helpful. Always warm and welcoming, friendly and attentive.

Room Tip: Sea view Eecutive rooms are the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gateway e, Front Office Manager at The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for taking the time to share your experience with Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to know that you had a wonderful stay. I am also delighted to read that you found our team very friendly and helpful and that you very much enjoyed your boat cruise experience. Please do come back to stay with us the next time in Kochi, we will love to see you again and help you to create some unforgettable memories.

Warm Regards

Sumit Nayar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The situation of the Hotel on the Marine Drive with a view of the Sea and Backwaters is awesome.More so since our room was facing the waters.i could enjoy watching the boats float by and wonderful sunset from the room.The lights on the building on the otherside of the shore at night was an enjoyable sight as also the lighted boats taking people for evening cruise.
The room was well appointed,quite spacious and clean.The service was fantastic.
The Bubble Restaurant, where i had my breakfast had a good spread of both vegetarian and non-vegetarian items.The food was very palatable.
The Marine Drive is the backyard of the Hotel and a walk in the morning in this stretch was quite nice.

Room Tip: Rooms with the sea view gives better entertainment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gateway e, Front Office Manager at The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on the Trip Advisor, it is a pleasure to read your review, your comments in full will certainly be distributed at all levels .We take our guest comments positively as it gives us a feedback were to improve. Apart from the Bubble cafe we also have the all new Pan Asian "SIAN" which serves Chinese,Japanese & Thai apart from a live Tepanyaki counter. I once again thank you for your patronage with the Taj Hotels & Palaces.

Me & my team wish to welcome you back at the Gateway Ernakulam.

Regards
Sumit Nayar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Best part about the Hotel is its near Marine Drive...which over looks the Sea...which is breathtaking...and really great for walks. Good location...Just across you can indulge in buying ...spices !!!

Food is special at the Coffee Shop...Must try the Kerala delicacy !!! especially Puttu.
Kochi is also treat for Non -vegetarian dishes.

The hotel is a Taj Property...but can do better with the Brand in terms of services and quality.

Room Tip: Rooms are small...do check on reception to get a good room with sea view!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gateway e, Front Office Manager at The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guests,
Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Ernakulam! This has reference to your feedback pertaining to your stay at the hotel .At the outset, I would like to thank you for your patronage of Taj Hotels Resorts and Palaces. Your feedback is indeed the pre-eminent barometer by which we can measure our achievements and shortfalls, in providing the best of services to our valued guests.Apart from the Bubble Cafe we also have the all new Pan Asian restaurant "SIAN" which serves Chinese,Japanese & Thai delicacies with a live interactive Tepanyaki counter .

Me & my team wish to welcome you back soon at the Gateway Ernakulam.

Regards
Sumit Nayar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Happen to stay there with family for vacation and found its to be a beautiful place.... Situated on mrine drive, view from restraunt is really good. Breakfast spread could have been better....

Staff is very helping and supportive...... Remmi over there became favourite of my little one in a day..


Complimentary cruise by hotel is an added attraction and not to be missed.

Room Tip: Ask for the executive lagoon facing ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gateway e, Front Office Manager at The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your feedback and review of the hotel. We are indeed glad that we could touch you to the extent that you were encouraged enough to do such a wonderful review for us.We have also a Pan Asian Restaurant called "SIAN" which serves Chinese ,Japanese & Thai food & also has an interactive Tepankayi Counter.We have also designed a unique list of activities that one can do here so that the visitors are encouraged to try the different aspects that the unique culture of Kerala and the destination offers. At the same time, one would not even realize how the vacations have breezed past them.

Me & my team wish to welcome you back at the Gateway Ernakulam.

Regards
Sumit Nayar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Had a few business meetings and my hosts chose this hotel in ernakulum for me to stay and conclude the business meets as the hotel had good conference and board room for a meeting of 10 people along with good internet and vido conferencing facilities.
On the exterior side, hotel had a good view of the sea and marine backwaters and hence is aptly named as the marine drive, as a drive along the road leading to the hotel property will enthrill you and night time, you will enjoy the view.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gateway e, Front Office Manager at The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on the Trip Advisor, it is a pleasure to read your review, apart from the rooms & the restaurants we have a banquet Hall Marina which gives a breath taking view of the Arabian Sea .We take our guest comments positively as it gives us a feedback were to improve. I once again thank you for your patronage with the Taj Hotels & Palaces.

Me & my team wish to welcome you back at the Gateway Ernakulam.

Regards
Sumit Nayar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam

Address: Marine Drive, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682 011, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Ernakulam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ernakulam
#3 Family Hotel in Ernakulam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ernakulam
#4 Business Hotel in Ernakulam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ernakulam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Residency Ernakulam Kochi
Taj Residency Ernakulam Hotel Kochi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.